We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR STAY AT POPLAR CREEK B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We have stayed with Barbara and Ted twice on our anniversary, both trips were amazing! We recently visited in September, the home is so well kept, I've never stayed any where so clean ! Barbara's breakfast are delightful, soooooo good , she is very gifted! I would recommend everyone to stay here, as a bonus we got to see two moose nearby!

Room Tip: Our room is on main floor, accessible off living room/dining room off main floor, deck and stairs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angelaN3119LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed at the poplar creek bed and breakfast and I am so glad we did!! Barbara and Ted take such great care of you! Her breakfasts were outstanding!! The location was so cool its tucked away deep into the woods on the gunflint trail! Just amazing! We had such a wonderful time!!!!!!! Thank you Barbara and Ted!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We decided on four days hiking along the Superior Hiking Trail with overnight accommodation along the way. Barbara at Lodge to Lodge Hiking could not have been more helpful in turning this goal an easy vacation. The accommodations were great with breakfasts and boxed lunches for the trail proving a godsend. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using her services for anyone interested in hiking without the hassles of camping.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bearpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your hikes and meals. The Superior Hiking trail is a great trail. Water, scenery, woods; it has it all. BTW-Boundary Country Trekking is the contact for the Lodge to Lodge hiking program. The lodges on the Northshore have been doing this for over 25 years. Thank you again for hiking this great trail. Regards, Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Ted and Barbara Young have lived on Minnesota's scenic Gunflint Trail for over 40 years and their lovely home in the woods exudes the warm feeling of a seasoned b&b where travellers are both welcomed and spoiled. We stayed in their Barbara Suite for three nights: a nice little apartment within their cozy cottage that comes complete with a kitchenette, own bathroom, bedroom, lounge (including fireplace) and sun deck. True value for money right there. But the true charm of this inn lies with the innkeepers: Ted and Barbara are consummate hosts that make you feel as if you are visiting family, rather than staying at strangers' house. They cook up a great breakfast and, with 43 years of Gunflint on the clock, are an excellent resource when it comes to the trail, the boundary waters (Ted operates his own adventure trails and canoe outfitting) and surrounding area. If you find yourself up the Gunflint Trail, we do recommend you pass by Little Ollie Lake and stay at this great b&b.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Barbara and Ted are wonderful hosts, full of knowledge on the area and recommendations of things to do. The room was very comfortable, plus wifi! There's great sitting room with fireplace to relax after a day of hiking or canoeing. We'd absolutely go back. Moose and other wildlife will come right through the yard... keep and eye out for some great sightings!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review. This year has been a good year for animal sightings. You never know what you will see out the windows. We enjoyed your visit with us too. Your enthusiasm for our outdoors reminds us why we are here. Thank you for that. Regards. Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
33.5 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
33.7 km away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
299 reviews
33.5 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#16 of 32 in Grand Marais
6 reviews
33.8 km away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#14 of 32 in Grand Marais
54 reviews
35 km away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2314
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: €117 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Inn with whirlpool, fireplaces, and guest kitchens. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing