We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
16
15
3
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
15
3
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea eagles abi hammocks mealtimes homestay india
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This homestay is a really welcoming and relaxing place to spend a holiday. Aby, Mini and Davis opened their home and their hearts to us from the very first moment and we quickly felt as though we had a home in Kerala.

The beach hut is quaint and very comfortable. The air conditioning is extremely efficient and the shower room, with its open ceiling, is like a sort of 21st century Tarzan film set: a stone floor, lush plants (painted) on the wall and the bright blue sky overhead.

Outside, the most stressful decision of the day is to choose which of the four or five hammocks to lie in and when weary of that, we just strolled across the stream and took a dip in the ocean.

When we didn’t fancy the stroll to the beach or the waves, we took a dip in the new pool with its fountain and seating area where we could stay cool even in the hottest part of the day.

The surroundings are perfect but more important is the privilege of being part of the family. It is like having an extra set of parents or favourite aunty and uncle who know the area and are ready to step in to advise when required. Mini took us to find the right shops to buy silk and gifts, avoiding the tourist traps, and she and Aby were able to tell us the fair rates for tuk-tuks and other things.

The very best thing, though, was the mealtimes. Mini provided huge platefuls of rice, curry, chapati, salads, fried fish, and fresh, ripe, sweet fruit. More importantly, we ate with the family and they explained to us how India works, introduced us to other family members and showed us how to eat our meals with our hands like proper Indians.

In addition to becoming no a fabulous cook, Mini gives a perfect facial. Forget the fluffy towels, whale music and corporate politeness of English spas. This is more like the bit in Mama Mia when Donna prepares Sophie for the wedding. You feel pampered like a child and afterwards your skin feels fresh and clear , soft and smooth.

When we left at four in the morning, Mini and Aby got up to say goodbye and we parted from them with great affection. If you have the chance to go to Kerala and you want to learn more about the people of Kerala and to make friends, you cannot do better than Arakal Heritage. We hope to go back there very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kobus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Arakal Heritage is a homestay situated around 3 kms away from Marari Beach. Abi and his family run this property. As stated to us, this is a heritage property more than 300 years old. Well maintained by family and situated around 200 meters from sea shore. We stayed there for 3 nights in January 2017. Mr. Abi & his family members are an amazing hosts. They take care of every small requirements of their guests. Mr. Abi considered our request of change of room because of very small size and shifted to the better room at discounted price. Being a home stay, one shouldn’t expect a luxurious treatment what one can get in Hotels or Resorts. Rooms are of non-standard smaller sizes. Beds are also queen size beds. Clean linens are provided. Because of its proximity with sea, entire ground area is covered by sand. The nearby beach is hardly 200 meters away however the approach path to go there is not so clean and clear and crosses through some local houses as well. This can be developed little better. The family provides complimentary breakfast and home made lunch and dinner, The food is tasty however breakfast menu is too small and need to be expanded. The property also has a swimming pool, which is a good fun time for kids. The flip side is its distance from Marari Beach so you need an auto every time you wish to go there. The biggest flip is high tariff in comparison to the luxury and amenities being provided. So certainly its not value for money. It is better to stay as close to Marari Beach as possible. Overall a good stay .. a cool and serene place but with basic amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiyushK_Triphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What a lovely special place. Abby and Mini welcomed us into their home and we joined them and their two sons for all our meals, deliciously cooked by Mini and felt very much part of the family. Through our mealtime conversations, we learned so much about India and the local way of life. We must have eaten - and drunk - coconuts in twenty different ways!
We had our own room separate from the house, with very comfortable beds and a solar shower room and shady verandah. Mini gave me a relaxing facial cleanse and massage.

The location is magical - we loved their traditional old house standing in a shady grove of beautiful trees. Only six minutes walk from the most picturesque sandy beach with palm trees, from where the fishermen from the local village go out in their boats and rafts every morning.
We fell in love with the beach and spent hours there in the early mornings watching the activities of the fishermen and playing with their children. In the evenings we collected shells and paddled in the waves as the sun set.
A highlight of our visit was shopping with Mini in Alepey one evening. It was a fascinating, bone-rattling and sometimes hair-raising 45 minute rickshaw drive along a country road buzzing with activity. We came back with lengths of fabric, to meet up with Mini's tailor, who, by the following evening had made a shirt and a skirt for us - very cheaply - we were delighted!
It really was a wonderful experience. We are so glad that our tour operators 'Insider-Tours' / 'Calypso Adventures' included Arekal Home Stay on our itinerary. We highly recommend it and really hope to go back there.

Room Tip: We loved our quiet shady private room - but they all look very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatJones32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

I have been at arakal heritage for a day
And i & my friends have been treated very graciously...
Its a fabulous place
It feels like our own home n the beach is nearby and has almost all things needed...

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sangeeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We were on bikes touring Kerala and our tour guide arranged for us to have lunch here. Mini was a gracious hostess and made us a feast of a lunch full of local vegetarian dishes and fresh fish and prawns. Mini showed us a few of the exceptional traditionally furnished rooms (A/C even!) and we wish we had been able to stay, but, alas, we had to move on to the next destination.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wagsfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews