We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Staff was excellent, especially Marisa P on front desk, Theresa, in housekeeping and Latrell the best waitress in their Bistro! And we could not have navigated our visit without Michael Lenze's professional concierge services. Outstanding!

Our room was tired looking and in need of updating.

The spa was amazing, with highly skilled technicians.

Room Tip: Room with river view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank serenetravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 318 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stayed here in July. We stayed here one night. This hotel very spacious, but does not use the space to maximize its potential. It has a big open lobby when you first walk in, however you have to go up the stairs about 15 steps or take the elevator to the second level where the check-in counter is located. Which can be a bit of a hassle, especially with luggage. it is located on the river which was a plus. Our room had a nice Riverview which was very scenic. We loved watching the barges go by.
However, this hotel has been there for very long time and it shows. This place is in need of renovating. My bedroom was not as comfortable as the previous night which also was a Marriott brand on River Street. And also the room decor was very dated.

We went to the bar area which was horrible. The bartender took way too long to wait on us especially because it was not busy. She made one drink and took another 15 minutes to make the other! it was like she was looking for a book or something on how to make this drink. She did not know how to prepare a drink a very simple strawberry daiquiri, which was on their bar menu. When she finally made it, it was so sweet with too much strawberry puree, just awful! I got sick from it later that evening.

Nevertheless, this hotel needs to be updated that is the only way we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Guest Relations Manager at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Please know that we never want to hear that we have disappointed a guest, although from your review, I gather that you found our hotel in need of updating. I am sorry that was your experience but I am happy to tell you that we are anticipating renovations in the coming months! We certainly hope you will stop by and see our progress should your travels bring you back to the Savannah area. We would be honored to provide an exceptional experience for you and your guests. I also want to apologize for your dissatisfaction with the bar service. Our Director of Beverage Operations is investigating and will follow up with training and quality control measures. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention and thank you for choosing Marriott.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel, since I normally stay at smaller inns in Savannah when I travel there. That being said, I will say these observations:

1. The staff and service for a large hotel is the best I have ever seen. Seriously. The bellmen and women need to be trainers for all other Marriott hotels so everyone does it as well as this crew. We had 300+ people attend our conference there, all with heavy boxes and tons of luggage, and the hotel service, speed and efficiency outranked my best possible hopes. GREAT STAFF!

2. The management staff and banquet staff - particularly Jennifer - were fabulous at communication and customer service when we did have some issues arise. Great job at customer service.

3. The bar is great, the location is a bit too far down River Street for my personal taste but there is a water taxi that is free that takes people to mid-River street which is great.

4. If you want to eat at the restaurant (Blue), see my other review. I would recommend it for room service, but not for anything to-go.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Author_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

room 715 faced bridge. perfect for 2 or 4. balcony. wouldn't pay $30 more for river facing. ask for river view. higher up best. atrium view prb gets noisy. full bar. indoor and outdoor pools but r small. room was good size and had fridge in the cabinet but we were told it didn't have a fridge..... :) pillows are soft and awesome. beds firm but doable. coffee pot. desk. full length mirror. short walking distance to river street. of course river street very "touristy" and some cheap tv shirt souvenirs type shops mixed with nicer ones. wouldn't walk it at night from hotel though. first pic is our balcony view. second is the walk along river. third is balcony at nite.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank christy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Hotel needs some upgrade, parking is overpriced at $21 a day, breakfast need more choices, no hot tub on the property, not up to Marriott style, the bar was OK but the staff is very outstanding, close to restaurants and shopping

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chutch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Manager at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear chutch5,

Thank you for your feedack regarding your recent stay with us at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront. We are happy to announce that our hotel will soon commence renovations in the public areas followed by the guest rooms at the beginning on next year. Although or parking prices are $21/day, they are the cheapest rate for parking for guests staying with us since parking downtown is scarce and private. We are happy to hear that our staff offered that southern hospitality we are known for and that you found our location convenient for your stay. We hope that if your travels bring you back to our city, you'll be inclined to give us another try.

Andres Aguilar
Asst. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,133 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: €133 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing