We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
81
54
17
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
54
17
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room lake beratan view of the lake infinity pool boat ride karaoke room direct access grilled fish jacuzzi tub lovely view continental breakfast free shuttle private lawn large bedroom amazing bathroom hatten wine perfect escape
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Located on Bratan Lake, with beautiful view, large bedroom with super bathroom, good restaurant with outside or inside seating. The hotel will arrange for free transportation to nearby attractions such as Bali Botanical Garden, recommended, or the Bedugul market. The best feature of the hotel may be the staff. Each of them is eager to be of assistance and to make the guest feel at ease. One suggestion: add a glass of Hatten wine to the beverages list.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Mr Frans R


Warmest greeting from Villa Puri Candikuning,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us on our trip advisor page.

we are so glad to hear that you enjoy our various facilities and that you had a fantastic experience during your stay at our villa.

your amazing comment will certainly motivate all of us to continue to provide great hospitality experience for all of our guest at the villa and we will forward your comment to our internal team to add a glass of Hatten wine in our beverage list.

we looked forward to welcome you again for your next holiday in Bali and we wish you have a beautiful day.


sincerely yours

Dewa Bagiarta
Operation Manager
Puri candikuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

If you are looking for a quiet, low-key experience, this is the place for you. The views of the lake are truly breathtaking, especially in the early morning. The staff are genuinely caring and make you feel at home, which is punctuated by the fact you are unlikely to see any other guests during your stay.

Do not expect the frills of some of the bigger resorts. This place is a quiet, simple retreat and a chance to get away and experience a different side of Bali.

DO bring a jacket as it gets cold at night.
DO take the boat to the temple early one day.

DON'T complain that the rooms are too large (seriously amazed what people whine about).
DON'T miss the whole fish dinner, it was DELICIOUS .

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasdunn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed in Puri Candikuning Retreat for a quick two day getaway from South Bali and we were pleased to have discovered this location. Yes, food quality, cleanliness and maintenance can be improved but the charm and intimacy of this villa resort certainly makes up for it. The hotel team exudes genuine Balinese Hospitality which makes you feel at home.

Pricing was very good and I would certainly go back. This resort has so much potential and speaking with the team there, renovations and expansion may be planned in the future (luxury camping?). I look forward to revisiting this location again.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctj1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Our first impression on arrival was wow ... a impressive drive through lush tropical gardens to the villa complex. The buildings are set in acres of woodland with magnificent views of the lakes the scenery is simply fantastic. Having said that, our room of gigantic proportions was cold, damp and in serious need of a makeover. Although tastefully decorated everything we touched from doors to outside recliners was literally falling apart. We decided to have a drink on the terrace, after negotiating an enormous, gloomy restaurant, broken and rotten decking, rusty nails and collapsing railings we eventually sat at an outside table together with an enthusiastic army of marching ants. You could not have paid me to enter the pool which looked filthy with no visible sign of filtration. The crowing glory was a defunct stagnant water feature - complete with sad looking fish and an even more depressed turtle. The drinks card was pitiful although we had noticed a well stocked bar. Oh well we had a couple of beers. The evening meal was not bad - but limited. The American breakfast was dreadful - I left it and asked for toast - coffee was cold the sparse staff doing their best with a smile. We took advantage of the free bus service and visited the temple and botanical garden (well worth a visit) and had a free trip on the lake. Dinner that evening was, to our surprise very nice and we enjoyed it - although the dining area could do with a serious spring clean.
It is a shame that such a once magnificent and clearly impressive complex has been left to deteriorate (probably due to the inclement weather). This was our 6th hotel on our Bali trip and sadly we cannot recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank Elaine251053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriCandikuning, Front Office Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear guest, Elaine251053

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Villa Puri Candikuning. Your experience is one of great concern to us and we deeply regret that the aspects of our service and product did not reflect the quality we strive for. We sincerely apologize for all that transpired during the course of your stay. We will be sure to address these shortcomings with the respective team concerned. The hotel is actually in the midst of reviewing all the rooms. Nevertheless rest assured we will continue to look into areas for improvement to ensure the stay will be a comfortable one. Please be so kind to contact us, should there be any other concerns that you may want to share with, so that we can ensure your future stays with us are memorable.

Thank you again for your time and valuable feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely yours,

Dewa Bagiarta
Operation Manager
Villa Puri Candikuning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

When we were looking for some accommodation in north Bali, we decided we could try once something fancier than we usually do. This hotel seemed pretty luxurious with good location so that's why we chose it. The price might be a bit higher comparing to other choices of accommodation throughout Bali but these accommodations aren't comparable to this one - and also, the price is like the same at the normal 3 star hotel in Europe. Still great bargain.
The staff is super helpful, nice and they would do anything to make you happy, I got so much positive vibes when I saw them smiling all the time.
The room is huge, with AMAZING bathroom which loooks like spa. Maybe the only disadvantage is that the part of the bathroom has no roof so it can get pretty cold during the night. The room was super clean and it smelled so nice ! They put some candle with aromatics and I just loved it!
The view is breathtaking and if you want, you can be woken up by the sunrise which is like the best waking up we had in Bali.
They offer different types of breakfasts such as American, continental, etc. Where there's a "package" of what you will get. It was awesome change after eating banana pancakes every morning in other hotels :D
They have seatings on the terrace by the pool and the lake, so you can eat your breakfast outside with amazing view.
We also visited their restaurant for dinner. I had the best grilled fish in my life so far, seriously. It was delicious and the price was super cheap, only 60k IDR for local fresh fish with rice and vegetable. I was just very sad that we were the only guests and overall, not many people go here to eat. Which is quite a shame, because it seems everyone who visits Pura Ulun Danu Bratan, goes to De Danau, which is not as good as this one like not at all (we went there the previous night) and prices are not that much different.
To sum up, I tried to find some mistakes but it's not necessary at all. I was very satisfied with this choice, it was worth the money and I would recommend it to every good friend.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nikolatrckova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriCandikuning, Front Office Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear nikolatrckova,

Thank you very much in taking time to review your recent experience with Villa Puri Candikuning. We are very happy that you enjoyed your days in Bali.

Your review is highly appreciated and we are most happy to read on how you described the stay and also the services offered.

It would surely be another pleasure to have you stay again with us in the upcoming future.

Sincerely yours,

Dewa Bagiarta
Operation Manager
Villa Puri Candikuning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews