We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Pros: Lots of greenery, small patch of paddy fields surrounding the area, refreshing pool (cold as it is freshwater), quiet, fresh vegetables.

Can improve: The food can improve and it might be best to serve simple local dishes. The hotel can inform guests in advance (or put up signage) that the main road commonly used to get to the hotel is broken. Most guests had to detour another half hour. We've never seen so many flies in one place. This might be due to fertilisers put in the plants. Maybe the hotel mgt can put a few fans in the resto/reception area so that the flies don't come to the food. Staff can be friendlier, more customer-oriented and provide better info (ie tours, massage, car services) to guests upon check-in. Would be great to have an inhouse yoga teacher who can teach daily so that there are add'l activities.

Cons: There's nothing (as in cafes, warung, grocery store, basic facilities) in the area other than the temple (1 1/2 walk), no tv/movies/wifi, no newspapers or info what is happening in the outside world. The hotel driver drove recklessly and too fast. He was also spiteful when we mentioned that we're not sure if we're using his services the next day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nieuw_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This place is beautiful and it's a 100% nature. Do not expect any luxury over here or comfy mattress. It's very basic and you even see spiders and gecko in the room. Again, welcome to the jungle :) .. food was awesome and so was the service. Organic food and vege from their own farm. Delicious !! They even have a natural pool which is icy cold water and pls get into it only on a hot day or else you may end up with some body ache the next day.

PLS PLS BRING ENOUGH RUPIAH HERE COZ THERE IS NO MONEY CHANGER NEARBY !!!!!!!! we took a bike and rode all the way to jatiluwih n still couldn't find a money changer. The nearest money changer is seminyak!!!!! That's madness. The worst part is no one from the hotel will advise you this coz they want you to use their own hotel transfer service. They suggested us to have our meals in the hotel and pay them later. They then hooked us up with their hotel transfer and we paid 500 rupiah one way to the airport while while blue bird will only cost around 350k IDR. We then had to stop at a money changer in seminyak and changed our currency and paid the driver the total amount including our meals. I see them doing this to all the guest and I don't think this is a good thing to do !!! The hotel should warn their guests that there are no money changer available on-site and request their guest to bring sufficient IDR !!! They responded to my email many times but they did not mention this at all in their email!!

Pls also lock lock lock your luggage bags. I lost my Burberry perfume during our 2nd night stay. I used my perfume and left it inside the luggage n underneath my clothes. Suddenly it went missing. I reported this to the reception but they did not take any action. 2 days after my check out, the reservations personnel who is located in seminyak, mailed me saying that they have found my perfume under the table and they wanted to mail it to me. That was so amusing coz I know someone took it off my luggage as my husband and I looked high and low for it in the room. Well I did not expect this sort of thing to happen to us in Bali but yeah... it happens !! Well we can't surely downgrade the entire resort for one person's inappropriate behaviour.

Bike rental cost 75k IDR per day

Overall you should visit this lovely little paradise if you love nature.



Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank regirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

What a lovely spot. Extremely comfortable villas and fabulous food. This resort is used a lot for yoga retreats so the group thing may be an issue for couple or single travellers but we did not have nay issues
We just loved the menu options which were varied, great vegetarian options and excellent all round
The water is all local. The menu is organic and delicious.
The rooms are large with plenty of seating outside amongst the beautiful gardens. The bathroom was quite well appointed
The staff were just lovely and always helpful
The rice paddies were being worked at the time so that was great to watch but the flooded paddies meant many frogs who sang all night. Very noisy indeed. Magically they were all quiet at 5.30am.....sleep for us then! Just a bit disturbing but don't let it stop you enjoying a lovely spot.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PranaDewi, Manager at Prana Dewi Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Helen,
thanks for your lovely comment.
The frogconcert shows that a healthy ecosystem is alive at Prana Dewi.
Sorry that it disturbed your sleep.
Next time we will chose Salak bungalow for you which points to the river side.
Best regards
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The setting of the place inmidst the rice paddies and the beautiful (though very cold) natural pool were great. Food at the restaurant was better than expected, which we enjoyed a lot. But it is also possible to get really tasty street food in the small village where the hotel is situated - at the hotel restaurant they even gave us plates and cutlery when we showed up with the street food!
Definitely worth a visit! But take care - the hotel is NOT in Jatiluwih as indicated on some online booking sites.It is in Wongaya Gede, a small village about 5km from the UNESCO site, so you have to take care of the transport. We found some village guys who dropped us there with their scooters which was quite comfortable and also great fun. If you depend on the transport offered by the hotel, that is quite expensive.
I also recommend a guided walk in the rainforest - we enjoyed that very much.
We would have loved to have WIFI, but that was the only negative point of the trip. All in all great value for money and a hotel that I would definitely recommend.
Btw there are a number of homestays just around the corner of the hotel, some of which are also very beautiful with a good chance of personal contact to the owners and they are of course much cheaper. So this is also a possibility you might want to consider.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PranaDewi, Manager at Prana Dewi Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks for the review. Hope to have you back again.
For maximum nature experience we are wifi free on purpose.
Your Prana Dewi Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Welcome to the jungle! The rooms are very impressive, especially with the outdoor bathroom. Yet, you cannot isolate from the outdoor since there are holes above the windows. We had to sleep in the noise of geckos, birds and all other kinds of animals and we shared the room with a few ants and other insects. There is absolutely no wifi in that place, better bring cards or a book. We literally had the impression to travel in time in the 80ies. The food is organic since most of it is produced in the hotel. Not the greatest we tasted but in huge quantities.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
9.5 km away
Pondok Nyoman
Pondok Nyoman
#1 of 1 in Bedugul
4 reviews
21.3 km away
Amarta Retreat
Amarta Retreat
#7 of 14 in Tabanan
63 reviews
15.5 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
De Moksha Boutique Resort
10.1 km away
Royal Tulip Saranam Resort & Spa
16.9 km away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#6 of 14 in Tabanan
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana Dewi Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana Dewi Mountain Resort

Address: Wongaya Gede | Penebel, Tabanan 82152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: €32 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prana Dewi Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Prana Dewi Mountain Resort Tripadvisor page! Our resort is located at the foot of Mt. Batukaru, the second highest Mountain of Bali. Mt. Batukaru is sacred to the Balinese and has a temple, Pura Luhur Batukaru dedicated to it. The last village on the way to the temple is called Wongaya Gede and this is where the owner and architect of the resort, I Gede Hanjaya grew up and lived. The resort is made up of 11 traditional bungalows with 14 rooms nested between organic rice paddies, tropical fruit trees and ornamental fishponds. Our bungalows are generously spaced apart to insure you tranquility and privacy. The interior of every bungalow is unique and beautifully decorated. Each bungalow has a terrace, deck or a bale, a traditional open hut, perfect for relaxing, yoga or meditation amongst rice fields and flowing waters. As well as being a nice place to spend a few days as a visitor, the resort is also specialized to hold meditation and yoga courses over longer periods. If you are interested in this, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our restaurant, which is also open for guests who are not staying in the resort offers delicious western and Indonesian meals. We use as much organically and locally grown fruits and vegetables as we can. Our organic brown rice is grown in the fields throughout the resort! We also offer some actives such a hiking Mt. Batukaru, walks through coffee plantations and rice fields as well as baths in hot water springs. In resort activities include traditional Balinese massage and taking a refreshing dip in the all natural spring water pool. Our friendly staff is happy to greet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Prana Dewi Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prana Dewi Mountain Hotel
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort Bali/Tabanan, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing