We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Family Vacation”
Review of Moose Head Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose Head Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

17 of us ranging in age from 3 to 70 spent a week at unforgettable week at Moose Head Ranch. The Ranch is perfectly located -- close to Yellowstone, easy access to Tetons for hiking, quick ride into Jackson for tourist attractions, etc. Moose Head only has ~45 guests and is rich in tradition, so your stay feels like a personal and intimate experience while still providing the amenities of a larger operation. The staff is outstanding from start to finish. Louise takes extreme care to ensure all aspects of your stay are up to her expectations (she even independently vetted our tour guides for Yellowstone!) and it is clear she passes this down to all of her staff. Cliff and Deb were wonderful addition and made our stay complete -- Cliff guided us on hikes that we might not have otherwise found and Deb was always around to provide helpful information. Eddie does a fantastic job leading the wranglers and making sure all guests enjoyed the horse -back riding. Even for a group of novices, riding horses as a family was a magical experience! And Eddie made sure to get even our littlest guests on a corral ride so they felt part of it all. The Lodge is beautiful setting for meals - both the view and the food never disappointed. We took advantage of having picnic lunches packed a few days which was very nice option. The Sunday night cookout and sing a long was a highlight of our stay and not to be missed! Cabins are comfortable and appropriate for the setting but could benefit from a little TLC. Our children loved the freedom – they spent endless hours playing in the ponds, climbing the jungle gym and creating secret hideouts in the reeds. A spectacular way to spend a week together as a family -- we are already looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LeeJSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed in the Brook Trout Cabin. It very much reminded me of what I imagined "Little House in the Big Woods" looked like. Unlike most other cabins I've stayed in this was remarkably clean and free from the bugs and other critters that make other cabins feel just a step above camping. The beds were very comfortable, water pressure and temperature all what you would expect like at home. Only difference was how quiet everything is. It was the perfect distance from the National Parks and Jackson for day trips. They packed picnic lunches for these excursions. Highly recommended the GPS guide Louise provided for the drive through Yellowstone.

We had a 3 yr old with us so couldn't take full advantage of the guided horse rides. However, Eddy was very accommodating and allowed for a lead-line ride around the corral after the big groups had left. Time with the wranglers, horses and tractors was probably the highlight of the trip for our youngster. He said "I'm going to work here when I grow up".

The food is amazing and service staff were all prompt, helpful, friendly and entertaining. Dinner and breakfast were the best time to hear about what other guests had experienced and plan with staff for the next days activities.

We were lucky enough to see a herd of elk, and obstinacy of bison crossing the back fields of the ranch.

Also for the 3 yr old was a well-maintained playground and box of lawn toys.

If coming back I'd recommend bringing star charts and red lamps for star-gazing. The view is unlike any you'll find elsewhere. So many stars! Just wish I knew better what I was seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We enjoyed interacting with all the staff members. The meals were fantastic. We especially appreciated the personal attention the owners and staff gave the guests. Beautiful property! Wonderful stay - thank you, Louise and Kit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler52700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took our 8 year old son and 6 year old daughter to Moose Head Ranch and had a fabulous stay. We chose Moose Head because of its location in the Tetons and near Yellowstone, because we could all ride and dine as a family, and because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The owners, Kit and Louise, make you feel like you are their personal guests and run the ranch as if everyone there is family. We loved our time at the ranch, would highly recommend staying there and can't wait to go back.

The ranch is set amidst Grand Teton National Park, which is stunning, and most of the horseback rides go through the Park or the National forest. Wranglers are college students who are incredibly friendly and polite. Eddie, who runs the riding and grew up on the ranch, is very friendly and knowledgeable and matches you with an appropriate horse for your stay. We saw beautiful scenery on the rides and lots of wildlife. We chose to ride only once a day (you can ride twice or do a full day ride), and spent the rest of the time doing activities including whitewater rafting, hiking, and the cowboy coaster in Jackson. Chris, the owners' son, even spent a morning teaching us how to fly fish in the ponds on the ranch. We could easily get into Jackson in about 30 min to do activities or go to the rodeo, which was a fun time.

The food at Moose Head is delicious! We ate all of our meals there or took picnic lunches they packed and were never disappointed. Meals and cookouts encourage you to interact with and get to know other guests and staff well. Our kids spent a lot of time playing with the children of other guests and we enjoyed spending time with the adults.

The ranch has 14 guest cabins, which are comfortably rustic, clean and private. Ours was a smaller one with 2 bedrooms, a sitting area, a nice porch and a bath. Most have 2 bedrooms, a larger sitting area, porch, and 2 baths. The bathrooms were dated, but clean, in keeping with what I saw on the websites of other ranches. There are no TVs and only wifi in the lodge, but we didn't miss it.

If you are looking for a place to experience the West with your family, I would highly recommend Moose Head Ranch.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Owners Louise and Kit made us feel welcome like we were family. The Grand Tetons provided an irresistible backdrop for a most memorable western vacation. The food was gourmet, the cabins cozy, the service outstanding, and the horseback riding exhilarating. Day hikes in the nearby Tetons were fun and a rodeo in nearby Jackson was entertaining. A full day drive through the the lower loop of the Yellowstone NP (Old Faithful, Grand Prismatic Springs, Yellowstone Falls) brought us face to face with a herd of bison. The hardest thing about Moose Head Ranch was having to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmerchant2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose
38.1 km away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
31.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
31.7 km away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
2,040 reviews
14.2 km away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
454 reviews
15.6 km away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Head Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Head Ranch

Address: Highway 89 N, Moose, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83012
Region: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park > Moose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Moose
Price Range: €241 - €323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned guest ranch in scenic Grand Teton National Park, catering to families and couples. Gourmet food, individual cabins, incredible views, riding with wonderful wildlife photographic opportunities to see everything from hawks and antelope to elk and bison. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moose Head Ranch Hotel Moose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing