We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,459)
Filter reviews
4,459 results
Traveller rating
3,581
643
142
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,581
643
142
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurants sunset cruise all inclusive package our honeymoon kuoni rep sea plane deluxe beach villa water villa buffet restaurant fish lagoon side kuramathi island sand bank allocated restaurant coffee shop reef sharks sand bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,973 - 2,978 of 4,459 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We are just back from the most amazing place I've ever visited. The island is just spectacular. Blue seas which are warm, white sand and very unspoilt its definitely not your average destination. We flew from dublin via doa with qatar airways who are very good. legroom adequate in economy, food grand and films just brilliant you wont be bored. then we got the speedboat transfer which was more a normal boat rather than a speed boat but thankgod the trip wasnt rocky as im not good. check for prices on flight as it is much better and you get to leave later on day of check out. Anyway we got there and all was well, water bungalo very nice although i would recommend a pair of jelly shoes for getting up and down the stairs into the sea the metal stair is very hard on your bare feet. We were all inclusive and that was a major dissappointment. The food was not good at all in the main restaurant. When it was a buffet it was fine cos you could pick what you wanted but other nights it was a set menu which frankly was inedible. our waiter wasnt great either and so did nothing to try to accomodate us. That meant that we had to eat in the other restaurants for quite a few nights - these are in general good, but for $200 for a meal you would expect excellent. The Island BBq was by far the nicest of them all. The beaches are fantastic and the setting just amazing but there are no sun loungers on the island so you end up lying on your beach towel which sun loungers would be much more comfortable. The bar in the blue lagoon is quiet as there are less people here than in the other centres we drank in fung bar two nights of the week and had a much better time but of course had to pay for it so it was a bit of a waste of money particularly when the barman ripped us off at the end by asking for cash at a cheaper rate than paying on tab.(dont ask) On departure as well we ended up having to leave the island at 230pm for a half eight flight which was really disappointing and for that reason i would try to get a flight if i went again. Over all id def recommend the maldives and would love to go back again however might think twice about kuramathi blue lagoon, particularly all inclusive.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank keeaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

The rooms were good and the village like setting was very very charming. It was a fantastic experience
However the food department was a little cheap as compared to Kuramathi Cottage & Spa (where the prices were proporionately higher!)
The only serious downside was that the rooms came without any electric kettle. So not even a cup of tea could be made on your own while enjoying the rain from one's porch.
Get your own kettle and soak in the beauty of the dense green surroundings and the azure waters

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rishabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We stayed here for our honeymoon in Dec 2006. We had booked half board at the Water Bungalow. The Cottage was beautiful and the setting was pretty too - with the Cottage stay the use of the pool and the gym facilities were complimentary - they were pretty good too.
Since the meals were very expensive, the only drawback for a budget travelers who get their ready-toheat-and-eat stuff is that there was no microwave, though the Water Kettle could be used just as effectively

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rishabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

We returned from a week's stay at Kuramathi Cottage in early April, having booked a Kuoni package but via a discount agency.
We had a fantastic and relaxing time and the holiday surpassed our high expectations, even after extensive research on Tripadvisor before we selected the resort.
We chose to arrive by seaplane to avoid any seasickness and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The transfer at Male airport was very professional and efficient and we didn't have to wait long for our seaplane. The flight across the atolls was spectacular and we enjoyed looking at the barefoot pilot given the lack of cockpit door!
Having read previous reviews indicating some noise from the desalination plant in the area of the lower number water bungalows, we requested (direct with Kuoni and by email to resort), a water bungalow above no 260. We were lucky enough to be allocated the very end water bungalow closest to the sand spit - 280. We would recommend you request the same as there was definitely a persistent humm towards the other end.
The WB itself was delightful with beautiful views out to the reef (where we could see dolphins passing on a couple of occasions) and up towards the sandbank. Inside we had everything we needed including a stocked minibar which was a little pricey as you would expect in any hotel, but not much more than the bar prices. But what we loved most was the sealife directly around our bungalow, which could be accessed by our own private steps into the Indian Ocean. There was also a freshwater shower by our steps to rinse off after each snorkelling session.
Our room was serviced by a very helpful room boy who cleaned the room and changed towels if desired twice a day and on one occasion he did an amazing floral display on the bed. We found all the other staff at Kuramathi very attentive, friendly and efficient. We were on a half board basis and were allocated our table in the main restaurant which we retained the whole week, along with the same waiter. If you wish to try out other restaurants on the island you should book through your waiter to get a 20% discount. The food in the main restaurant was excellent with a good variety of buffet food at breakfast (got quite a taste for fish curry for brekkie!). Dinner alternated between buffet and a la carte - we only ate there 3 nights as we wanted to try other restaurants and therefore only sampled the Maldivian, Asian and Italian buffet nights which were all excellent though not for the waistline, as we couldn't resist sampling everything on offer! The other restaurants we tried were Laguna Grill (great lobster costing $65 - most expensive thing on the menu there!), the Tandoor Mahal buffet night ($30pp), the Siam Garden thai buffet night ($30pp) and Mongolian BBQ night (again $30pp), where you eat in tables on the sand in the Palm Court area. If we went again we would go B&B given the 4 nights we ended up eating outside our HB package and therefore effectively paying double. We had a bottle of wine each night costing $20-$25. We also enjoyed a few cocktails c$8 each. You could book to have a private candelit dinner on the beach which we considered, but all our meals felt special so didn't feel the need to pay extra.
We chose Kuramathi island partly because it was a larger island with a few more things to do but in reality this wasn't that important as we soon got into the relaxed atmosphere and simply enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. Most of the week we spent snorkelling. We could swim out to the reef from the bungalow via signed snorkelling channels and saw an incredible array of sealife including numerous moray eels and black tip reef sharks, a turtle, an octopus and an incredible variety of tropical fish and beautiful coral. It's much easier to snorkel out to the reef at high tide, so best to check tide times, which are displayed on the marine biologist's hut by Palm Court. Having said that, we saw some fantastic action around the WB so if you don't enjoy snorkelling then there's still plenty to interest you. We saw a number of rays and sharks, eels and huge shoals of fish just over our balcony - see photos.
We also visited the spa and had a lovely couple of hours there, as they recommend that you use their sauna, steam room and plunge pools before your treatment. We booked a couples "Dream for Two" hour's massage ($110) and paid an additional $15 to have this on the end f the spa jetty above the ocean which was lovely and we thought good value.
Other must do's - ray feeding every night by the Blue Lagoon bar and watching the sun go down over the sandbank. The only excursion we tried was the sunset cruise but unfortunately it was the one night went there was not much of a sunset and the dolphins didn't show! We decided late in our week to go on the snorkel safari, as we were told that was the only way to find nemo(!) but it was fully booked so suggest you book on this early.
The island is well catered for divers and snorkellers - we bought a good snorkel set whilst out there. Marine biologist is also interesting.
Tipping - we were advised to give $20-$30 dollars for the waiter and the room boy each at the end of the week and a few dollars for the luggage porters seemed to be expected. Otherwise you need no cash on the island as you sign for everything against your room and settle on your last night. Our total bill was $1,000 for the 2 of us which included the 4 meals "out", wine and cocktails each evening, a light lunch, and a few extras.
We also spent a little time in both the Blue Lagoon and Village and felt happy with our choice of accommodation. The Blue Lagoon bar was lovely in the evening and this part of the island had a good feel, but their WBs were semi-detached so not as private as ours. We found the Village a little busier with more families. The island as a whole is beautifully maintained with lush vegetation and pristine white beaches and turquoise seas so you can't really go wrong in any resort! We never normally go to the same place twice as there's too much world to explore, but we would definitely return to the Maldives and would recommend to the Cottage to any couple for the perfect romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I used this website to decide what island to choose in the Maldives so I felt that I needed to feedback on Kuramathi.

Went on the 31st March 2007 and flew on Sri Lankan Airlines. When we arrived and departed the seaplane we witnessed a school of dolphins just off the island (I knew from then that this was going to be an amazing holiday). We were given cold towels and a drink immediately. We stayed in a Superior Beach Bungalow which was lovely – a four poster bed and an outdoor shower looking up onto palm trees. The bungalow must have been less than 15 metres to the beach. The beach was always quiet and very peaceful.

The food was ok – nothing special but the usual standard for an all inclusive hotel. The buffet did vary nightly but I would suggest that you try and book in one of the other restaurants (you will pay extra though). We also went to the full moon buffet which was delicious.

If offered any excursions, the one I can totally recommend is the Coral Romance package. It was amazing!! You are taken to another island (about 45 minutes from Kuramthi by speedboat). We booked a Water Bungalow which cost us $600 for one night. This island was unbelievable. Total paradise!!! You are given spa treatments and a snorkelling lesson by the islands instructor. Your meals are also included along with dinner on the beach in the evening and a champagne breakfast brought to your room in the morning. A truly unforgettable experience – not to be missed.

Although the island visit was amazing – it was great to return to Kuramthi Island, mainly because of the atmosphere. Every member of staff and visitor was friendly. Suggestion – tip the barman at the beginning of the trip and this will ensure that you get served at the bar straight away.

My partner completed a PADI dive course and the instructors were both friendly and the services were quite reasonable. I thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling and couldn’t believe the amount of fish around the islands coral.

I would thoroughly recommend this holiday to everyone. I have travelled around the Caribbean and would state the Maldives knocks spot off every Caribbean island I have visited. I am definitely going to return to Kuramthi as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Jo_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews