We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
39
10
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
10
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local musicians meet other guests breakfast table living room minute walk place to stay jazz debbie brownstone neighborhood ny train cabs
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I’ll try and write an honest review but it’s really based on your personality n perspective. The pros:

This place is in a historical part of Brooklyn and according to locals it’s cleaned up plenty. Still, if u are a solo traveler, the walk from the subway to the apartment can be a little unnerving especially after 10 pm. And cabs from town can be quite costly. So this means you have to plan your activities more judiciously.

The actual apartment was just a five minute walk from the A and C trains which take you almost everywhere into the heart of the city. So that’s really very good. And the neighbourhood has lots of stores, eateries and salons.

The rooms themselves are pretty comfortable and generally you get to meet other guests n get to share experiences which is good.

Now the downsides:

The owner is also part of a Jazz duo and they hold regular Jazz sessions on the weekends and some weekdays. Guests can join in too but if you’re not so inclined and are a light sleeper, you’ll be up till way past midnight.

In fact if you’re a light sleeper in general, a brownstone like this is not ideal. The floors creak, the walls are thin and the sounds from the street travel up quite a bit. I really struggled with this.

Also you really can’t expect instinctive, committed service. Even though breakfast is listed as part of the price, it really depends on what time the owner is up to make it. Quite often, the house is pretty quiet at 9am. And if you’re arriving very late at night or very early in the morning, you may not be able to get in if she’s not in or asleep.

Generally I feel the location and house itself are very charming (although the house really could use a sprucing) but there’s a good reason this is an affordable option in a very expensive city.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank candycane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I travel to NYC usually at least once a year. As i was on my own i wanted to be somewhere other than a hotel so that i could engage more with people. This was perfect. Debbie is an amazing host and we had such lovely chats in the time i stayed there. Plus the other guests and i sat around the breakfast table with coffee having great talks before heading out into our NY days. I love the feel of this house, it felt like another time and place. It was calm and serene. The rooms are large and sharing a bathroom was never a problem as there are several within the house. You are right next to the A and C subway to get to Manhattan..too easy. It is a lovely part of Brooklyn to walk around, lots of character on the main street and not too gentrified, which i really enjoyed. I can hardly wait to return with my partner.

Room Tip: This house has stairs and no elevator. I was on the first floor up one flight of stairs and it was very quiet and serene.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank samsamjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

From the beginning we felt like we were family! Debbie and Eric welcomed us with such warmth! The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable! The brownstone jazz nights were truly a delight and were the highlight of our trip! Eric's descriptions of the neighborhood and jazz masters who lived nearby were fascinating! Debbie's breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! We can't wait to return and visit with our new friends!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel12201966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

1 minute after meeting Debbie and Eric, we felt like home. Loved the house, BrowneStone Jazz and especially breakfast round the dinner table with amasing Debbie, Eric and other guest. It was hard getting up from the chair and out into Brooklyn and Mahatten, because we had so much fun and good conversations. So nice to part the family and eating Debbies fantastic breakfast.
BrownStone jazz was why we choose the B&B, Debbie and Eric is why we defently will be back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Sankofa is the place to stay If you want to taste the delights of Brooklyn life at it's finest. It's like stepping back in time with all the comforts of 21st century living. Debbie & Eric are the most welcoming hosts & friendly Brooklynites you're likely to meet. Fantastic breakfasts, very close to the Nordstrom A/C line metro (3/4 minute walk). homely living spaces, comfy beds & with Jazz sessions live in your living room on Friday & Saturday evenings. With the ebb & flow of people coming in & conversations with some local musicians its fantastic. If jazz ain't your thing the old brownstone walls keep it peaceful in your room. It is $20 for the Jazz but you get some lovely food (fried fish & slaw.....oh the slaw is to die for.) & what Debbie is doing for jazz in the area by keeping the sole of Brooklyn alive is well worth the $20 dollars. This 19th century building is a buzzing, living, breathing part of a community & it was magical to be able to share it with all the other occupants whilst we were there. Local amenities are v close by.
Debbie & Eric I wish you all the luck in the future. Be sure If I'm back to NYC anytime I'll be sure to look you up.
Greg.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank look4greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews