We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,257)
Filter reviews
2,257 results
Traveller rating
1,075
663
281
142
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
663
281
142
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river free ferry resort fee aqua star ferry ride ferry service midnight sun water ferry heavenly bed river street convention center beautiful resort runs every minutes hutchinson island a river view room high floor self parking
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,257 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here many times over the years and at one time was one of our favorite Westin’s. Our last two stays have been horrible. Our last stay in July we were only there for 5 hours due to the fact the suite we had booked for our family only had 1 bed with no other options. When we booked we were told it had a pullout couch for our daughters. Both website and front desk confirmed this. After many calls to front desk and being told repeatedly that the couch did pull out we were then advised that it did not. We ended up checking out at 10:00 that night to find other accommodations for our family. When checking out we were told that we would be refunded for our stay. Here we are almost 3 months later with no refund. After reading several reviews that echoed the same experience we felt it necessary to share our experience. Absolutely horrendous customer service was shown to our family.

My husband graduated from one of the top business schools in the country and is currently reaching out to his alumni network to see if he can do anything to have the current GM replaced so we can get back to enjoying a resort we used to think of as a class act establishment.

Many of the reviews here are a tell tell sign of poor management and leadership. There are many wonderful hotels in Savannah in fact after we left and told our story when checking in to our second room of the night we were treated unbelievably well by the new hotel and our issue had nothing to due with them but they went out of their way to make sure our night was not ruined by our experience at the Savannah Westin.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Jeffrey S,

Thank you for your detailed evaluation. We are sincerely sorry that our associates were not as responsive as they should have been in working to address your specific concerns, and that those concerns were raised in the first place. It is always our goal to follow up immediately and resolve everything to your total satisfaction. Your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit.

Be Well,
Mark Spadoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We've visited Savannah many times, but chose the Westin for the first time because of all the amenities... few of which we used due to lack of time. Rooms are average nice with a cool rainforest-type showerhead. Housekeeping never showed up one day, but it wasn't a problem. There is a great pool and nice hot tub with too many little children in it, but all the adults took pity on the poor parents and no one complained. Best part is the free ferry that shuttles you across the river to River Street and all the fun Savannah has to offer with no concerns about driving or parking. Great service. Worst part is the food at the hotel. Aqua Star, in particular, is way overpriced and not very good. Avoid it if you can. And there isn't 24-hour room service; the hotel was out of food at midnight with the exception of ingredients for 2 salads that we had to wait a couple hours and a few phone calls to have delivered to our room. No pizza delivery from the mainland at that hour either. Soooo disappointed. Final complaint: people were polishing the floors and vacuuming while we were trying to check in around 1 a.m. The lady at the counter finally asked them to take a break until we were checked in, but it took her a while to take that initiative. We were tired after a long drive, so just wanted to get to our room. As a Marriott rewards member, I hoped we might get a little better room for our troubles, but no. Oh well. We would probably stay here again, but would pack snacks and eat somewhere on River Street before heading home on the last ferry.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Janet B,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf & Resort. We are pleased we met your expectations for an overall enriching stay. Regrettably, your experience was not good at our restaurant. Your feedback is valuable as it gives us the scope for further improvement. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area so that we can provide you with the perfect stay you deserve.

Be Well,
Mark Spadoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Great pool area. Family friendly even though I was here for a conference got here on Sunday a kids were having great tume, theres a pool bar, not open during week in October. Conference facilities were good. Food was surprisingly good! Room is average - nothing special; king bed was nice. $30 day to upgrade for a river view...totally not worth it. Housekeeping cleaned room every other day...go green! Staff were all nice. Being on the opposite side of the rivwr from downtown was kind if a pain...nothing here except hotel. Water shuttle is free but would have preferred to be downtown to walk around whenever vs boat ride. Overall good place but probably wouldnt come back on my own dime.... I’d rather be downtown.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank E8656UCjenniferh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for staying with us at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf & Resort. We are pleased we met your expectations for an enriching experience. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Be Well,
Mark Spadoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

A very poor stay. The purpose of this note is not that the stay was bad but more on the lack of attention management took after the fact.

This hotel allows animals which are restricted to certain floors which was not my complaint and have no problem with. My floor was not one of those. However when the adjacent room left a barking dog into the wee hours of the night this did not sit well.

An email was sent to the manager of the property about the incident which went unanswered. 2 weeks later another was sent to follow up thinking the first may not have been received. It too has gone unanswered.

As someone who travels for a living i suppose I was hoping for little professional courtesy. Maybe that’s not something pracriced in the South.

If traveling to Savannah, I would recommend staying at one of the Marriott properties on the town side of the river. Much friendlier staff and parking is waived if a Platinum member. Not the case at the Westin.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank csmith191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear csmith191,

Please accept our apologies for not giving you the treatment you are entitled to receiving. We would like the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail. At your convenience, please send an email to my assistant, Anne Bone, at anne.bone@westin.com with the full name on your reservation. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the excellent hospitality and accommodations we are known for.

Mark Spadoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel by far is the best and cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff(every one I came in contact with) was the friendliest and most professional I have ever encountered! The beds, the linens and pillows were exceptional!!!! I would definitely recommend!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meason69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear meason69,

Thank you for recommending The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa to future guests. Our devoted associates provide authentic, thoughtful service, so it is always pleasing to learn that it is making a difference. Also, we're glad that you loved our inspired accommodations with famous Westin Heavenly Bed®. Thanks again, and we can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you both back very soon.

Be Well,
Mark Spadoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews