We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chez Allen
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$3,500
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
US$285
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$230
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
US$240
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
US$65
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
55
67
16
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
67
16
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseating breakfasthot waterclean roomsnice viewhost familyminute walktuk tuk ridehorton plainsgreat roomwarm blanketsabove sea levelsri lankaworld's endtwo nightstea factoryhillwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Great spot to relax and chill out if you are coming from the busy Kandy or Ella. The balcony has a great view of town and the surrounding mountains. Its also a great spot to drink tea and breathe the fresh air.
This town gets a little cold at night but we were able to curl up beside a wood birning fire just like at home. The curry dinner was nothong short of amazing and the family was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitchell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Chez Allen was absolutely amazing. The only draw back was the wifi was very slow and dropped out often. Don't let that stop you from staying here though, the rooms are really nice and clean, great bathrooms with hot water, amazing views over nuwara-eliya and beyond and the beat food in the district. The host family are very kind and helpful. There is a communal lounge and roof top terrace which rumour has it is a good spot for spotting leopards. It's only a short 10 minute walk into the main Street.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

chez allen location is on the outskirts of the town up on the hill with superb view, specially in the morning and just a couple of minutes walking from the city centre.
we arrived in nuware eliya witha bus without previous sleeping arrangments. we were picked at the bus station from a owners cousin and offered good price to which he added (as we were not sure about the location) "lots of fruit for the breakfast" and additional lift at the end of the stay tback to the bus station. as was proven later, he did promised things he couldn't realize. there was neither "a lot of fruits" and no lift back to the bus station. on top of that they offered us a tuktuk por the price of 200 rupees (which is nothing) but still 100% more what we used to pay to go to the city (100 rupees)! as we were disappointed we declined the offer and rather walked (approx 200m to catch another tuktuk for 100 rupees!!). be careful on what they promise!
also a negative comment goes to the prices of the food they offer. ratio amout/price is quite high, you do better go to eat to town, you will pay way less (even if you add a tuktuk cost).
on the other hand, they light a fire in the fireplace in the eveing, which is quite nice as the evenings can be cold (don't forget the city is at almot 1900m above sea level) and they were trying to teach us a local game (finger billiards) at which we s...ed and not surprisingly they excelled.

Room Tip: first floor rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jstsmblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Chez Allen is a tiny old fashioned kinda hotel.
The view is absolutely beautiful in the morning where you can watch the landscape while eating breakfast.
The place was absolutely well maintained and clean, and the hosts and caretakers were very hospitable.

Word of caution though when reaching here - the lanes in front of the cottage are steep and winding , so you’ll need a good driver , strong vehicle, or strong legs !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I stopped at Chez Allen for a night passing through Nuwara Eliya. It wouldn't have been my first choice, but almost all other hotels in the city were already fully booked. My stay was perfectly ok though. Room and bathroom were simple, but clean with a comfortable bed. I didn't eat at the hostel, so can't say much about their food. Staff were friendly. The view from the hostel balcony is indeed very nice as others have pointed out. It's very far from the city though and up a hill (which is very steep just in front of the house). Luckily I arrived by car. Wouldn't necessarily recommend it if you are not having your own transport.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews