We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep trying, but not impressed”
Review of Vicki's Eatery

Vicki's Eatery
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Silver City
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Greek, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hearty BREAKFASTS (M-Sat) and Healthy LUNCHES (Sat & Sun) briskly served in the quirky environment of an old Elks Lodge. Local art is displayed. BREAKFAST features excellent eggs and bacon, sausage, choriso, & ham; Benedicts (with outstanding Hollandaise!), Meat and vegetarian quiches; homemade biscuits with country sausage gravy; our own corned beef hash; fresh squeezed orange juice in season and fruit bowls; and fresh baked cinnamon rolls. LUNCH features,fresh salads; grilled and cold sandwiches; homemade soups; Greek treats(Dolmas, Tzatziki, hummus and pita); fresh guacamole or salsa and chips; quesadillas;and wraps.Homemade DESSERTS include Greg's Famous Carrot Cake, Death by Chocolate cake,cookies and home-made ice cream.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Unfortunately the pickings in Silver City are getting slimmer and slimmer. Have eaten occasionally at Vicki's through many of their moves - And it almost always feels like a let down. We went again last Sunday at the behest of our guest, unluckily - he chose Vicki's for a Sandwich and on Sundays they serve only breakfast, all day. We opted to stay and have "brunch". There were 6 of us, and about 3-4 other tables, with one being a 12 top, finishing up as we arrived. The service was adequate, and friendly, but not stellar. The food came out fairly slowly. I had the country biscuits and gravy, which is a splurge (BREAD!!) for me. I ordered my hashbrowns burnt, poached egg medium. I was served "homefries" which is really just fried squares of potatoes - which should be fantastic but were tasteless and disappointing although it was a generous portion. I did not send it back because it had taken so long to arrive. The eggs were decidedly easy (not medium) - I do dislike snotty eggs. The biscuit tasted mainly of baking soda and was raw in the middle. I did eat around the outside, which was a bit more cooked. The gravy had a good flavor and the sausage was fantastic, both spiced and cooked well, crispy on the outside - no pink in the middle. I cannot address the other's meals, no one raved. The Mimosa's were served in a highball glass (so fairly generous) but 7$...which seems steep considering you can get them down the road for $2 on Sundays, but they tasted ok. It will probably take us another few months to return; and we won't do so on Sunday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GOODNSIMPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickis-Eatery, Owner at Vicki's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi GoodNSimple,

We appreciate your very candid feedback. Although we are disappointed your meal was not up to the standards we set, we will however, use this feedback in our next staff meeting with the cook and staff as an example of where we can improve things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Vicki's Eatery has great food, friendly staff and owners and is a great place to go if you are traveling with you dog. We had lunch and expected to sit on the patio, but they said it's okay to bring the dog inside. Fortunately our dog was on her best behavior on this day. ha ha. We had sandwiches and the bread was fresh and tasty. The owner brought out a piece of bacon for the dog and they also brought water for her. Again, super friendly folks, great food and very dog friendly, what more could you ask for?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickis-Eatery, Owner at Vicki's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi Adam W,

So glad you and your dog enjoyed your meal at Vicki's. We enjoy when our customers bring their well behaved pets with them for a meal.

Looking forward to when you stop by next time.

Vicki's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This little gem is very good!! Reasonable prices, great food, good service!! They even have gluten free bread! Very accommodating for someone with celiac!!

Thank melodyandjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickis-Eatery, Owner at Vicki's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Meloldyandjr,

So happy you enjoyed your meal at Vicki's. We strive to accomodate all of our customer's dietary requests.

Vicki's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Service was laid back and very friendly and the wait staff was very informative. The food was amazingly delicious. I will be moving to the area soon and cannot wait to make this a regular place of mine. The homemade desserts...carrot cake and chocolate cakes are to die for. The prices are very reasonable. There is indoor as well as outdoor seating. Lovely place for all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickis-Eatery, Owner at Vicki's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Brent C,

Glad you enjoyed your meal at Vicki's. The Silvver City area has so much to offer. Looking forward to you moving here and experiencing all that Silver City has to offer.

Vicki's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We were not pleased with the service - slow and inattentive and they weren't that busy. My husband had a pizza with toppings but it was mostly cheese. I had the Mediterranean pasta and that was much better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickis-Eatery, Owner at Vicki's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Tina1687,

Appreciate your candid review. Glad you enjoyed your Mediterranean pasta. Will address the pizza issue with the staff.

Vicki's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vicki's Eatery also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 

Been to Vicki's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing