We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
US$251
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Skyport Lodge(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$290
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsloved every minutexc skia great place to stayhiking trailsget awayyurtbarbaratedwinteraccommodationslakesbwcacanoehistorybeddingboot
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed at the poplar creek bed and breakfast and I am so glad we did!! Barbara and Ted take such great care of you! Her breakfasts were outstanding!! The location was so cool its tucked away deep into the woods on the gunflint trail! Just amazing! We had such a wonderful time!!!!!!! Thank you Barbara and Ted!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcgbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for writing. Sometimes guests have to remind us how they feel when they get here.
The words "tucked away" and "deep into the woods" remind us why we chose to build here.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and your stay. Hope to see you again.
Barbara and Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We decided on four days hiking along the Superior Hiking Trail with overnight accommodation along the way. Barbara at Lodge to Lodge Hiking could not have been more helpful in turning this goal an easy vacation. The accommodations were great with breakfasts and boxed lunches for the trail proving a godsend. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using her services for anyone interested in hiking without the hassles of camping.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Excel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your hikes and meals. The Superior Hiking trail is a great trail. Water, scenery, woods; it has it all. BTW-Boundary Country Trekking is the contact for the Lodge to Lodge hiking program. The lodges on the Northshore have been doing this for over 25 years. Thank you again for hiking this great trail. Regards, Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Ted and Barbara Young have lived on Minnesota's scenic Gunflint Trail for over 40 years and their lovely home in the woods exudes the warm feeling of a seasoned b&b where travellers are both welcomed and spoiled. We stayed in their Barbara Suite for three nights: a nice little apartment within their cozy cottage that comes complete with a kitchenette, own bathroom, bedroom, lounge (including fireplace) and sun deck. True value for money right there. But the true charm of this inn lies with the innkeepers: Ted and Barbara are consummate hosts that make you feel as if you are visiting family, rather than staying at strangers' house. They cook up a great breakfast and, with 43 years of Gunflint on the clock, are an excellent resource when it comes to the trail, the boundary waters (Ted operates his own adventure trails and canoe outfitting) and surrounding area. If you find yourself up the Gunflint Trail, we do recommend you pass by Little Ollie Lake and stay at this great b&b.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcgbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Oh my goodness, what a lovely review of Poplar Creek. So nice that you enjoyed your stay here.
Sorry for responding so late to your kind words. Sometimes guests need more than a room to
relax and renew. That is why Barbara's Suite was built within our Bed and Breakfast. So glad
you enjoyed the accommodation. We hope to see again. Thank you. Barbara and Ted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Barbara and Ted are wonderful hosts, full of knowledge on the area and recommendations of things to do. The room was very comfortable, plus wifi! There's great sitting room with fireplace to relax after a day of hiking or canoeing. We'd absolutely go back. Moose and other wildlife will come right through the yard... keep and eye out for some great sightings!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review. This year has been a good year for animal sightings. You never know what you will see out the windows. We enjoyed your visit with us too. Your enthusiasm for our outdoors reminds us why we are here. Thank you for that. Regards. Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

I travel the world for a living, but when it comes to my time- I am so grateful to have this refuge for relaxation and rejuvenation. We found Ted and Barbara over 15 years ago and have not looked back since. It is our first choice for winter and summer getaways. We have stayed in both yurts, Little Ollie Cabin and the B&B numerous times and all trips have went beyond expectation. Great beds and accommodations for a dreamy night's rest, tremendous hospitality and scrumptious cooking to boot. If you need BWCA outfitting and good direction and expertise on the area- look no further, this is the place. #awesomevacatioongetaway.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank _sfklimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Just the other day a guest mentioned that the quiet is why they like our Poplar Creek B&B. If you open the windows you hear the birds though. We have enjoyed your stays and just coming in to say hello and visit. We know you travel the world and letting us know that you come here to relax is a lovely thing to say. Thank you.
Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews