We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
40
10
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
10
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live jazz bed stuy fried fish dinner meet other guests bed and breakfast room was spacious subway station debbie brownstone peach hosts neighborhood bedford nyc cabs
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018

It was a wonderful experience. A great home in the heart of Bedford–Stuyvesant neighborhood in Brooklyn, 4 minutes from Nostrand subway station (A C line). Debbie and Eric gave me a very warm reception and the breakfasts were an example of good meeting with anothers passengers. The jazz nights were spectaculars, really magic situations. Good bathrooms and cool vibes. Thank you for everything.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I’ll try and write an honest review but it’s really based on your personality n perspective. The pros:

This place is in a historical part of Brooklyn and according to locals it’s cleaned up plenty. Still, if u are a solo traveler, the walk from the subway to the apartment can be a little unnerving especially after 10 pm. And cabs from town can be quite costly. So this means you have to plan your activities more judiciously.

The actual apartment was just a five minute walk from the A and C trains which take you almost everywhere into the heart of the city. So that’s really very good. And the neighbourhood has lots of stores, eateries and salons.

The rooms themselves are pretty comfortable and generally you get to meet other guests n get to share experiences which is good.

Now the downsides:

The owner is also part of a Jazz duo and they hold regular Jazz sessions on the weekends and some weekdays. Guests can join in too but if you’re not so inclined and are a light sleeper, you’ll be up till way past midnight.

In fact if you’re a light sleeper in general, a brownstone like this is not ideal. The floors creak, the walls are thin and the sounds from the street travel up quite a bit. I really struggled with this.

Also you really can’t expect instinctive, committed service. Even though breakfast is listed as part of the price, it really depends on what time the owner is up to make it. Quite often, the house is pretty quiet at 9am. And if you’re arriving very late at night or very early in the morning, you may not be able to get in if she’s not in or asleep.

Generally I feel the location and house itself are very charming (although the house really could use a sprucing) but there’s a good reason this is an affordable option in a very expensive city.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank candycane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I travel to NYC usually at least once a year. As i was on my own i wanted to be somewhere other than a hotel so that i could engage more with people. This was perfect. Debbie is an amazing host and we had such lovely chats in the time i stayed there. Plus the other guests and i sat around the breakfast table with coffee having great talks before heading out into our NY days. I love the feel of this house, it felt like another time and place. It was calm and serene. The rooms are large and sharing a bathroom was never a problem as there are several within the house. You are right next to the A and C subway to get to Manhattan..too easy. It is a lovely part of Brooklyn to walk around, lots of character on the main street and not too gentrified, which i really enjoyed. I can hardly wait to return with my partner.

Room tip: This house has stairs and no elevator. I was on the first floor up one flight of stairs and it was very quiet and serene.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank samsamjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

From the beginning we felt like we were family! Debbie and Eric welcomed us with such warmth! The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable! The brownstone jazz nights were truly a delight and were the highlight of our trip! Eric's descriptions of the neighborhood and jazz masters who lived nearby were fascinating! Debbie's breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! We can't wait to return and visit with our new friends!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel12201966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

1 minute after meeting Debbie and Eric, we felt like home. Loved the house, BrowneStone Jazz and especially breakfast round the dinner table with amasing Debbie, Eric and other guest. It was hard getting up from the chair and out into Brooklyn and Mahatten, because we had so much fun and good conversations. So nice to part the family and eating Debbies fantastic breakfast.
BrownStone jazz was why we choose the B&B, Debbie and Eric is why we defently will be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews