We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Remote B&B in Minnesota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Poplar Creek Guesthouse is likely the most remote Bed and Breakfast in Minnesota. It is 28 miles from Grand Marais up the paved Gunflint Trail Highway followed by about 2 miles of driving on narrow dirt National Forest roads. The property owners make sure to keep these access roads well-plowed during the snowy months. Our small, 2WD Chevy Spark was able to handle these roads just fine, so I'm confident that pretty much any vehicle will be able to do so as well in any season. The wilderness boundary for the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness begins the equivalent of about 2 city blocks from the Bed and Breakfast, allowing for easy access to this remote wilderness while enjoying a nice bed and a warm room instead of having to backpack camp. Day trips into the wilderness are easy with self-issuing permits and boxes at the wilderness entry points near the house. We visited this Bed and Breakfast in late March. Even though there was no longer any snow in the Twin Cities at this point, there was still an 18" snow-pack at this location, making for some great snowshoeing on the trails and on the nearby, still-frozen lakes. A large network of amazing looking cross country ski trails started right outside their doorstep, including the famed Banadad trail. This was a great place to get away from the hustle of city life without having to "rough it."
Barbara and Ted were lovely and very hospitable people to stay with. We had Barbara's 3-course breakfast on two of the mornings of our visit. Barbara was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet and selected some lovely entrees and fruit dishes that I could partake in. Her cooking was delicious!
We stayed in Barbara's Suite. This room has a very practical kitchenette with a 4-burner gas stove and oven, a microwave, pots, pans, cooking utensils, and dishes. There is also a small fridge that is nicer than the standard hotel room fridge in that it has a freezer with a separate door to it, allowing your frozen items to truly stay frozen. We stayed 3 nights and prepared our own meals for several of our meals. Barbara's suite also features a nice living area with a flat screen TV and gas fireplace, making it very cozy to hang out in. There was no cell phone reception (at least for us with T-Mobile) or phones to use, but their Wi-Fi internet was surprisingly fast - about the same as what we have in the Twin Cities. This allowed for us to communicate with friends and family over Skype very smoothly.
This review asked if the property is "beachfront." The inn is not situated on a lake, but Poplar lake is quite close to it and the innkeepers have a boat dock on that lake.

Room Tip: Barbara's Suite has a practical kitchenette with gas stove and oven, microwave, and small fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdswider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted Y, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for the kind review. We really enjoyed having you as guests and that you enjoyed the Suite. We appreciate the comments about your visit and that you found the road accessible in the winter. By the way, we are on a lake and creek. However, you cannot see the lake unless you cross the bridge to the overlook. In the winter, this is a bit snowy though. We do not have a beach, but a dock where the rowboat and guest canoes are located. We will take a look at our description and make sure it accurately describes the view of the lake. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2016

Needed a spot to stay for a night to snowmobile the gunflint trail. Had an amazing trip! Barbara and Ted are some of the nicest people you will meet. Rooms are EXTREMELY clean and neat. And the breakfast they cook is top notch. Don't think twice, amazing views, amazing country, and you can't beat their price.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2016

Thank you for staying at the B&B. We really enjoyed having you visit. So glad that we had tons of new snow, so that you could get in your last rides for the season. Another great day on the Gunflint Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My husband and I stayed in "Little Ollie Cabin" this weekend! It was a Winter Wonderland! Absolutely beautiful! You did need four wheel Drive to get in and out of the cabin. But, It was so secluded and serene! We XC ski'd! Beautiful wooded trails! The cabin reminded me of the little rustic cabin I grew up going to in Bemidji when I was a child. Brought back great memories!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2016

Thank you for staying at the cabin. We keep plowing, but the snow keeps coming. So nice to hear that the cabin brought back happy memories for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We decided on Poplar Creek not accounting for the fact that the location is 30 miles outside of Grand Marais. At first, we were a bit disappointed as the magic of Grand Marais and Lake Superior have lulled us in.

Then we met Barbara and Ted.

Their hospitality, no frills approach, Barbara's cooking, Ted's humor, the secluded location, fellow guests, B & T's advice for us to find challenging hiking trails - if there's one thing we know for sure, it's that we WILL be back for a second stay.
Grand Marais is 30 miles away, a comfortable distance to drive for dinner, explore some of the shore line, immerse yourself in the tourist action, and then return to Poplar Creek, which becomes a sanctuary within an already relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - we stayed in Dorothy's room. If you have the choice though, rent one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindOfGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thank you for visiting Poplar Creek, even though you had to drive 30 miles more.
We like your comments about taking time to explore the area and coming back to the seclusion of the bed and breakfast. Hope to see you again.
Barbara Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

My husband and I had the privilege of enjoying a peaceful getaway at Poplar Creek back in July. We chose the Special Time for Two package, and were thrilled with the experience! Though the B&B itself appeared small at first sight, we found Ollie's Suite to be lovely and just what we hoped for. From the whirlpool tub to the fluffy robes to even a heart-shaped lavender bouquet above the bed, we were impressed. My husband even wished he could take one of the pillows home with him!
The breakfasts were delicious, and we enjoyed being able to eat them by the fireplace upstairs. Barbara and Ted were wonderfully hospitable, from offering us wine on the porch one evening to providing an appetizer tray, trail lunch, and canoe use (those three were all part of the package), to giving great tips on navigating the lakes and finding a good restaurant... we couldn't have asked for more. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thank you for enjoying our Special Time for two. It really is nice to have breakfast near the fireplace. I love lavender and am so happy that I can share that fragrance in the bouquet that hangs above the guest bed. Thank you for noticing. Ted and i appreciate your thoughtful review; and we hope that we see you again.
Barbara young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
33.5 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
33.7 km away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
299 reviews
33.5 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#16 of 32 in Grand Marais
6 reviews
21.2 km away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#3 of 32 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
35 km away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2314
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: €117 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Inn with whirlpool, fireplaces, and guest kitchens. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing