We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE PLACE.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Carr's for the first time this weekend. Our room had 2 queen beds and was beside the stream. It was so nice to hear the stream running all night long. They have a very nice picnic/firepit area just outside beside the stream that I imagine would be a wonderful place to relax during the warmer months. They have an outdoor pool which looked nice also. We were able to walk to town for dinner (only 3 blocks). The staff were very nice and gave recommendations for a wonderful place to get pizza (Cappelli's). We liked that there was a sink in the bathroom and another outside so that we weren't competing for space. This is an older motel, but had everything we needed for our stay. It would have been nice to have in-room coffeemaker, but the office had coffee just across the parking lot from our room. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: we had room 103, 2 queen beds, bathroom, no kitchen, no fireplace, ground floor streamside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed at Carr's for the past 14 years. The service is fabulous. There is always fresh made coffee in the office. Each room has 3 beds and a sleeper sofa, Tv, kitchen area, bathroom and living room area. I have never stayed in a better place. It is worth every penny. I would recommend it to a friend in an instant. You can hear the Roaring Fork Creek which is located right in front of the motel/cabins. Pool is always open. The hot tub is great. It is in walking distance from Downtown. Gatlinburg. Nice little resturaunts in walking distance. Can book your reservations on the 1st of the year. Now you can book several years in advance. It is a must stay place for any Gatlinburg goer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatlinburg4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My family and I have been coming here as long as I can remember. In fact, I now bring my kids here. This place is not a luxury facility, however, it's a perfect location to downtown Gatlinburg; it's right along a creek; it's private.

Room Tip: Pick a room along the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My fiance and I have started a new tradition of celebrating New Year's in Gatlinburg, Tn. While visiting Carr's for the first time this year, we have decided to added them as part of our tradition, also. We had a great experience. The room was clean, the staff was courteous and I can't forget how economical the rate was,especially during the holiday season. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglassa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly! The only drawback was that it was rather far from downtown Gatlinburg, that is walking of course.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 km away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Country Town N' Suites
Country Town N' Suites
#65 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 km away
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.1 km away
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing