We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best German Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jagerhaus

Jagerhaus
Ranked #317 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: We would like to invite you to the only German restaurant New Orleans has to offer. Our specialty is authentic home-style Bavarian and Bohemian cuisine. In addition, JägerHaus is also the only full service Lavazza coffee shop in New Orleans.When you visit our cozy German bistro in New Orleans, you will feel like you just stepped in to a nice little restaurant off the square somewhere in the middle of Munich or Prague.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best German Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you want German food this is where you go! I love this place good beer good food great service :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katykat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerHaus, Manager at Jagerhaus, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We're thrilled you enjoyed visit at the JagerHaus and we thank you so much for your business. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    179
    34
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ahhh....German food in NOLA.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Friendly staff, relaxing side street. Great breakfast and good coffee. We ate there both mornings! Sehr gut!

Helpful?
Thank skatingtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerHaus, Manager at Jagerhaus, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the JagerHaus. Thank you so much for your business. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Good Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I were a little surprised to see this German restaurant in the French Quarter. It was within walking distance of our hotel, Dauphine Orleans Hotel. It is a small establishment, the wait persons were very friendly, the selection of beers was good, the wine selections were good, and the menu was outstanding. We ordered the International Cheese Plate which contained five cheeses, grapes, crackers and fig preserve. This 'starter' was delicious and was more than enough for the two of us. We got a 'go box' and enjoyed the leftovers back in our hotel room. If you decide to visit this restaurant I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank waldopepperpeculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerHaus, Manager at Jagerhaus, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the JagerHaus. I will be honest, I do love our cheese plate. it's HUGE, and pretty. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

None of my trips to New Orleans is complete without a visit to Jagerhaus. Their menu is great and their selection of beer is awesome. I'm already missing this place. The only I disliked is the automatic gratuity charge, but I guess I understand why they did it, but I wonder if it had to be because of Mardi Gras.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Micah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerHaus, Manager at Jagerhaus, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and that you make the Jagerhaus part of your New Orleans itinerary. Unfortunately yes, Mardi Gras is that special time of year where adding gratuity to all checks is a necessary evil. The rest of the year though, we leave that option to add gratuity to our guests. We hope to see with out the craziness of Mardi Gras where your experience will be more indicative of how we operate normally. Thank you so much for your business and we look forwards to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing, fresh and delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A fantastic mixtures of flavors. Highly recommend Shepherd salad with goats and blue cheese and served with house made dressing. Had 3 apps as our entree' potato and cheese pierogies, german pancakes and knackwurst skewers. All incredible , only dissappointment still wanted more. Ordered the Black forest berries and Nutella crepes' for dessert. Both were decadent. Best time ever on Fat Tuesday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stacyannejarrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerHaus, Manager at Jagerhaus, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for spending your Mardi Gras with us. I'm glad you had a chance to sample a lot of different things, it makes for a more complete picture. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jagerhaus also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Jagerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing