We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritance Tea Factory
Nearby Hotels
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$3,395
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hill Town Cottage(Nuwara Eliya)
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$230
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,803)
Filter reviews
2,803 results
Traveller rating
1,598
836
253
76
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,598
836
253
76
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carriageunique hotelnature walkexecutive floorold railwaypick your ownoriginal machinerysri lankaunique experiencetake homeour honeymoonlocal villagecorner roomevery eveningabove sea levelstrawberrieswinding road
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,803 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We let our driver take our bags to this hotel, whilst we took the scenic - and must do - train trip from Kandy to Nuwara. Gorgeous trip and a lovely way to travel. Cannot fault this hotel in any way. From our arrival to our departure everything was brilliant. So welcoming and helpful - this is a unique experience. We did the 7 course tasting menu in the train carriage in the grounds - US$75 per head but well worth it. But have to say the buffet meal in the restaurant also looked fab. We arrived at this very high resort and were amongst the clouds with amazing views. An early evening drinky in the bar - perfect. In the morning it was brilliant blue skies and we went Tea plucking in the grounds - a fun experience. We only stayed 1 night. The rooms are not huge and not fancy - but they have everything you need and are very clean and comfy. Brilliant guest slippers too. We loved this hotel and all the staff - extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. A must stay if you want to visit a working Tea Plantation. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. Your review would be much useful for the other potential guests as well.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This hilltop hotel converted from a tea factory has a certain elegance and calm and comes with wonderful staff. We couldn't recommend it more highly. This was like staying in a national treasure. Leisurely approach to dining etc we were royally taken care of throughout our short stay. Do try dinner in the 3663 railway carriage.

Room Tip: southern end rooms with windows on three sides
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation.

It is our pleasure to receive the massive positive endorsements given based on your stay at our hotel.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a longer stay next time !

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed here for one night on our tour of Sri Lanka. The approach to the hotel is along a single track road with spectacular views. The hotel itself, a former tea factory, has a working engine which used to provide the power for the factory.
The welcome was wonderful, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Make sure you have a cocktail on the terrace, and take in the spectacular views.
The room was adequate size, and the bed very comfortable. The food (a buffet) was excellent.
The view over the clouds in the valley in the morning was amazing.
If our travels take us the this part of Sri Lanka in the future, we shall have no hesitation in staying here

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topgun45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation.

It is our pleasure to receive the massive positive endorsements given based on your stay at our hotel.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a longer stay next time !

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were fortunate enough to enjoy a two-night stay at the Heritance Tea Factory near the start of our Sri Lankan tour. It is an amazing place, full of interest. Our room (The Flowerdew Suite.) was luxurious - no other description required. The near-360 views we had from its windows of the sunrises, hillsides, nearby village and tea plantations were fascinating and compelling. We'd have happily spent two days gazing through the windows! Additionally, the restaurant was great and the staff (Shanmu deserves a special mention.), to an individual, superb.
A fabulous hotel with we recommend in the strongest terms!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. Your review would be much useful for the other potential guests as well.

It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Heritance Tea Factory. The hotel itself has a fascinating interior since it retains much of the original artifacts from the tea factory along with some modern finishes. The views of the tea covered hillsides are breathtaking! The one person who made this stay exceptional was Chef Shanmu. He was incredibly welcoming and made every effort to make our dining experience unforgettable. A mere mention of something that wasn't on the menu was offered to us without even having to ask for it - kottu roti, my favorite. Not only was it made especially for me, it was the best kottu roti I had ever had. The next morning he made outstanding dosa. Being in Chef Shanmu's dining room feels like being an honored guest in someone's home.
The Heritance Tea Factory truly is a unique experience worth the effort of seeking out. Come for the beauty and stay for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WanderlustAndThirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation.

It is our pleasure to receive the massive positive endorsements given based on your stay at our hotel.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a longer stay next time !

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews