We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,792)
Filter reviews
2,792 results
Traveller rating
1,815
768
144
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,815
768
144
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool valet parking hi express great location the river historic district within walking distance corner room free breakfast city garage bay st self park per day would definitely stay here again trolley stop front desk staff valet service
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,792 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing friendly morning breakfast served up by Faye Harris and her lovely team. Cannot imagine a more positive person than Faye! All the staff are extremely friendly and proactively helpful. Rooms are updated and well kept. Great view from the rooftop pool deck. A couple of minutes and you are on historic River Street for some of Savannah ‘s best food, nightlife and shopping.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a delight it was to read such a super review of your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District!
We are pleased to know Faye and the entire breakfast team helped make your breakfast experience so wonderful.
Great to hear you enjoyed your room, our rooftop pool area and all that our Savannah Historic District has to offer.
Sure sounds like a repeat trip is in order - come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

What an amazing adventure! Perfect location, extra friendly staff and super clean! The hotel staff even accomadated our last minute changes. The free breakfast was the perfect way to start exploring all that Savannah has to offer! We will be back!!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jbdtbdtood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for letting us know all about your "amazing adventure" with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District! Love to hear your found our location to be perfect, our team members to be friendly and accommodating, and our hotel itself to be super clean! So pleased your breakfast helped get your day started well too.
We are really looking forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We were finishing up our vacation in Tennessee and North Georgia and planned for a night in Savannah before headed home to Central Florida. We picked this hotel because of it's convenient location to River Street. Unfortunately we arrived much later than planned so the roof top pool was closed. We walked to River Street and had a couple drinks and some dinner at Wet Willie's before returning to the hotel.

The bed was very comfortable and a welcomed surprise after the last hotel we stayed at where the bed was like a rock. The pillows were very comfy too. One soft and one firm. The room was quiet but looked over the parking garage. No big deal. The bathroom was very nice. Stone shower with a glass pivot door. Never been to a hotel with a glass shower door. Very nice and updated.

I read great reviews about the breakfast but am always skeptical. This lived up to the reviews. It was continental style but with more than just pastries. I was intrigued by the pancake Maker. Never saw anything like it. Press a button and the machine does the rest. Cheese and veggie eggwhite Omelettes, bacon, turkey sausage, toast, bagels, English muffins, regular muffins, cinnabon rolls, cereal, juice and coffee. Also fruit and yogurt. The women working in the breakfast area were pleasant and definitely concerned about cleanliness. They kept the area spotless.

Also, I will comment on the parking since so many complained about it. If you are a frequent visitor to historical Savannah, you know parking is in short supply and deal with it. Now, this place does have valet parking for $20 a day, but we don't like using valet. There is a parking garage literally next door and it is $22 a day. Since we weren't at the hotel for a full 24 hours, we only paid $11 at checkout. I do believe that you have to pay each time you leave so if you plan on parking and walking everywhere or using the trolley (highly recommended), then use the garage. If you are going in and out a lot with your vehicle, then use valet, it may be cheaper.
My only bad comment would be that the AC just never cooled as I would like. I am post menopausal and like to sleep in subarctic temps. We really enjoyed our short brief stay at this hotel but we have found our "go to" hotel when we come to Savannah.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Florida-girl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your detailed and very important review of your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District! Your detail helps not only us improve our customer service, but it also helps your fellow Trip Advisor travelers.
We are just delighted you enjoyed your room, your bed and your shower! Love also that all the reviews you read about our breakfast and breakfast team met your expectations. And yes- how cool is that pancake maker?
We also appreciate your assessment of our valet parking - we do charge $22 a day for unlimited in and out service. We do have 3 garages nearby, one is next door where guests can send park if they choose. While it may be a little cheaper, you do pay every time you come and go. It really is a matter of preference, which s why we offer both options.
We regret your AC in your room did not keep you as cool as you like - we definitely will alert our maintenance team!
Thank you again for taking the time to share such detail with us, and for now considering our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District your "go-to" hotel!
Looking forward to hosting you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I stay at IHG properties almost exclusively and Holiday Inn Express is my favorite. This property did not disappoint. Friendly staff, comfortable room and breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, etc.

The location is downtown in the historic district and about two blocks from the riverfront. Most attractions of historical significance are within walking distance. There are restaurants galore close to the hotel.

There is a concierge desk in the lobby where you can get information and bookings on tours, attractions, etc.

Parking is at a premium in the area but the hotel offers valet parking with in and out privileges at a reasonable price. There is a parking garage next to the hotel but it does not offer in and out privileges and is a tad more expensive.

I will definitely consider staying at this property on my next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hank_In_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We so appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with \us about your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District! We love to hear about your brand loyalty and your kind words about our team members. Great to know you enjoyed your room, your breakfast, and our location!
So pleased you also took advantage of our concierge services and our valet parking - sure makes planning a lot easier!
We do hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Nice Rooms, great bed & bedding, very very helpful and friendly staff at all times of day and night. Easy check in and check out. Asked desk personnel, as we were going to dinner, for taxi at 6:30 in the morning to get to airport. We went out for dinner and when we came back the hotel person had already ordered the taxi, didn't have to ask again. Breakfast was good. Price is very good. Convenient location to the trolleys, riverboats and River St. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank riki42017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District! It sure makes us all feel great to know you enjoyed your room, your bed, your breakfast and our location!.We are also delighted to know our team members took such good care of you while you were visiting with us.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews