We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
60
26
8
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
26
8
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backwater tours tuk tuk hostel bugs taxis kerala
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Horrible experience with lake & paddy hotel Alleppy. I'll Never recommend this hotel to Indian citizens. Actually they are fooling foreigners. The hotel is not connected to city centre, small factories are around. Staff seems like looters. Weird, They smoke and drink openly(Entrance gate/Reception) when customers are around. Staff don't know the minimum common sense. They give all freedom to foreigners that's the reason foreigners rate this hotel good. Doesn't worthy at all.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Srujan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shababali2015, Owner at Lake and Paddy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

We have been running Lake and paddy guesthouse for more than 5 years.We have never experienced a situation like this before,the rules of the guesthouse is preset and cannot be changed for anyone.The guests who came was not at all impressed with the property still they chose to stay with us because of the clean rooms and the service.After their check out we had to give the exact room for another guest.Later the day after 3:00 pm they came to the guesthouse to pick their luggage after their backwater trip and demanded us to use their room for fresh up,we refused to give the room because the room was already occupied and we said to use the common bathroom for freshening up.The elderly person was so arrogant and even said cursing in their language,still we offered the common bathroom which they refused to use.After 12:00 (the checkout time of the guesthouse)we never give the rooms to the guests who left.Also we never sells or drinks alcohol or bear to the guest or neither do we use.The location is clearly said in every websites and our page that the city center is 10 min(walk) far.The guest were only staying in our property for a cheap price and they were demanding things as if the guesthouse was a 5 star hotel.Everything the review says is entirely false and the staffs are not looters.These people were culture less and never followed any of the guesthouse's rules and regulations.We are looking forward to never host for people like these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Lake and Paddy for 2 nights to do the backwater trip which the hostel arranged for me. Shahi was very friendly and keen to help and I was served my breakfast and dinner on my veranda, what a treat! The rooms are large and airy with table and chairs outside Balinese style. There are also hammocks in the grounds and a communal outside area where you can have meals and relax with other guests. The hostel is a short walk from the government ferry port in a very tranquil area with a couple of little shops to get essentials and snacks. Lovely little haven! Thank you Shaji!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

This place was extremely affordable (500rps/night). The rooms were big and clean.
Only downside are the beds. Mattresses are very thin so not the best if you have back problems.
The breakfast was really good. The muesli was the bomb.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sabrizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

The room/cottage is spacy, clean enough and in a quiet area (but only 500m to the city or Bus Station). They even put some effort into decorating the garden with trees, flowers, lamps and hammoks. Nothing to complain about for this price

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MilenaM2193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Nice Cottages with really friendly staff. Located only a few minutes walk from the krsct bus stand this silent place has simple cottages with double beds, huge bathrooms and a veranda to sit on. You can book backwater tours and Shaji and Sulbi (the two workers there) can help you with almost everything you need. Totaly recomended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BronsonKnatterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews