We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
140
45
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
45
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor fresh fruit and bread each morning enjoyed our stay street parking subway stop sue victorian manhattan cereal comfort nook suitcases
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We spent two nights here. Sue, one of the owners, was a welcoming host. The bed in our room (third floor) was comfortable and the bathroom (down the hall) was certainly more than adequate. We liked the heated tile floor.

The breakfast she put out for us each morning was excellent. Some of the choices were fresh fruit and bread, a delicious cinnamon babka, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, two cheeses, oatmeal, juice, and coffee and tea.

We enjoyed our stay in this Brooklyn Victorian.

P.S. A suggestion for future guests: Because on-street parking on Rugby Road and neighborhood streets can become very limited by late afternoon and early evening, it's best to try to check in early. Park your car and thereafter choose to walk or call for Uber, Lyft or a taxi to get you to the restaurants on nearby Cortelyou Street. A subway stop (the Q line) is close for getting to downtown Brooklyn and Manhattan,

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Our 4-night stay at Rugby Gardens was lovely in terms of the proprietor and the extensive breakfast each morning. Sue was fun to visit with and provided a cozy breakfast nook and lots to eat.
The room could use some attention to comfort. We were not at all happy with the "honeymoon" mattress on the bed in the pink room. The bed needs a better mattress. Also less furniture in the room, luggage racks for suitcases, and less decor leaving more surface space for our provisions would help. The room needs windows that don't let in air when closed. The wind Sunday night rattled them while we slept. Hot water heat makes the radiator hiss and clank, too.
Bathroom has a nice heated floor, but is not private-- you share with the guest across the hall. Also, less clutter in the front entry and living room would make it feel more like a guest house.
The location was great for us, but it was just not comfortable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I needed a place to stay while visiting my son and his brand new baby.Rugby Gardens was right around the corner. Lovely Victorian house, full of art, knick nacks, books, and a sense of someone living there with a lot of interests and willing to share them. My room ,on the top floor, faced the garden and was very quiet. Sharing the bathroom with the occupants of the other room was not a problem. Breakfast was delicious, bread from the local organic food store out of this world. And to top it all, the two nights there were the two most restful nights I have had in a long time! Thank you Sue!

Room Tip: room facing the garden
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaberne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This was my second visit to Rugby Gardens B & B. I am so glad to have a quiet, convenient, comfortable place to stay in Brooklyn. Close to shopping but located in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are helpful and pleasant--happy to offer information if asked while offering a place to kick back and relax. Just the right mix. The two rooms share a bathroom on the second floor. While I prefer a private bathroom, this has not posed a problem. Great feature: heated bathroom floor! I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms are adequately furnished with comfortable beds, and a robe to wear to lounge about. One of the owners is an artist and there is artwork throughout the house that gives this B&B an eclectic and welcoming flavor. The rooms are up a few flights of stairs, so you need to be able to navigate stairs to stay here. Enjoy!
Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 319crystalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We spent 10 days with Sue Michael and son Max, and it was splendid/ They have a lovely house in Brooklyn and we were made so welcome We had a very nice breakfast each morning with as much tea and coffee as we wanted and plenty of choices to eat. We highly recommend The Rugby Gardens.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anita_stockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews