We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,914)
Filter reviews
1,914 results
Traveller rating
797
644
260
127
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
644
260
127
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moon pie rc cola krispy kreme donuts retro feel retro motel free popcorn retro theme great retro greyhound station historic district fun place to stay within walking distance close to downtown road noise downtown savannah bed was comfortable river street
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,914 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

All the staff were very pleasant and nice to talk with. However, with the "remodel" of the Inn seemed to be lacking for our taste. The outside décor was super cool and some of the décor in the rooms were nice. The chairs were cool, the bed was comfortable. The shower had an old shower head that didn't have much pressure and there was rust all over the drain. Not much room for moving around with the potty and the tub so close.
We stayed for four days and had to ask for towels as they didn't leave any after cleaning the room. The bed linen wasn't changed two of the nights we were there. The lobby always seemed to be messy and the popcorn machine as well as the lemonade were usually empty. The donuts and coffee were awesome though. As well as the Moon Pies and RC Cola (two of the days they didn't leave any in our room). WiFi was not working on our end of the motel either.
The most concerning experience of our stay though was the mugging of a young lady that we witnessed on Oglethorpe and MLK as we were walking back to the Inn from the City Market. The lighting isn't very good there and we definitely didn't feel safe after that.
We aren't ones to complain much and I'm sure had we done so, we would have had clean towels, sheets, RC Cola etc. as the staff was really great.

Room Tip: The East end of the motel is where the ice maker is and people are constantly filling up their ice buckets. Kind of noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobucks45640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

I'm going to reach out to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Arguably visit didn't start off best...long day of driving with some mishaps on the way in. Parking charge was a surprise but staff was super friendly to kid and dog, room was cool and spacious, and great dining in walking distance. Would totally recommend! Fun and kitschy. Great beer and wine on premises didn't hurt!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and our great beer selection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Cool little vintage motel remodeled and modernized while retaining the retro feel. Cute and kitschy, comfortable, but not fancy, so don't expect luxury. They leave mini Moon Pies on the pillow and RC Colas on the night stand. Free popcorn when you check in, plus free donuts, coffee, other breakfast beverages in the morning. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Location is slightly on the edge of sketchy, with announcements from the Greyhound station across the street audible. A little noisy when neighbors slam their doors. Walkable to several good restaurants (within five minutes) and River Street (if you are feeling adventurous) and a five minute car-ride to River Street (if you're not).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamia959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The "retro" Thunderbird Inn is quaint in theory, but it's really just an old motor lodge that has been somewhat remodeled but not enough. The hotel is located across from the Greyhound bus station in a not great area. It is also quite loud there, and the parking situation is not good. Spaces are too tight for an average size car, plus it's not the type of hotel that should be charging for parking in its own lot (7.50 per night). It's a very low budget hotel. It is also billed as downtown, but it is quite a walk from areas of interest. Bath tub looked dirty.

The staff are nice and helpful, the only major plus. The kitschy moon pies and RC colas are cute, and the Krispy Kremes for breakfast a novelty, but after the first day I would have preferred a standard continental breakfast, at least. Overall, I wish I had stayed elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank ESCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

I'm sorry we weren't for you. Thank you for giving us a try. As far as the parking fee... We offer the best rates in the historic district. A lot of our guest don't travel with cars so we offer a great rate regardless if you have a car or not. It's part of being a great value in a cool package.

regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Totally cool retro hotel with The Beatles and Elvis playing outside and in the lobby. The rooms were clean and comfortable - and well supplied with necessities and treats, like RC colas and moon pies :-) We didn't really care for the motion sensor light/fan in the bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff gave us a great recommendation for breakfast, while we enjoyed one of their Krispy Kream doughnuts. We did have to pay for parking, but you can leave your car there until 6pm, after you check out. Great atmosphere! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magickfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews