We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
151
131
51
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
131
51
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springshorseback ridingcosta ricathe rivergreat placesan carlosan hournatural settingspa servicesreasonable pricethermal bathslaid backsports barsurrounded by natureboth nightswet barrainy season
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The hotel, restaurant and thermal baths are a great value as a package deal. The thermal baths are in the woods next to the river and are very good and scenic, if somewhat difficult to access for people with limited mobility. It is crowded on the weekend with locals, because it is not overly expensive. Monday thru Wednesday are the best days to visit.The thermals alone for what you get are a much better value than the ones closer to Arenal, beautiful view. The hotel is clean and modern with TV and air conditioner. The restaurant is very good, sometimes it is buffet and sometimes a la carte. If you get the package deal it was only $145.00 for the thermals, the hotel room and breakfast, lunch and dinner.for 2 people per day.Alcoholic beverages are available at a reasonable price .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We booked in for one night initially, after having spent the night before in a tiny cabin. We stayed in a double room and appreciated having some space to put our luggage.
Neither my husband nor I are very heavy people, but when he sat on the toilet seat, it cracked, and later came off completely. I wasn't paying attention when I closed the bathroom door and managed to lock us out of the bathroom. The front desk offered us to move into another suite or have maintenance come. We opted to stay put and the maintenance person came right away. First with a door lock replacement, and later with a new toilet seat; he explained that he had to go and purchase one first. The showers are basic,but work well. There is some storage in the bathroom. The decor is dated, but the heat pump was working well. So, having some control over cool air was really important to us. We found a few ants that had come into the bathroom, but they didn't bite or hurt us. The television was working and the reception was good.
We booked ourselves a Swedish deep tissue massage for one hour each, and were impressed by the quality. The price was also very reasonable, and the mathessage therapist was very professional. The massage is located by the hotpoools, a very beautifully laid out area: using gravity to the advantage to create different temperatures marked at each pool, and signage helped. The lighting along the paths to the hot springs is more than adequate. The springs are open to the public for a $22 entrance fee, and visitors must bring their own towels, but can have access to change and locker rooms. Towels and the entrance fees are included with the hotel price.
We had booked the restaurant dinners for both nights as we didn't want to drive a
around following our soak. On the first night,a huge group of graduate students and their professos had come and the restaurant staff was equal to the task of serving them along with other hotel guests. We had a ceviche and a salad Cabrese, and shrimp in white wine sauce with vegetables and potatoes. We were offered a fruit cocktail and for dessert a Carmel mousse type of square.
The next night we had the roasted chicken which was too well done for my taste and pork loin. These meals were satisfactory, although not stellar. The breakfasts however, had some very lovely pineapple and papaya- and we have had two weeks of sampling brekfast fruit, along with gallo pinto, eggs, toast and jam, sausages and milk or coffee.
We found the staff very willing to help, but we cannot comment on the nature walk or tour booking. The grounds are well kept. This is not a boutique hotel, but has its charms. We didn't notice a safe in our room,but didn't inquire about storing our valuables.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Astrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Clean and secure hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet grounds with beautiful views. Buffet dinner and breakfast were good and filling. This is a hotel with local flavor--very relaxing. Hot springs were exceptional. Genuine experience will be a great memory.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ken a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Though I only visited the hot springs, the time there was amazing! After walking a little less than 5 minutes through the woods you arrive to a beautiful outdoor, in the middle of the forest and next to the river, place where the hot springs are located. The hotsprings have different temperatures so you can pick the one you are most comfortable with. The whole place is wonderful as you feel you are in nature with different animal noises and you are also next to a small river. This area offers you a little cafeteria which is a bit pricey but it is good. Overall loved the experience!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Daniela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017
Google Translation

Estimable,

Muchas gracias por su opinión, las misma es muy importante para nuestra constante cambio y mejora.Gracias por su comentario.
Es un placer contar con su visita
saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We only visited the hot springs, but the grounds and the hotel looked like a lovely spot. The entrance fee for termales is $12 per person, and if you are not their hotel guest, you'll need to take your own towel. There is a parking lot at the entrance to the springs, then a short paved walk through the jungle to the actual springs. There are changing rooms and lockers free of charge. There is also a bar and a small cafe. The springs are not fancy, but made to look as natural as possible, with a little river running right next to the pools and the jungle around.
We loved the place, it is very relaxing and with a true pura vida feel. We went to the springs after a hike to the Catarata del Toro, and it was the best idea ever!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
1  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TermalesBosque, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Termales del Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017
Google Translation

Estimable,

Muchas gracias por su opinión, las misma es muy importante para nuestra constante cambio y mejora.Gracias por su comentario.
Es un placer contar con su visita
saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews