We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabins with rural charm”
Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy cabins with rural charm”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

West Glacier Motel is very clean and very friendly. If you are the sort of person/group who is looking for the sort of place that looks like a hotel chain, you need to keep searching. But, if you want to support the type of lodging the fits with the rural charm of the area, this is a great place for you. There was a small kitchenette in the cabin. There were two beds. We liked our stay there. We especially loved the fire pit in the middle of the small field.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
34
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Clean, pleasant, good beds, restaurant nearby, good value. OK, so the decor is a little dated, but clean and good beds rank high for us. Main motel is near Rte. 2 so we asked for a quiet room and innkeeper suggested "up on the hill". Well, the hill overlooked the river, had picnic tables, and other residents very friendly. Made for a fun time. Great value for the location..even gae a discount to restaurant next door with good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, In
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I felt like I was back in time, when I would go on vacation with my parents. Before the flat screens, wifi and air! We actually loved it when we were done. We sat outside in the evenings and talked to our "neighbors". In the area is a little restaurant, which had great food, a cute bar full in the evening of the local raft guides. There is also a gift shop, store and post office. A great base if you can't get into the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Neat and clean with newer shower stalls and sinks, etc. but tiny. Walls too thin, as I heard next door people talking while I was trying to sleep. Next door to good, simple restaurant and grocery. READ the guidelines when you check in or you may get charged for not following them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancywiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This place does have a convenient location if you are unable to secure a room at Apgar Village or Lake McDonald Lodge inside Glacier Nat'l. Park, since it's just 2 miles away. It's definitely no-frills--which is quite typical of rooms you will find inside the park. Rooms are small, clean, beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are extremely small and the shower is not great. No towel racks, which makes no sense to me. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two. The restaurant across the street is excellent with generous portions and a 10% discount if you are staying at this motel. Stayed at one of the cabins here several years ago, and they are much nicer than the motel.

Room Tip: Skip the motel and choose a cabin instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.6 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.7 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.6 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.5 km away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.9 km away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing