We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring Brooklyn Bar by Bar”

Alchemy Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #356 of 6,663 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: US$14 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Alchemy Restaurant & Tavern is a friendly neighborhood pub in Brooklyn serving delicious new American cuisine, local draft beers, and crafted cocktails. Come to us for a low-key dinner and casual hang out with dishes like our Gorgonzola walnut ravioli, the house made veggie burger, or our classic Alchemy fish and chips. We offer a weekend brunch with entrees created using organic eggs from Lancaster County and organic fair trade coffee from Counter Culture Coffee. Try our eggs Benedict, the huevos rancheros, or our famous chorizo eggs with jalapeno grits. Our cozy restaurant has indoor dining with TVs by the bar and a large projector screen for special events. We also have a private back patio for you to enjoy those gorgeous Brooklyn days and nights with a group of friends, family, or your special someone. Your complete satisfaction is our top priority here at Alchemy. The dark wood, refurbished antique bar, exposed brick, & friendly service combine to create a welcome atmosphere where you can enjoy anything from a relaxed pint to a four course meal.
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for an old time bar, Alchemy is your place. The bar is old school, but offers a nice outdoor patio. The selection of drinks and food looked excellent although we only drank.
The craft beer draft is quite unique and the staff friendly enough to let you test the day different varieties.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank JBentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stopped at Alchemy for a post-theater dinner after seeing a play at BAM. I liked the look of the place, worn and woody, with locals chatting in couples and trios. My burger was well-made and delicious, with a scrumptious brioche roll (sometimes brioche rolls are a better idea than a reality for a burger). My companion enjoyed the trout, wine, a mixed drink, ending the evening with grappa. If we were local, this would be a place we'd frequent often.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachelRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We come here fairly regularly, mainly for brunch. Comfortable pub ambience, perfect portions, hearty meals with fresh ingredients, and truly delicious Bloody Marys (one of our favorite spots for these). Everything made with care. Corned beef is shredded. Salads dressed nicely, just right. Eggs poached well. Mac N Cheese gets a nice crust that cracks when you hit it with a spoon. Kids love the pancakes, thick bacon, and fruit. Enjoy. This is a great spot.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JunoC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Slam Dunk for this pub/bar/restaurant. Great white bean & barley soup, fish and chips, really good with house made tartar sauce. Good choice. Try the Saratoga lager on tap.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank mlb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Peeps in Brooklyn have no idea how spoiled they are by the number of great spots to just drop in for a beer or a meal. We visit regularly to see family, and discovering new eateries is always fun. This last weekend, our kids recommended Alchemy for breakfast. Sort of typical shotgun style building, nice bar, a row of booths and, in back, some smallish tables. We arrived a bit after 10, enjoyed an absolutely great breakfast. Mine was hash browns, topped by fried eggs topped by nicely sliced gravlax with capers and red onions. I "had to" also try the Bangers (deep fried link sausage, but in half and served in a small ramekin full of maple syrup. I mean, really. They were insanely good. The egg dish was also, nicely prepared and tasty, top to bottom .. My wife had the Toad in a Hole, extra thick sourdough (2 inches thick), scooped out center, dropped egg in the hole, surrounded by a nice sauce. Outstanding coffee and attentive service. It was the highlight of our trip. Go, you'll be happy.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alchemy Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing