We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for New York”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My family and I found this hotel excellent value for our five night stay.
It is only a five minute walk to the subway which has good connections to all parts of Manhattan and beyond. Take the D line to Upper Manhattan and R line to lower Manhattan and the ferries to statue of liberty or Staten Island.
The room was a bit small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was free and had a good variety.
The only down side is the lack of any restaurants that look safe to eat at so plan to eat out at at one of the many excellent eateries elsewhere before returning.

Room Tip: Suggest away from the front and main traffic noise might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    68
    42
    3
    12
See reviews for
46
43
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Very good value for money. Don,t be put off by comments about the less salubrious location. We stayed for 8 nights and always felt very safe. A short walk to 35th Street offered many more choices for eating and supermarket shopping. The conveniece of the subway just round the corner was great. 36th Station is a express stop so travel to Manhattan was quite quick. Don't miss a walk in nearby Greenwood Cemetery. The hotel itself was clean, quiet and very comfortable. We had a back room and quite enjoyed the view. Windows could be opened to let in the fresh air. Breakfast was plentiful and was more than the continental advertised. The breakfast room can be very crowded but you could take your food back to your room if you wished.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, better view and probably quieter. Ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanetteken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I am a television producer who works for Discovery Channel. On Tuesday night, September 27th, 2011, myself and my two man crewed checked into this place. As soon as we drove up in our van, the man at the desk (Sunny) came out and rudely told us to move our vehicle. We checked in and immediately found all of our rooms smelled funny.

The rooms are tiny. In the morning, I discovered that our cameraman had found a bed bug in his bed and slept the night in our van. We told the staff we were leaving and checking out to go to another hotel. They immediately said we were booked for three nights and because our company had booked through an on-line service, our money would not be reimbursed. We left anyway. I eventually discovered that I had left my cellphone charger in my room. When I called the next morning and spoke to Sunny, he had no record I had even been there. No charger had been found and he said he would call me if it was found. I received no call so on the Thursday night we stopped by the hotel to see if they had found it. There the man at the desk was very very rude. He was on the phone talking to a friend and could barely summon the energy to deal with me. He told me to come back in the morning. I told him I wanted to go look in the room to see if my charger was there. He refused. I asked to speak to the manager, and he refused again. We began a loud shouting match. He told me that I had left it too long to come back for my charger. Finally, because I caused such a ruckus and refused to leave, he told me to sit down and he would let me see the room once he had dealt with another customer. We checked out the room, did not find the charger. And we continued to argue. He was awful. The worst hotel staff I have ever encountered. Both he and Sunny were surly and unpleasant.

Stay away from this hotel like the plague.

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here 4 nights for business purpose (originally we booked 5 nights but we left 1 day earlier coz this hotel is really bad!!). This hotel is far away from the city, near the industry area. The room is small, one of the room our staffs stayed was at the basement (open the window can see the carpark). The staff is impolite coz our staff called to my room but she didn't know my room number. The staff said he was very busy and blame my staff hasn't my room number!! Also, the most terrible thing is the towel is very dirty.

We never stay this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My friend and I spent 6 nights at the Comfort Inn and had a wonderful time. I was incredibly dubious by my choice of accomodation after reading various reviews but was instantly pleasantly surprised by the hotel! Perfectly clean, very comfortable well sized bathroom and bedroom for 2. Fabulous location for the subway that made it easy to get to wherever we pleased! One massive drawback - whilst packing we discovered a gift bought for a friend had mysteriously disappeared...and it was DEFINATELY in the room. Horribly disappointed and even more so by the unhelpful lady on the desk BUT even that would not deter me from visiting again as it was just too good for value!

Room Tip: A king sized room wouldn't be an extravagant choice and not one facing the street - slight traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKelly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
2.9 km away
The LOOK hotel, Red Hook, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
10.0 km away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#42 of 71 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 km away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
2.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
0.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Brooklyn Sunset Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn

Property: Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Address: 353 38th St, Brooklyn, NY 11232-2511
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing