We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable day

It's a few years since my husband and I went to the Elephant Park but we have great memories of it... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2018
RubyAustralia
,
Hobart, Australia
A wonderful elephant experience

We really enjoyed visiting this park. The elephants look content, and the gardens are beautiful. We... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2018
KatiaVH v
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,895 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tegalalang
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$59.80
More Info
Reviews (1,895)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveller rating
1,032
476
143
75
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
476
143
75
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby elephants talent show beautiful animals elephant safari buffet lunch love elephants once in a lifetime bucket list take photos nigel mason an amazing experience photos taken souvenir shop long drive white water rafting our honeymoon nusa dua
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We booked tickets for entrance and ride online which all went smoothly. We thought we may want to do the elephant washing so asked when we arrived and we could add it as an extra on arrival. If only one person wants to wash the elephant the other people in the party can watch from a viewing area. Rides were done really well and were about 30 mins which was a decent amount of time. Professional pictures were taken which you can buy for 135,000 and can be 4 small photos, 2 medium or 1 A4 photo - not a bad price we felt. A la carte food in the restaurant was good. We asked our hotel taxi driver to wait for us - glad we did as although there are taxis everywhere in Ubud it seems most people come on organised trips so if you plan to get a taxi there and then get a different one back you may have to wait for one to be called.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LondonE3Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This was a fantastic experience, seeing the elephants, touching them, riding them, feeding them FANTASTIC, it was great but the ride went through dull short circuit/grounds - must be extra dull for the elephants. BUT We were collected at 6am and had to go and collect others taking nearly 2 hours to ge there. No water offered in the most uncomfortable van and then a lot of hanging around. Really enjoyed swimming with the elephants but I think I picked a stomach bug up from the water - beware. Showering facilities are limited suggest you take your own soap. Breakfast ok but again had hang around before going onto water rafting. They are over eager to sell you photos and will keep trying to sell them to you. Visit should last in total about 2 hours max.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank HatTheRat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

General admission was all we needed to pay to get a up close and personal experience with the elephants. They have their trainers with them by pools, that give you food to feed them for free. We did not pay all that extra for cleaning them, riding them, or eating lunch there. Riding them actually looked pretty boring and silly - people waited 45 mins early in the morning (it wasn’t even crowded yet) to cue up for a ride. There was also a free show where the elephants did tricks like playing soccer, playing music and doing a painting. We were there for no more than an hour. I wish the elephants had more grassy areas with water to take their breaks on versus the concrete area we saw them chained in. The trainers take their breaks with the elephants - a cool bond to see. There are a lot of signs up noting the reasoning of the “sanctuary” and history too (which we loved reading), it felt more like a park than an animal sanctuary.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank unicoryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had an unforgettable time here with close up contact with elephants. They are calm and content, scrupulously cared for and happy to interact with people. Very informative museum and stunning art gallery a bonus.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 400Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We purchased the bathe and breakfast + safari ride package for our anniversary. We were told that we would be picked up between 6:30-7am by the company so we waited for our driver from 6:15. We did not get picked up until 7:55am, because our driver was lost and originally went to a different hotel with a similar name.
We arrived at the elephant lodge and spoke to the manager who allowed us to have the buffet breakfast first despite us clearly holding up everyone. Breakfast was good but we felt rushed because of how everyone said they were waiting for us.

Washing TK the elephant was a great experience! The trainer had a good bond with her and was nice to us. Our guide throughout the day was incredibly nice and took many photos for us.

The swim was also incredible. The trainer was also nice and had a good bond with Mona. I definitely recommend this activity because it felt less commercialised and inhumane than the safari ride. (See more later)

The show was good. Didn’t look inhumane or circus-like. It was a short show which I was happy about because it was a hot day for us let alone the elephants.

This is where things take a turn. The safari ride. It is a very long ride if from the beginning you want to get off. The trainer on our elephant for the ride was not friendly and very aggressive to the elephant. He would consistently hit her on the head with a bull tusk?/ wooden stick or in her ear. He would also kick her behind the ears or grab her skin behind the ears to make her do what he wanted. He didn’t talk to us (which surprised us when we saw other people enjoying their ride) and gave us the sense that he hated his elephant and didn’t want to be there. There were many things we wanted to ask or have explained. Like the elephants chained up. Or like the very skinny elephant chained up at the start that was making a lot of noise. While I’m sure there’s explanations to these things, we didn’t get one. I will never do a safari ride on top of an elephant again. Only bare back like the swim.

The manager offered for us to choose a painting done by an elephant to remedy the 2 hour wait for our driver. However they had already picked one for us and didn’t allow us to choose. It was made clear that the value was $75 USD. We didn’t have an option to turn down this offer. It was pushed on us.

The lodge is a great place to relax for half the day. I recommend the bathe and breakfast without the safari ride if you want to experience up close encounters with the elephants.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank 235yasmineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews