We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
542
339
87
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
339
87
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmith streetchalkboard wallurban suiteboerum hilldowntown brooklynnew yorkbagelscontinental breakfastatlantic aveparking garagestreet noiselobby bargreat areafront desk staffcarroll gardensrestaurants and shopsfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The wife and I needed to escape from the kids and the suburbs! Spent two nights at Nu and really enjoyed it. We'd never spent any time in this part of Brooklyn, and there was lots to do. Nu is on the corner of Smith and Atlantic, and Smith is just one nice restaurant next to a nice bar, next to another nice restaurant. You could spend a couple of fun nights and not leave Smith street. BAM and the Brooklyn Museum are in the area too. So the location is cool and fun. Lots of energy in the area. The hotel itself is nice. Very clean, and a friendly staff. The room was decent size for NYC. Very modern design. Serviceable continental breakfast to start your day. Overall, a great weekend at a nice place to stay. I'd return for another "escape" weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Sounds like we need to create a package called "NU Escape!". Thanks for the great review. We are very pleased to have provided a little escape for you that was relaxing and care free. Please do not hesitate to reach me directly the next escape. We will probably have the package available by then! You can reach me at info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

All of us were from out of town or the area and attending my son's wedding. We stayed at this hotel and can only say that if you are looking for a really great experience, run by staff who truly understand customer care and service this is the place!. The decor is unique, and stylish, the amenites one would need are all available, but more importantly the staff goes above and beyond to do eveything they can to address any question, problem or provide services to help you reach any venue you need to get to. In an age where customer service seems to be disappearing rapidly, THEY TRULY EXCEED YOUR EXPECTATIONS! We plan to come back and this is diffinetly where we would stay. T.S. Connecticut

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel with a wonderful view from the 4th floor. Other traveleres were in the front and did not have the view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

THANK YOU for such a wonderful review. We're glad you noticed our efforts throughout your stay. We specialize in creating a true guest experience by showing genuine concern for their visit..without all of the Manhattan stuffiness :) Sounds like we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our stay at NU was excellent value. Very clean and soothing decor. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location and really great price for the area. Continental breakfast was more than enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thanks fo taking the time to write about your experience! Short, sweet and to the point. I'm pleased we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We work hard everyday to ensure all of our guests receive the same consistent quality service. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The service, atmosphere, amenities, cleanliness, accessibility of the NU Hotel are all exemplary. Great continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houston77006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Enough said with the title of this review! We have been trying to tell everyone that for years now :) Thanks for recognizing our efforts and spreading the word about our little secret in Brooklyn. Everyone will know soon enough! We look forward to having you back as our guest. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed for ten days at the NU Hotel in late November / early December 2011. It’s a lovely, low-key, laid-back, eco-friendly boutique hotel with fantastic staff. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi, breakfast (bagels, pastries, coffee, juice, fresh fruit salad), iPads and bicycles. A couple of blocks from the subway, where the A train gets you to Times Square in 25 minutes. It’s in a lovely neighbourhood, surrounded by shops, cafes and restaurants and less than a mile from the waterfront, with spectacular views of Manhattan. The only downside is the noise – not from the street (the works seem to have taken care of that), but internally – it is possible to hear people in the next room, and in the corridor. We were perhaps unlucky in that our room was opposite the linen closet, but were disturbed most mornings by the housekeeping staff. Maybe they could be made aware of that? That was the only downside, and I would happily stay here again on my next visit to New York.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuhotel85, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thanks for great review! We were pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience over all ten days of your stay. We know it can be a chalenge to maintain the same level of service over a long period of time and we're really excited that we rose to the occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise in the hallways. This is completely unacceptable and we will offer up no excuses. I have shared your comments with the Executive Housekeeper and will begin formal training on "library voices" while in the guest corridors. Thanks for the constructive feedback. We will make the necessary adjustments to ensure this does not become an issue again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews