We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
55
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsloved every minutexc skia great place to stayhiking trailscup of coffeeget awayyurtbarbaratednorthwoodswinteraccommodationslakesbwcacanoehistory
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Barbara’s Suite for 5 nights in mid-Dec. and skied the Banadad Trail and at Bearskin. Secluded and beautiful location in the woods. The Suite was perfect, clean, thoughtfully furnished and equipped. Great kitchen- we cooked in. Ted and Barbara are Gunflint Trail icons - they know and love this place, and have much to share with guests. Just the right balance of privacy and hospitality. We plan to return!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Coastal599919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for sharing your stay with us at Poplar Creek. We are so glad that many of our trails were available for you to ski. Barbara's Suite is an accommodation created for those visitors who like cooking on their own; and glad you liked it too. We hope to see you again. Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We have stayed with Barbara and Ted twice on our anniversary, both trips were amazing! We recently visited in September, the home is so well kept, I've never stayed any where so clean ! Barbara's breakfast are delightful, soooooo good , she is very gifted! I would recommend everyone to stay here, as a bonus we got to see two moose nearby!

Room Tip: Our room is on main floor, accessible off living room/dining room off main floor, deck and stairs off back though....
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angelaN3119LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcgbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you again for staying here for your anniversary. Welcoming past guests means so much to
me and Ted. And you saw moose.How great is that. Hope you were able to take a lot of photos.
Hope to see you again, so let us know if there is anything special you would like for breakfast.
Barbara and Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed at the poplar creek bed and breakfast and I am so glad we did!! Barbara and Ted take such great care of you! Her breakfasts were outstanding!! The location was so cool its tucked away deep into the woods on the gunflint trail! Just amazing! We had such a wonderful time!!!!!!! Thank you Barbara and Ted!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AshleyS4622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcgbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for writing. Sometimes guests have to remind us how they feel when they get here.
The words "tucked away" and "deep into the woods" remind us why we chose to build here.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and your stay. Hope to see you again.
Barbara and Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We decided on four days hiking along the Superior Hiking Trail with overnight accommodation along the way. Barbara at Lodge to Lodge Hiking could not have been more helpful in turning this goal an easy vacation. The accommodations were great with breakfasts and boxed lunches for the trail proving a godsend. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using her services for anyone interested in hiking without the hassles of camping.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Excel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your hikes and meals. The Superior Hiking trail is a great trail. Water, scenery, woods; it has it all. BTW-Boundary Country Trekking is the contact for the Lodge to Lodge hiking program. The lodges on the Northshore have been doing this for over 25 years. Thank you again for hiking this great trail. Regards, Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Ted and Barbara Young have lived on Minnesota's scenic Gunflint Trail for over 40 years and their lovely home in the woods exudes the warm feeling of a seasoned b&b where travellers are both welcomed and spoiled. We stayed in their Barbara Suite for three nights: a nice little apartment within their cozy cottage that comes complete with a kitchenette, own bathroom, bedroom, lounge (including fireplace) and sun deck. True value for money right there. But the true charm of this inn lies with the innkeepers: Ted and Barbara are consummate hosts that make you feel as if you are visiting family, rather than staying at strangers' house. They cook up a great breakfast and, with 43 years of Gunflint on the clock, are an excellent resource when it comes to the trail, the boundary waters (Ted operates his own adventure trails and canoe outfitting) and surrounding area. If you find yourself up the Gunflint Trail, we do recommend you pass by Little Ollie Lake and stay at this great b&b.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcgbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Oh my goodness, what a lovely review of Poplar Creek. So nice that you enjoyed your stay here.
Sorry for responding so late to your kind words. Sometimes guests need more than a room to
relax and renew. That is why Barbara's Suite was built within our Bed and Breakfast. So glad
you enjoyed the accommodation. We hope to see again. Thank you. Barbara and Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews