We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
275
106
30
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
106
30
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean luc kep national park natural swimming pool the owner crab market a great place to spend lovely plants cool dip mosquito net nice furniture big balcony short stroll restaurant serves small fridge charming place breakfast was delicious rainy season
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is the third time we've stayed at Le Bout du Monde. We love the location on Kep mountain - laying in bed at night listening to the sounds of the forrest and thunderstorms. The villas are rustic and you should expect some visitors from the forrest. Clean room - the girls did a great job servicing the room. The rooms are pretty rustic but include nice personal touches. Reliable hot water, and fridge and safe included. Big balcony with hammock, day bed and small table with chairs. Includes a simple breakfast but in generous quantities. Apart from the lovely lady running the place, staff have limited English so patience and a sense of humour are required. We've always loved coming to Le Bout du Monde but we feel it needs a bit of maintenance, given the hard work Jean-Luc and his wife have put into creating such a wonderful paradise. We hope his spirits can revive after his recent sadness. We wish everyone at Le Bout du Monde good luck for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The place is quite nice at first sight. It is an ecolodge with very nice bengalows, right in the jungle.
The owner is nice and welcomes us in a good way.
However, we first realise a few things: the swimming pool is not as it seems on pictures, you cleraly cannot swim in it, as it is very green and not blue.
The room is a bit dirty and there are some dots on the bed, indicating there have previously been some insect bugs in the past. After dinner, we had difficulties finding the bengalow and dogs were yelling at us. We had a horrible night and hardly slept.
In the morning, we went to the owner to cancel the next nights, which he accepted without any charge.
However, he disagreed with our opinion, stating it was a "subjective" thought.
If you are very adventurous and are not afraid of insect bugs, the place might be a good experience though. if you need some minimum confort, I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 751mikaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Owner at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

You may not like this place and do not fall into an easy criticism because it does not fit your tastes. You made a bad choice when you came here. According to your remarks, you are not accustomed to the "wild life", undoubtedly very different from the beautiful districts of Paris. I do not want to believe that you were talking about the Khmers and their traditional habitat (although modernized and tailored to our clientele.) No doubt you were talking about a place that was too different and too "nature".
The insects in the bed: I can not follow you because I slept the next night in the same bungalow as you and I did not feel the same at all. These mattresses are less than a year old and are disinfected regularly. I do not deny that the rainy season brings a number of insects. This is one of the disadvantages of "wildlife".
My dogs are educated and the German Shepherd is tied up. The other, Breton spaniel is very friendly and allows easy caressing by all our clients. If they bark, it is to prevent or to express their feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Le Bout du Monde is a secluded tropical paradise in Kep. We have visited this place half a dozen times over the past two years and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed it. This time around we booked the 'Residence Sopheah' suite, but we were upgraded without additional charge to the absolutely gorgeous 'Sorya Suite' courtesy of Jean-Luc the owner/manager. The airy wood bungalows feature high thatched roofs and are furnished with an eclectic mix of Khmer and European colonial furniture. The 'Sorya Suite' overlooks a beautiful view of the Kep coastline and the setting afternoon Sun. The views from the 'Sovann' and 'Sako' suites are similar (having stayed at both on previous occasions). The entire lodge is surrounded by plants, with cascading bougainvillea plants hanging above the 'ecological pool'. A few guests have commented that the pool looks dirty but from what I understand it is a chemical free pool kept clean by having a natural cleaning system via the aquatic plants that line the edge of the pool. It's very pleasant and safe to swim in. I should also point out that the staff are courteous and friendly. In summary it is a pleasant respite from the chaos of Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Secluded, Quiet, Tropical Paradise.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank De Sheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Splendid khmer house, all made of wood, with splendid view on the ocean, the islands of Vietnam, fishing boats and the sunset. The Sorya house is probably one with the best view.
Very clean place with very nice people. Unfortunately, the garden is not that well maintened.
We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Suite sorya has a splendid view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ancolie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely place. Very kindly staff. The arranged our trips. The bungalow was superbe and had surely a room with a view. Breakfast was better then at Tiffany's. Ecopool for ecofans. We started the 8.5 km walk in the Keb park at the hotel. The Jungle Trail is real adventure including 267 meter climbing with ropes.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews