We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$149
US$101
View deal
SAVE US$48
Agoda.comUS$120
PricelineUS$120
travelup.comUS$149
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
115
138
115
46
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
115
138
115
46
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station pancake machine new york bagels short stay hie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Booked as part of a package deal with British Airways, chose as wanted to be close to friends we were visiting.

Upon arrival , told that no IHG points etc as not booked through their website and was placed in the basement.

Once we had completed the obstacle course of laundry carts we noticed a very strong smell of cannabis coming from the room next door. We would have complained but after travelling for 10 hours plus we just wanted to bed down for the night.

Smell had gone the next morning , but paper thin walls and noisy people in other rooms was another thing.

Breakfast was very basic, but it was free. Few places near the hotel where you could grab a bagel etc.

Housekeeping almost none-existant. Towels changed a couple of times , but the rubbish bin in the bedroom never emptied and by end of stay we had accumulated quite a pile.

Positives: next to Union Street subway on the R line , so downtown manhattan about 20 minutes away , free luggage storage.

Would you stay here again: NO

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2019

The hotel itself is okay- clean rooms (not too big, but reasonably sized), great breakfast (wide choice, good quality), good location (several subway stations and facilities nearby), but I'm afraid some of the staff (some guys are really nice though) at the reception should definitely need some training on how to treat people. Actually, the hotel made a mistake regarding our reservation, and instead of offering us compensation of any sort, we were treated in a terrible way on our arrival. It was a disappointment indeed: not only because the 3 of us ended up sharing a king-size bed for a night, but the least we'd have deserved was their apologies:(

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank EtelkaBuday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStaff625, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Thank you Etelka for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to NYC. Tristan Wilkins Front Desk Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

One positive...front desk gentleman was pleasant and got me on a top floor.
Closet sized rooms, no sound isolation, few HD TV channels and NO FITNESS CENTER!!! In 2019, NO FITNESS CENTER!!! If you want to save money, not sleep and hear your neighbor fart and snore this is your place.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank AirTravelSucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

What I would have expected for HIE.

If you are looking for something similar to the UK this is not in the same league as most UK ones but we did feel safe here and with many NYC hotels being very expensive this was the best for our budget.

Basic room but with the biggest air conditioning unit strapped to the wall right in front of the window. Unable to see out as the view was obscured so didn’t bother to open the curtains but would have found it claustrophobic if had had to stay in the room during the day. But as we used the room as a base only it didn’t matter.

Staff were happy to look after our cases as we arrived early and on our last day we left them after checking out collecting them at the end of the day to fly home.

We had emailed them before travelling about leaving our cases before and at the end of our stay and they were very quick to respond to us. So it was good to know we could do this before we arrived.

The room was clean but the bathroom door squeaked terribly and had to be propped open to stop it banging. We had a box of race tissues in the bathroom at the start of our stay but with only a few in the box they went quickly and were not replenished.

The room had a coffee machine which took pods. No kettle so we were not able to just boil some water to utilise our pre bought hot chocolate sachets.

Breakfast had a reasonable range of items lots of cakes and a pancake machine. It would have been nice to have had a bowl of freshly cut fruit but we only had a choice of bananas or apples. The hot choice for vegetarians was limited as on offer was a veggie omelette or a cheese omelette. Some baked beans or hash browns would have been nice. Despite this there was enough to eat.

Staff were always pleasant and offered us water each day which was much appreciated. This was one of the things that helped us have an enjoyable stay.

As an extra plus this hotel is situated very close to the local Metro so makes travelling uptown really easy!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Joolesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

We booked this hotel as part of the BA package deal. knowing that it was slightly cheaper than staying in Manhattan itself. But you do need a good hour to get anywhere downtown.
Most of the desk staff were pleasant and friendly, some of the breakfast and cleaners were a bit rude and not forthcoming.
The breakfast is good although as a vegan my options were very limited and I had to bring in my own milk because they said they would not provide vegan milk.

We were in the basement which was a shame as we had no views but the room had been renovated a bit- the bed was incredible! But still the hotel could do with a lick of paint and a refresh.

Overall it was fine for us to just sleep in and then get up and go into the Big City, it very much is a Holiday Inn Express so expect it to be like one!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStaff625, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services. Tristan Wilkins Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews