We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
456
370
161
77
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
456
370
161
77
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view lake hamilton front desk room was clean sausage patties stay there again waffle maker nice stay enjoyed our stay continental breakfast yogurt great place to stay balcony lakeside dock microwave
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I normally don’t write reviews, but our experience with this hotel was horrible, and I wanted to warn other people to be prepared when they stay here. We made our reservations at this hotel one month before our arrival date through Travelocity. When we arrived at the hotel on Wednesday, July 4th, around 4:15 p.m., we were told that our hotel room was already given to someone else and that it was an error on Travelocity, but the hotel had our name and reservation listed in its system. The guy at the front desk and the head housekeeper started working on finding us another room, which they did. We were told that even though this room was an upgrade, we would still be charged the amount quoted on our reservations since it was not our fault. We were also told that the room we were getting had been smoked in earlier that day by the guest before us (even though this hotel is a non-smoking hotel) and they plugged an air freshener into the wall to help with the smell. We had to take the room since it was a holiday and we might not have been able to find another room.

The front desk told us that we were able to watch the fireworks from the back of the hotel, which was not true. Most of the visitors staying in this hotel were outside watching nothing. Our children were disappointed that we weren’t able to watch the fireworks. If we had known that we weren’t able to see the fireworks from this hotel, then we would have driven to a place where we could have seen them.

That night around 1:20, the fire alarm went off and the entire hotel had to go outside. The fire department finally showed up 30 minutes later. We were outside for almost an hour before being able to go back into the hotel. We were told the next day that one of the hotel employees was spraying bug spray with an aerosol can and it set the fire alarm off. We were also told the next day that they hotel would be giving us a credit for the entire night because of the fire alarm. We were very grateful that they were giving us this credit. We were told our new amount and we were very pleased.

The next day, Thursday, July 5th, we had an additional charge of $327 on our credit card from this hotel. We went to the front desk to find out why they charged us an additional $327 and the lady at the front desk said it was a mistake. She said that another guest gave her our room number when they were charging something to their room, but they realized it was the wrong room number after they charged our debit card. This hotel needs to check the names on the rooms, not just the room number, before charging someone’s account. They said they reversed the charge, but the bank still has a hold on the $327 out of my bank account. It is now 4 days since they reversed the charge and the bank still has a hold on this charge.

On Friday, July 6th, we asked for the housekeepers to give us 4 sets of towels since we were a family size of 4 like our reservations showed. They never came to clean our room, they just came to drop off our 4 sets of towels. We had to ask them to take out our trash since it was overflowing, and we later had to go down to the front desk and ask for more toilet paper.

On Saturday, July 7th, we were sightseeing, and we received a call from the hotel at 2:14 p.m. saying that our bags were still in our room and we were supposed to check out before 11:00 that morning. Our reservations were through Sunday, July 8th, not Saturday, July 7th. The lady was not too friendly when I told her that we were not checking out that day because our reservations were for another day. She asked if we were in the hotel and I told her no, that we were sightseeing.

When we returned to the hotel that afternoon around 5:00 p.m., our keycards did not work. They had been deactivated by the hotel. We had to go to the front desk and ask them to reactivate our cards since our reservations were through Sunday, July 8th. They reactivated our cards. When we got to our room, again our room had not been cleaned. We went back down to the front desk and asked them why our room was not cleaned. The guy at the front desk said he would get it cleared up with the housekeepers. The housekeepers arrived within a few minutes and asked us to step out of our room for a several minutes while they cleaned it. We went and sat in the lobby of the hotel. After our room was cleaned, the head housekeeper went to the front desk in the lobby and started saying very rudely (in front of us) that the housekeepers do not backtrack cleaning the hotel rooms, and we were supposed to check out that morning and we never notified anyone at the hotel that we were staying another night and that’s why they didn’t clean our room. We had to explain again to the hotel that our reservations were through Sunday, July 8th, not the Saturday, July 7th. We were treated very ugly for staying at the hotel for the time that we reserved with the hotel. They treated us like this was our fault, which it was not.

On Sunday, July 8th, at 8:30, we were checking out of this hotel. We thought our horrible experience was over, but it was not. We rarely complain about our experiences, but at the time of checkout, we complained about how horrible our stay was and that we were blamed for the hotel’s mistakes. The lady at the front desk apologized and said that the front desk took it upon themselves to shorten our hotel stay because they had overbooked the rooms for the Saturday night and that’s why we were contacted Saturday about checking out a day early. So to accommodate other arriving guests, they treated us horrible. The lady at the front desk also changed her story and said that we would get a credit for ½ the night of the fire alarm and not the entire night like she told us a few days earlier. Everyday their stories change. But she did say we would get an entire night credit because of all of the trouble that we had at this hotel. We were told our first morning there that we were getting a credit for the entire night. So after days of horrible service and being treated horrible, we get the same credit we were told we were getting for the fire alarm.

We received our receipt from our hotel stay and we were leaving the hotel lobby when we looked at the receipt and saw that the hotel charged us almost double the price for the room that had been smoked in that they had to find for us because it was an upgrade from the room that we had originally reserved. We went back to the lobby and gave the lady a copy of our original reservation with the original prices that we were supposed to pay, not the increased fees on a room that we didn’t ask for. She apparently was in a hurry to get us out of the lobby because she told us that she would figure out the correct amount and would email us a copy of the receipt later that day after she figured out the total of our room stay.

It is now Monday, July 9th, at 10:42 a.m. and we still have not received an email from the hotel with a copy of the receipt for our stay with this hotel. My bank account still has the original charge pending, along with the $327 charge pending that should have been reversed 4 days ago, and I haven’t heard back from this hotel. Good luck to future guests!!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poolabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

I am terribly sorry about the problems you experienced at our hotel - you definitely caught us on a bad day (actually it was a bad week)! There is no excuse for the service you received. I trust we have cleared up the situation with your credit card - if not, please call the hotel and ask to speak with the General Manager to get it straightened out. We dropped the ball on you, and I apologize. I hope you will come back to the Baymont and let us prove we want to be your Hot Springs hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

This was the first and LAST time we will stay at a Baymont Hotel. The bathroom was full of hair when we arrived and the sink was dirty. No Kleenex either so that tells me they don’t pay much attention when they “clean”. There was a bar of soap on the edge of the tub that had obviously been there a while. The carpet in the elevator was pretty disgusting too. We picked this hotel because of the beautiful lake view but it was not worth it.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Courtney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Unfortunately you caught us on a bad day! There is no excuse for the service you received, and the conditions in the room have been addressed with our housekeeping staff. We are still in the process of updating the hotel, and tiling the elevator s in next on our list. We hope yu will give us another change to meet and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

It’s sad to say that we chose this hotel for our family vacation. To start with, we drove through the night to get there, the room was just straight up nasty. The bath tub was full of hair. They did move us to another room later on in the day. We were then told that the 4th of July fireworks would bee seen from the back deck——- not.... the last straw was when the fire alarm went off at 1:20am. So, with the whole hotel in the parking lot the fire dept showed up what?? 30 minutes later. I understand that the hotel was not at fault for a fire alarm going off. By the way it was a false alarm. We left there and went to a quality hotel. Thanks

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank HappyDenhamSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

I would like to apologize for the issues you had while you were here this last week. This is not the typical way we do business. We have a lot of new employees who were not aware that the fireworks would be blocked by the trees over the lake.

We have addressed the cleanliness issue this week with our housekeeping staff and expect this turn around immediately.

The false alarm fire while frustrating, we value our guests' safety above all else.

I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We booked a number of rooms at the Baymont in Hot Springs for a family reunion. The rooms smelled like mildew, the carpets throughout the hotel were filthy and weren’t vacuumed throughout our stay. We didn’t have hot water one of the days. We even saw a hotel employee using a stapler on the wallpaper seams! It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank patty6497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

I would like to apologize for the issues you had while you were here this last week. This is not the typical way we do business.

We did have a failure of the hot water system, and the entire system is being replaced as we speak.

We have addressed the cleanliness issue this week with our housekeeping staff and expect this turn around immediately.

I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I hate to say negative things or write a bad review, but this is kind of both. The staff, overall, was very nice, friendly and courteous. It was a little tough finding the entrance due to the roadwork, and we arrived early but they couldn’t accommodate our luggage until checkin because they don’t have a lock closet. In the 100 degree heat, we trudged our stuff back to the vehicle. Then, for some reason every night around 5 p.m. the hot water went off and had to be reset before we could get a shower, plus our sink in the laboratory had a leak, but was fixed promptly. My family had four people staying with us but we were only given three towels every night, so someone had to go back to the lobby to retrieve their towel. To top it off, one evening the elevator went out for hours.

The view from the balcony was picturesque. Dozens of turtles and little fish entertained us while we sat on the pier. Plus, every morning the complimentary breakfast of waffles, cereal, eggs, biscuits, sausage, and danishes helped start the day off right. Some of these issues are small and things just happen but it was just a bit much at times.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

I am terribly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us recently. The issues you had have all been addressed, and fixed, and please be assured these were circumstances beyond our control. We do appreciate the compliments regarding our team members, breakfast and the views. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future if you return to the Hot Springs area! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews