We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Sandhill cranes galor!

We happened to be coming through the area during the sandhill crane festival. We had not planned... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Peach_412
,
Middletown, Maryland
Great place to watch the northern lights

Best place for Aurora viewing. We rented a car and sit for few hours and enjoyed the beauty of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kawaii40
Read all 444 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fairbanks
from US$95.00
More Info
from US$95.00
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
227
153
53
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
153
53
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boreal forest bird watching canada geese crane festival enjoy nature hiking trails nature walk nice walk bug spray birch trees visitor center worth a stop couple of hours dairy mosquitoes ducks wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

The man, who is also an artist, from the Park Service, was very interesting to speak with. He gave us lots of information about the Boreal Forest, the various birds which are still visiting in winter. He has great sketches he's done and is willing to show and share. An interesting stop on the way to hike in the Boreal Forest.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Pengirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

When I think about our day in Fairbanks, the refuge is right at the top of my favorites. We only had an hour, so we chose to walk the Boreal Forest Trail. It was so incredibly peaceful, with lots of yellow from the willow and birch leaves changing color. No admission fee; however, you can support with a donation in the Visitor Center.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank nancy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The backdrop of the old Creamer's field barns are spectacular for the many varieties of water foul that migrate there every year. I personally have gotten some excellent photos of birds in flight. A great place to just come out and sit and relax and watch the birds.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank theresamT4410XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

When I lived here this was our go to place. We could see the migrating birds and explore the many trails. The down fall to Alaska is the state bird (the misquote) if it is in the summer time stop off at an out door store and get yourself some repellent you will need it. If you are here in the winter time it is covered in nothing but white and is beautiful. A lot of people come here to do their cross country skying. In the winter time you are able to walk some areas that you have not been able to do in the summer time that is because the water is frozen over. This is a great place to take the family.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank williamcF5930WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I found this Park good for a quick trekking. There were a few birds, I expected to see more at this place.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank FernandoPersuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews