We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost five stars, but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Basically I loved this place. The setting is spectacular, with beautiful views over the ocean. It's totally quiet and peaceful, and you walk out of the gate right on to the pretty trail through Kep National Park. The restaurant is a real strong point - every meal was superb, especially anything with seafood - and the staff were all delightful. The owner, Jean-Luc (a Breton) is very sociable and fun to chat with. They can also arrange for a very professional (and ridiculously cheap) Khmer massage from a young woman who comes up from the town by appointment, which was a nice touch. That said, I did have a few quibbles. Some of the furnishings and fittings are showing their age (and please, Jean-Luc, a natural fabric hammock is much nicer to lie in than a plastic one!). You need to be tolerant of a certain amount of local wildlife sharing your room (I had a cute little Asian painted frog who lived behind the minibar) and it's very buggy, despite the mosquito net. That may have been because I was there at the beginning of the rainy season (mid-May), so not sure the resort can be blamed. And you shouldn't complain if it's hot and humid - again, not the resort's fault: if you go to southern Cambodia you should know what to expect. The most disappointing thing was that the lovely natural swimming pool was drained the day before I left. I'd been looking forward to a cool dip before I left at lunchtime, but the pool was not refilled. Anyway, I'd give this five stars in most categories, but these things dropped it down to four.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a balcony with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank canebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Owner at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear canebrook,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments.
My apologies for the pool.
The problem is the following one : This pool has 2 pools, one for the plants, the other for swimming. I noticed the water in the swimming pool was very muddy and the bottom slippery because of a crack in the separation wall. We had to empty the 2 pools and repair. We had to wait one day before beginning to refill with fresh water.
Hope to see you again in Cambodia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is the third time we've stayed at Le Bout du Monde. We love the location on Kep mountain - laying in bed at night listening to the sounds of the forrest and thunderstorms. The villas are rustic and you should expect some visitors from the forrest. Clean room - the girls did a great job servicing the room. The rooms are pretty rustic but include nice personal touches. Reliable hot water, and fridge and safe included. Big balcony with hammock, day bed and small table with chairs. Includes a simple breakfast but in generous quantities. Apart from the lovely lady running the place, staff have limited English so patience and a sense of humour are required. We've always loved coming to Le Bout du Monde but we feel it needs a bit of maintenance, given the hard work Jean-Luc and his wife have put into creating such a wonderful paradise. We hope his spirits can revive after his recent sadness. We wish everyone at Le Bout du Monde good luck for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The place is quite nice at first sight. It is an ecolodge with very nice bengalows, right in the jungle.
The owner is nice and welcomes us in a good way.
However, we first realise a few things: the swimming pool is not as it seems on pictures, you cleraly cannot swim in it, as it is very green and not blue.
The room is a bit dirty and there are some dots on the bed, indicating there have previously been some insect bugs in the past. After dinner, we had difficulties finding the bengalow and dogs were yelling at us. We had a horrible night and hardly slept.
In the morning, we went to the owner to cancel the next nights, which he accepted without any charge.
However, he disagreed with our opinion, stating it was a "subjective" thought.
If you are very adventurous and are not afraid of insect bugs, the place might be a good experience though. if you need some minimum confort, I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 751mikaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Owner at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

You may not like this place and do not fall into an easy criticism because it does not fit your tastes. You made a bad choice when you came here. According to your remarks, you are not accustomed to the "wild life", undoubtedly very different from the beautiful districts of Paris. I do not want to believe that you were talking about the Khmers and their traditional habitat (although modernized and tailored to our clientele.) No doubt you were talking about a place that was too different and too "nature".
The insects in the bed: I can not follow you because I slept the next night in the same bungalow as you and I did not feel the same at all. These mattresses are less than a year old and are disinfected regularly. I do not deny that the rainy season brings a number of insects. This is one of the disadvantages of "wildlife".
My dogs are educated and the German Shepherd is tied up. The other, Breton spaniel is very friendly and allows easy caressing by all our clients. If they bark, it is to prevent or to express their feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Le Bout du Monde is a secluded tropical paradise in Kep. We have visited this place half a dozen times over the past two years and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed it. This time around we booked the 'Residence Sopheah' suite, but we were upgraded without additional charge to the absolutely gorgeous 'Sorya Suite' courtesy of Jean-Luc the owner/manager. The airy wood bungalows feature high thatched roofs and are furnished with an eclectic mix of Khmer and European colonial furniture. The 'Sorya Suite' overlooks a beautiful view of the Kep coastline and the setting afternoon Sun. The views from the 'Sovann' and 'Sako' suites are similar (having stayed at both on previous occasions). The entire lodge is surrounded by plants, with cascading bougainvillea plants hanging above the 'ecological pool'. A few guests have commented that the pool looks dirty but from what I understand it is a chemical free pool kept clean by having a natural cleaning system via the aquatic plants that line the edge of the pool. It's very pleasant and safe to swim in. I should also point out that the staff are courteous and friendly. In summary it is a pleasant respite from the chaos of Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Secluded, Quiet, Tropical Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank De Sheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Splendid khmer house, all made of wood, with splendid view on the ocean, the islands of Vietnam, fishing boats and the sunset. The Sorya house is probably one with the best view.
Very clean place with very nice people. Unfortunately, the garden is not that well maintened.
We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Suite sorya has a splendid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ancolie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.7 km away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
172 reviews
0.8 km away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Le Flamboyant Resort
2.4 km away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.2 km away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge

Address: Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#3 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range: €30 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant at the top of the hill near Kep National park with stunning view over Thailand bay. Traditional Khmer wooden houses with modern comfort. Botanical gardens. Khmer and french inspired cuisine with view over the sea for sunset dinner. Eco-friendly swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bout Du Monde Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing