We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
55
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsloved every minutexc skia great place to stayhiking trailscup of coffeeget awayyurtbarbaratednorthwoodswinteraccommodationslakesbwcacanoehistory
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Needed a spot to stay for a night to snowmobile the gunflint trail. Had an amazing trip! Barbara and Ted are some of the nicest people you will meet. Rooms are EXTREMELY clean and neat. And the breakfast they cook is top notch. Don't think twice, amazing views, amazing country, and you can't beat their price.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2016

Thank you for staying at the B&B. We really enjoyed having you visit. So glad that we had tons of new snow, so that you could get in your last rides for the season. Another great day on the Gunflint Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My husband and I stayed in "Little Ollie Cabin" this weekend! It was a Winter Wonderland! Absolutely beautiful! You did need four wheel Drive to get in and out of the cabin. But, It was so secluded and serene! We XC ski'd! Beautiful wooded trails! The cabin reminded me of the little rustic cabin I grew up going to in Bemidji when I was a child. Brought back great memories!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2016

Thank you for staying at the cabin. We keep plowing, but the snow keeps coming. So nice to hear that the cabin brought back happy memories for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We decided on Poplar Creek not accounting for the fact that the location is 30 miles outside of Grand Marais. At first, we were a bit disappointed as the magic of Grand Marais and Lake Superior have lulled us in.

Then we met Barbara and Ted.

Their hospitality, no frills approach, Barbara's cooking, Ted's humor, the secluded location, fellow guests, B & T's advice for us to find challenging hiking trails - if there's one thing we know for sure, it's that we WILL be back for a second stay.
Grand Marais is 30 miles away, a comfortable distance to drive for dinner, explore some of the shore line, immerse yourself in the tourist action, and then return to Poplar Creek, which becomes a sanctuary within an already relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - we stayed in Dorothy's room. If you have the choice though, rent one of the yurts.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindOfGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thank you for visiting Poplar Creek, even though you had to drive 30 miles more.
We like your comments about taking time to explore the area and coming back to the seclusion of the bed and breakfast. Hope to see you again.
Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

My husband and I had the privilege of enjoying a peaceful getaway at Poplar Creek back in July. We chose the Special Time for Two package, and were thrilled with the experience! Though the B&B itself appeared small at first sight, we found Ollie's Suite to be lovely and just what we hoped for. From the whirlpool tub to the fluffy robes to even a heart-shaped lavender bouquet above the bed, we were impressed. My husband even wished he could take one of the pillows home with him!
The breakfasts were delicious, and we enjoyed being able to eat them by the fireplace upstairs. Barbara and Ted were wonderfully hospitable, from offering us wine on the porch one evening to providing an appetizer tray, trail lunch, and canoe use (those three were all part of the package), to giving great tips on navigating the lakes and finding a good restaurant... we couldn't have asked for more. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thank you for enjoying our Special Time for two. It really is nice to have breakfast near the fireplace. I love lavender and am so happy that I can share that fragrance in the bouquet that hangs above the guest bed. Thank you for noticing. Ted and i appreciate your thoughtful review; and we hope that we see you again.
Barbara young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

what a great place to stay in this amazing area. Barbara and Ted were great hosts, Barbara's breakfasts and Ted's commentary were a great way to start the day. The room was outstanding, a bit hot at night, but I guess that is a summer problem. Ted gave us great suggestions for canoeing and hiking. Exceptional

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketfanBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thank you for writing about your stay at Poplar Creek. I love making breakfast and glad you enjoyed it. We agree, it does get a bit warm/hot some summer days in the rooms. We may have to put in AC, if the fans do not cool the rooms enough. Glad you went canoeing and hiking. We are lucky to live in an area where we can do both and do not have to drive a long distance. Thank you for visiting Poplar Creek and enjoying your stay.
Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews