We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
55
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts loved every minute xc ski a great place to stay hiking trails cup of coffee get away yurt barbara ted northwoods winter accommodations lakes bwca canoe history
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Recently stayed at the Tall Pines Yurt. The website hyped the facilities and offerings. Reality fell far short, one of my worst lodging experiences. Long list of issues. Checked out after only 1 night. We were offered and given a full refund after a brief guilt trip about how they are elderly and can't afford it.

If you plan to stay in the yurts: bring your sleeping pad and plan on sleeping the dirty floor as that is far more comfortable, do not drive your own vehicle to the yurt regardless of what you are told, set your expectations low.

So many nicer places to stay near by for the same rates.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your comments about your short stay at the yurt. As you know, the yurt is not our Bed and Breakfast or cabin accommodation. We are sorry that you had such a bad experience at the yurt. As mentioned in our website description, the yurt is a camping tent in the woods, with no electricity or running water. You mentioned that the floor was dirty. We do clean the yurt floor with a wet mop with disinfectant between guest visits. We do clean the yurt between guests, but it appears that we did not do a thorough job. When you came back to the office to indicate that you were leaving early, you mentioned that the futon was lumpy and you slept on the floor instead, even though there are mattresses on the bunk beds with liners. In the meantime, we did replace the futon mattress. It is 8 inches thick, which makes it comfortable for guests. They have told us so. Thank you again for letting us know that the futon mattress absolutely had to be replaced.
You did receive a full refund of course. Yes, I did mention that a full refund was difficult and I guess I was feeling elderly that day. But I did not mean to make you feel guilty. Sorry for saying that to you. You were offered a free room with breakfast in our bed and breakfast. But you said no. You were anxious to get to another lodging location, as this was where you really wanted to go to begin with. I was surprised at that comment.
When we arrived at the yurt to shuttle your gear to your vehicle, your trip partner mentioned that the yurt was fine.
You mentioned that the our website hyped the facilities and offerings. We went to the yurt description and photos to make sure that the website was accurate. We believe the website is accurate in its description of the yurt. It is a camping yurt, next to a wilderness and bog. Again we are sorry for your bad experience at the yurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed in the lakeside cabin in the middle of May, 2016. The two bedrooms accommodated us nicely - one upstairs just off of the kitchen; the other downstairs next to the one bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped. We cooked dinners in the cabin but ate breakfast at the main house. Barbara is is an extraordinary cook - french toast stuffed with ricotta cheese and almonds with local local maple syrup, Eggs Benedict, fresh fruit with Angel Food cake, juice, coffee, tea. Everything was served with near perfect presentation and an attention to detail. The mattress were comfortable. The cabin was equipped with one canoe and we rented a second one from our hosts. On our first night we canoed out onto the lake under the full moon. It was so quiet and magical. The deck off the living room has peekaboo views of the lake through the forest. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. Ted and Ii enjoyed having you and your family stay at the cabin and have breakfasts at the B&B. I really do love to cook, especially breakfasts. Our Little Ollie cabin has new mattresses too and glad that they were comfortable. We think the local lakes are great for canoeing too; and how nice that the moon was full. We do enjoy listening to our guests talk about their travels. Thank you and stop in again when you are in Minnesota. Barbara & Ted Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed with Ted and Barbara in the main house and it was fantastic! We arrived ready to do some great hiking; overnight it snowed 9 inches!!!
Turned out to be one of the best getaways two girls could have.
While Ted diligently worked at digging us out, we ended up having the best snowshoeing experience we've ever had!
They were both so welcoming and wonderful! They made us feel like we were at home. Excellent food! Excellent conversation!
Our room was SUPER clean and comfortable; we didn't want to leave!
We WILL be staying with them again!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedyoung78, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for reviewing your stay. When life throws you a lemon (lots of snow in April) , you make lemonade (snowshoeing). So glad you enjoyed your visit. It was fun for us too. Having guests like you two gives us so much pleasure. The lakes are open; patches of snow in the woods; warm and light breezes. Perfect spring. Thank you again for staying.
Barbara & Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Poplar Creek Guesthouse is likely the most remote Bed and Breakfast in Minnesota. It is 28 miles from Grand Marais up the paved Gunflint Trail Highway followed by about 2 miles of driving on narrow dirt National Forest roads. The property owners make sure to keep these access roads well-plowed during the snowy months. Our small, 2WD Chevy Spark was able to handle these roads just fine, so I'm confident that pretty much any vehicle will be able to do so as well in any season. The wilderness boundary for the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness begins the equivalent of about 2 city blocks from the Bed and Breakfast, allowing for easy access to this remote wilderness while enjoying a nice bed and a warm room instead of having to backpack camp. Day trips into the wilderness are easy with self-issuing permits and boxes at the wilderness entry points near the house. We visited this Bed and Breakfast in late March. Even though there was no longer any snow in the Twin Cities at this point, there was still an 18" snow-pack at this location, making for some great snowshoeing on the trails and on the nearby, still-frozen lakes. A large network of amazing looking cross country ski trails started right outside their doorstep, including the famed Banadad trail. This was a great place to get away from the hustle of city life without having to "rough it."
Barbara and Ted were lovely and very hospitable people to stay with. We had Barbara's 3-course breakfast on two of the mornings of our visit. Barbara was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet and selected some lovely entrees and fruit dishes that I could partake in. Her cooking was delicious!
We stayed in Barbara's Suite. This room has a very practical kitchenette with a 4-burner gas stove and oven, a microwave, pots, pans, cooking utensils, and dishes. There is also a small fridge that is nicer than the standard hotel room fridge in that it has a freezer with a separate door to it, allowing your frozen items to truly stay frozen. We stayed 3 nights and prepared our own meals for several of our meals. Barbara's suite also features a nice living area with a flat screen TV and gas fireplace, making it very cozy to hang out in. There was no cell phone reception (at least for us with T-Mobile) or phones to use, but their Wi-Fi internet was surprisingly fast - about the same as what we have in the Twin Cities. This allowed for us to communicate with friends and family over Skype very smoothly.
This review asked if the property is "beachfront." The inn is not situated on a lake, but Poplar lake is quite close to it and the innkeepers have a boat dock on that lake.

Room Tip: Barbara's Suite has a practical kitchenette with gas stove and oven, microwave, and small fridge with separate freezer.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdswider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted Y, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for the kind review. We really enjoyed having you as guests and that you enjoyed the Suite. We appreciate the comments about your visit and that you found the road accessible in the winter. By the way, we are on a lake and creek. However, you cannot see the lake unless you cross the bridge to the overlook. In the winter, this is a bit snowy though. We do not have a beach, but a dock where the rowboat and guest canoes are located. We will take a look at our description and make sure it accurately describes the view of the lake. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Needed a spot to stay for a night to snowmobile the gunflint trail. Had an amazing trip! Barbara and Ted are some of the nicest people you will meet. Rooms are EXTREMELY clean and neat. And the breakfast they cook is top notch. Don't think twice, amazing views, amazing country, and you can't beat their price.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2016

Thank you for staying at the B&B. We really enjoyed having you visit. So glad that we had tons of new snow, so that you could get in your last rides for the season. Another great day on the Gunflint Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews