We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska Public Lands Information Center
Save
Review Highlights
Alone travel

What a great experience, from the movie theater playing constant movies, to the walk through... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Daniel N
via mobile
Part tourist information, part museum

An interesting stop in a town not overloaded with tourist activity. We spent an hour here and found... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2018
Nan K
,
Scotland, United Kingdom
Read all 30 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Fairbanks
from US$115.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
from US$140.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
22
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parks lakes movie alaska museum culture exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We visited the AK Public Lands Centers in both Anchorage and Fairbanks. This one is significantly larger. We watched several interesting videos and took about 90 minutes to walk through the exhibits. We could have stayed longer, but we didn't budget enough time. Our son completed a Jr. Ranger badge here. As always, a very nice, well put together, educational, and interesting National Parks center.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Like most tourist information centers this location has an introductory exhibit, many available brochures and knowledgeable staff. It's only a few blocks away from downtown and in a very walker-friendly area near Griffin Park and the Chena River bank.

Highly recommended if you are not travelling in an organized tour.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank poilippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is inside the visitors centre and has really nice displays of local history, land use, and information about local walks etc .

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

A wealth of information. Take a few minutes to watch the movie playing in the theater. It was a very good primer to the area's history. The displays are very well done and the information available there is comprehensive.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Staff in the information could not be more polite or helpful. There is so much in the Archives to view. Unfortunately, we were a little taken aback when we had to go through security to access the building. This is something we are not used to, although we understand the necessity of it..

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews