We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anthony's Town House
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$151
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$356
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beacon Inn(Brookline)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beacon Inn 1750(Brookline)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bertram Inn(Brookline)
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Longwood Inn(Brookline)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$229
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
47
20
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
20
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetspacious roomgreat hostsfront doordowntown bostonarthurbarbarakitschfloorlinerefrigeratorblockconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

It's nice, clean, quiet, and easy to travel even I got back late at night. The shared bathroom is very clean. The decoration is in an old fashion but it's ok, feel like a grandma's house. Keep in mind that this place is run by a family and they don't accept credit card. You have to send a check to make a reservation and pay full amount by check/cash as you check-in.

Just one thing, I stayed there with a friend and we are 2 females. The manager sent us to the 4th floor. When I asked if there's any room on the lower floor, his response is a bit rude like "you're young, you can walk!" (in a very impolite voice). But overall the place was ok and worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamwarnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had to visit the area to drop off our son who is in his 2nd year at BU. We usually stay at one of the chain hotels and collect our reward points but this time we decided to try Anthony's. Well, we totally enjoyed our first stay at Anthony's. The Victorean decor was really eye catching as we walked into the home. Our room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. The common areas within the establishment were spotless, very homey, and expertly maintained. Sharing the bathroom was not an issue or a concern. If there was someone else staying on our floor, we didn't know about it. We slept in a room facing Beacon Street and didn't hear a thing (ac on)! And across the street, everything you could possibly need, a great breakfast place, a nice market a couple doors down, and a Indoor/Outdoor Tavern just a few doors down from that. As the title of this review states...We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC10pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Being right on the green line metro Anthony's is well located for getting cheaply and quickly to anywhere in or around Boston. Brookline also has a couple of options for breakfast, a nice super market and several restaurants, all within walking distance. The place is clean with nice rooms. However, the owners seem to keep a low profile and although they are helpful when you ask, the welcome is less than overwhelming.

Room Tip: Just be aware that it is quite a haul up the top floor with luggage.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

A really nice place, clean, really convenient, close to both the city center and Cambridge. I stayed here for three months (while at MIT) and really had a great time. Arthur and Barbara are always nice. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucasime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The room was huge, a big plus when traveling with two teens. Yes, we did have to share a washroom with other guests, but it didn't happen often, as we had the floor to ourselves, and a bath and a half at our disposal. We did get to hear the microwave outside of our door beep quite often, as other guests were microwaving their breakfast for a meal in the courtyard every morning (it sounded like they were cooking a turkey in there), but this disturbance was minimal. Arthur and Barbara are perfect hosts, full of local information, and just extremely pleasant to be around. After parking the car (with Arthur's assistance), we purchased subway passes and didn't think about the car again until it was time to leave. Great location, lots of restaurants in the area, beautiful place and if we are ever in the area again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else--what a nice break from chain hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews