We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat it for value, kitsch factor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Cool little vintage motel remodeled and modernized while retaining the retro feel. Cute and kitschy, comfortable, but not fancy, so don't expect luxury. They leave mini Moon Pies on the pillow and RC Colas on the night stand. Free popcorn when you check in, plus free donuts, coffee, other breakfast beverages in the morning. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Location is slightly on the edge of sketchy, with announcements from the Greyhound station across the street audible. A little noisy when neighbors slam their doors. Walkable to several good restaurants (within five minutes) and River Street (if you are feeling adventurous) and a five minute car-ride to River Street (if you're not).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamia959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The "retro" Thunderbird Inn is quaint in theory, but it's really just an old motor lodge that has been somewhat remodeled but not enough. The hotel is located across from the Greyhound bus station in a not great area. It is also quite loud there, and the parking situation is not good. Spaces are too tight for an average size car, plus it's not the type of hotel that should be charging for parking in its own lot (7.50 per night). It's a very low budget hotel. It is also billed as downtown, but it is quite a walk from areas of interest. Bath tub looked dirty.

The staff are nice and helpful, the only major plus. The kitschy moon pies and RC colas are cute, and the Krispy Kremes for breakfast a novelty, but after the first day I would have preferred a standard continental breakfast, at least. Overall, I wish I had stayed elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank ESCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

I'm sorry we weren't for you. Thank you for giving us a try. As far as the parking fee... We offer the best rates in the historic district. A lot of our guest don't travel with cars so we offer a great rate regardless if you have a car or not. It's part of being a great value in a cool package.

regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Totally cool retro hotel with The Beatles and Elvis playing outside and in the lobby. The rooms were clean and comfortable - and well supplied with necessities and treats, like RC colas and moon pies :-) We didn't really care for the motion sensor light/fan in the bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff gave us a great recommendation for breakfast, while we enjoyed one of their Krispy Kream doughnuts. We did have to pay for parking, but you can leave your car there until 6pm, after you check out. Great atmosphere! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magickfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

The thunderbird bird is situated just a few hundred metres from the start of the historic area. The hotel itself appears to have had a make over and is now promoting eco sustainability. The rooms are spacious, but have little storage area, living out of your case is a given. The breakfast of doughnuts and coffee are good for a first thing in the morning. Parking is very ropey, as the parking spaces are unusually tiny. The parking you'll have to pay for separately to your room. Air con ok, hairdryer ok, bathroom ok. Our fridge didn't work, hey ho.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank no1ChipnDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This retro hotel had me from the minute I checked in. Having researched TA prior to booking I was not disappointed and one third the price of hotels in the same block. The music playing from the 60's really set the positive tone for me. The front desk staff were welcoming and always willing to help. Free Wifi, Krispy Keme donuts, moon pies on your pillows and RC cola. What more could you ask for. Housekeeping could use a boost in getting the rooms done, but still gave it 5 stars. I will be back.

Room Tip: No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank letscruise33914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
925 reviews
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
535 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: €121 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing