We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$1,129
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Snake River Lodge and Spa(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alpenhof Lodge(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$431
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Jackson Hole(Teton Village)
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flat Creek Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk Refuge Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Ranch(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$367
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
218
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabin girlsfamily vacationfly fishingbisonhorseback ridingsnake riversunday nightjackson holetroutgrand tetonsrustic elegancepersonal attentionowners and staffmost beautiful places on earthbreathtaking viewsfood was amazingmy mother in law
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed in the Brook Trout Cabin. It very much reminded me of what I imagined "Little House in the Big Woods" looked like. Unlike most other cabins I've stayed in this was remarkably clean and free from the bugs and other critters that make other cabins feel just a step above camping. The beds were very comfortable, water pressure and temperature all what you would expect like at home. Only difference was how quiet everything is. It was the perfect distance from the National Parks and Jackson for day trips. They packed picnic lunches for these excursions. Highly recommended the GPS guide Louise provided for the drive through Yellowstone.

We had a 3 yr old with us so couldn't take full advantage of the guided horse rides. However, Eddy was very accommodating and allowed for a lead-line ride around the corral after the big groups had left. Time with the wranglers, horses and tractors was probably the highlight of the trip for our youngster. He said "I'm going to work here when I grow up".

The food is amazing and service staff were all prompt, helpful, friendly and entertaining. Dinner and breakfast were the best time to hear about what other guests had experienced and plan with staff for the next days activities.

We were lucky enough to see a herd of elk, and obstinacy of bison crossing the back fields of the ranch.

Also for the 3 yr old was a well-maintained playground and box of lawn toys.

If coming back I'd recommend bringing star charts and red lamps for star-gazing. The view is unlike any you'll find elsewhere. So many stars! Just wish I knew better what I was seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We enjoyed interacting with all the staff members. The meals were fantastic. We especially appreciated the personal attention the owners and staff gave the guests. Beautiful property! Wonderful stay - thank you, Louise and Kit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler52700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took our 8 year old son and 6 year old daughter to Moose Head Ranch and had a fabulous stay. We chose Moose Head because of its location in the Tetons and near Yellowstone, because we could all ride and dine as a family, and because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The owners, Kit and Louise, make you feel like you are their personal guests and run the ranch as if everyone there is family. We loved our time at the ranch, would highly recommend staying there and can't wait to go back.

The ranch is set amidst Grand Teton National Park, which is stunning, and most of the horseback rides go through the Park or the National forest. Wranglers are college students who are incredibly friendly and polite. Eddie, who runs the riding and grew up on the ranch, is very friendly and knowledgeable and matches you with an appropriate horse for your stay. We saw beautiful scenery on the rides and lots of wildlife. We chose to ride only once a day (you can ride twice or do a full day ride), and spent the rest of the time doing activities including whitewater rafting, hiking, and the cowboy coaster in Jackson. Chris, the owners' son, even spent a morning teaching us how to fly fish in the ponds on the ranch. We could easily get into Jackson in about 30 min to do activities or go to the rodeo, which was a fun time.

The food at Moose Head is delicious! We ate all of our meals there or took picnic lunches they packed and were never disappointed. Meals and cookouts encourage you to interact with and get to know other guests and staff well. Our kids spent a lot of time playing with the children of other guests and we enjoyed spending time with the adults.

The ranch has 14 guest cabins, which are comfortably rustic, clean and private. Ours was a smaller one with 2 bedrooms, a sitting area, a nice porch and a bath. Most have 2 bedrooms, a larger sitting area, porch, and 2 baths. The bathrooms were dated, but clean, in keeping with what I saw on the websites of other ranches. There are no TVs and only wifi in the lodge, but we didn't miss it.

If you are looking for a place to experience the West with your family, I would highly recommend Moose Head Ranch.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Owners Louise and Kit made us feel welcome like we were family. The Grand Tetons provided an irresistible backdrop for a most memorable western vacation. The food was gourmet, the cabins cozy, the service outstanding, and the horseback riding exhilarating. Day hikes in the nearby Tetons were fun and a rodeo in nearby Jackson was entertaining. A full day drive through the the lower loop of the Yellowstone NP (Old Faithful, Grand Prismatic Springs, Yellowstone Falls) brought us face to face with a herd of bison. The hardest thing about Moose Head Ranch was having to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmerchant2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a unique, fun and exciting family vacation, Moose Head Ranch is the place to go. My family and I just spent a week at the ranch and it was an experience that we will never forget. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The food is amazing. Plenty for the kids to do. I can't wait until next summer, to go back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews