We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
630
209
75
26
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
630
209
75
26
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa full kitchen orange lake don ward parking pass time share pancake house across the street sales pitch washer and dryer high pressure within walking distance national park outdoor pool the main street timeshare presentation short drive pigeon forge
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Awesome rooms, for my family of six perfectly! Multiple activities all ages, indoor splash pad, multiple pools. Listened to timeshare presentation and got an amazing deal! No, I did not buy timeshare. Yes, employees still super helpful!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Cecily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We had the Signature Villa, 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, beautiful well equipped kitchen, dining and living area with fireplace and 3 separate balconies. Could not ask for a better set up for a family of 5. The Hotel had a nice pool and an unique water feature park for the kiddos. The service was great and the Villa very clean. Service was always available to answer needs. Convenient to all the downtown activities and restaurants, shop's and rides. Could walk everywhere from the hotel.

Room tip: 5th floor served us well.Very quiet and had its own elevator service and parking area.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

First off, the staff was very pleasant and helpful... except for the phone callers who were trying to pitch us on these "great deals" on dining and entertainment, if we would just attend an "owner's update session", and then became incredulous when we declined, to the point where I just hung up. The suite itself was fantastic. We couldn't figure out the washer/dryer combo to our satisfaction...but that may have been us. The property is lacking. The pool (although we were assured otherwise) appeared dirty and there was work being done on the parking ramp, which is unavoidable, but made it impossible for us to sit our and enjoying our balcony because of the strong fumes. Location to the main strip is only a quarter mile, so very walkable. If the room required anything, a phone call to the front desk would have it delivered promptly.

Room tip: You'll want to be up on a higher floor to take advantage of the view of the Smoky Mountains.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dale_Smith_Koolfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

We're glad that you found the team at Smoky Mountain Resort to be pleasant and responsive. It's always our mission to make sure our guests have comfortable accommodations and receive outstanding service.

Your feedback about the pool area and asphalt repairs is much appreciated, as it tells us what our guests value and need. We hope you'll give us your consideration for a future trip to Gatlinburg, where we can look to show you how wonderful a vacation with us can be! Feel free to request a unit location overlooking the lush, mountain scenery, and our Inventory team will work to make it happen. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 year old daughter and 1 year old son in mid-August 2018, and we found the hotel to be perfect for a young family. We loved having the kitchenette (with all the pots/pans/utensils) and diswasher/washer/dryer in the room. The room was clean and neat, and the bed was comfortable. Even the sofa bed was comfortable as sofa beds go.

Our daughter LOVED the indoor pool and splash pad/play structure, and our son was happy splashing in the zero-entry part of the splash pad. There's really a lot to the play area, and even big kids were having fun on the water slides. In terms of a fun pool/play area, I don't think there's a better option in Gatlinburg. We went there once a day. There's also a very nice outdoor pool and sitting area with a fire pit.

The location is great, a few blocks from the strip but not actually on it. And it's just a 2 minute drive into the national park. The one drawback is that it's a slightly longer walk to the better places to eat.

Know that it's more of a "villa" than a hotel room, so they only do linen service once per stay. We didn't really mind it because we used the washer/dryer so much, but others might. The staff is very courteous and attentive if you need anything.

Also, they're doing work on the parking deck at the back, which we knew when we booked. Normally when you stay on the back side you can hear the stream outside your window, but the construction work drowned that out during the day. It shouldn't be a deal breaker, but something to be aware of.

tl;dr This is a solid hotel in Gatlinburg for young families who need a kitchen, washing machine, and a fun pool area for kids.

Room tip: Book a room at the back, and you can open up your window and hear the mountain stream - but wait until after parking deck work is done.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

This room overlooks the Main Street entrance so there is no beauty to gaze out onto - just parking lots and buildings. The room had a lot of wear and tear. In fact it was the worst looking room of any HICV resort we have stayed in. Faucet was loose and fell off so we called maintenance and they came quickly as we were walking out. Bed was very comfortable. Pullout sofa was very uncomfortable. 1 bedroom room felt cramped for 4 of us. Liked the grills in the courtyard. Pool was very nice and many people made a fuss about the “dirty” look of the water - the bottom is creatively made with simulated river rocks - so what if it’s not blue. It was a very nice pool. There is no open space on property so no nice grounds to walk on like at other HICV resorts. Building is crammed up against the forest. We slept well here and had a relaxing stay. And the resort staff was exceptional. But...there was one salesman who was horrible - he was 20 min late for our 8am meeting and didn’t apologize. Acted like a spoiled child and told me I didn’t have to stay and that I would not receive any gift for the members check-in. He ended up calling a manager over because he “just couldn’t go on with the tour”. The manager did apologize for the late start. The salesman brought us to the check-out after the tour and then walked away without a word. So unprofessional. But the sales group is separate from the resort, so I take no stars off for that bad experience.
**People: beware of those salesmen and their offers of discounts or free activities. There is so much nature and free or low cost family activities in the Smoky Mountains you don’t need anything from them.
We’d love to return to the Smoky Mountains but we will likely not return to this resort.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank vzescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews