We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GEM close to the River”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The building was built in the 1850's, it has all the charm of a quaint inn. We had a corner room on the second floor. The room was large and very comfortable. The floors squeaked when you walked on, so great becase they looked like the original floors soo so cool. The folks that work there know their business and are very service oriented. Also they have a rise and dine for a small fee. Very worth the money, food was good.One time we mentioned we were going to Bonaventure and the desk person said dont follow your google maps there is an easier way and she gave direction that were super easy and perfect. The in is minutes from River Streeet and the historic district. If you are going to Savannah I would recommend that you stay here. PS some folks we talked to at the complementary wine and cheese gettogether said their room on the third floor was haunted.

Room Tip: 208 is a corner room, we were very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpyj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay! Friendly staff and comfortable rooms/ beds. Only place I've ever stayed that offered a nightly "turn down service". Coffee & lemonade were available all day. They offered wine & small snacks every evening. The Monday evening hostess was a joy. It was close to entertainment/ restaurants. We parked the car & walked everywhere. There is a trolley stop close by as well if you aren't a walker. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank misti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The staff were wonderful at East Bay Inn. really some very nice folks. Room was very nice as well, with lovely furnishings. We really enjoyed our stay.
A few things to simply be aware of: it's a historic building so you will hear quite a bit. We were on the first floor and could hear the upstairs room movements as well as neighboring showers running.
Booking.com NEVER alerted us to the $50 pet fee we had to pay, although the staff did provide a cute little goody bag for our dog, and they were VERY accommodating of him. Booking.com also never mentioned a $14 a day parking fee because more than likely you need to park in a nearby garage, as on-site parking is extremely limited.
All of this and taxes jumped up our bill $70, so its something to know ahead of time!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have street noise and upper floor sounds are present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1m9d7g5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I am a frequent visitor to Savannah, and East Bay Inn is one of my very favorite things about going there. The hotel has an awesome history, and the staff is consistently friendly and gracious. It is very conveniently located near River Street and the beautiful squares.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperEastBayInn, Manager at East Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Denise E.
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you enjoy your time with us.
Please come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The people that work there were absolutely the best!!! LOVED this hotel!!!! Thanks for always being willing to help me and my mama with anything that we asked!!! Jennifer was the best!! She was so sweet and willing to help me get the wifi on my phone! She reminded me of my family!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriffasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: €112 - €262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing