We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at The Black Olive 2/16/12, and absolutely loved it. This is such a charming, quiet, and very clean hotel. The room was beautifully decorated with local art and live plants. The bed was extremely comfortable in a spacious bedroom, separate from the living and dining area. We appreciated the free bottle of Greek wine and eco-friendly toiletries. The market has scrumptious fresh baked bread and Greek olive oil, not to mention awesome coffee with organic creamer. Staff were exceptionally polite, helpful, and professional. We have plans to come back very soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Elizabeth S:

Your charming stay at the Inn is exactly what we strive for with every guest, and we are very happy you loved your overnight stay here. We thank you for your kind words about the room, the market selections, and the staff. Your detailed explanation of the rooms truly accentuates every aspect as it truly is.

We are very happy to hear you plan to come back and stay with us again soon, and if you need any assistance in planning, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    38
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
60
178
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

A night to rejuvenate at The Inn at The Black Olive was just what the doctor ordered. The staff were so kind and generous. They even opened the market after hours for a midnight chocolate craving. They made you feel like part of the Black Olive family. The fantastic aromas of olive oil, garlic and lavender circulated the building making you feel like you were transported to a different land. We were so impressed with the fact that the hotel takes into consideration the environment and the use of all organic and renewable resources. We couldn't have asked for a better nights stay. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the close by Inner Harbor and Baltimore skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snovotny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Greetings snovotny26:

We are glad your night of rejuvenation was such a relaxing success. Our goal is to make sure every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable time here at the Inn. I wanted to thank you for your gracious words and detailed experience in regards to the fantastic aromas that were able to transport you to another land. Our mission and vision helps us recreate a Mediterranean like experience right here in Baltimore.

We are always happy to hear when a guest leaves that they were impressed with our green concept without loosing any sense of Luxury. We strive to collaborate the two which is so thrilling to hear when a guest notices and appreciates the concept.

Please let me know if I can be of any service to you in the future.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manheim
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Neat little hotel in Fell's Point - organic, trendy, environmentally friendly

Parking was great - in and out for free all day - we did not use since we walked but was great.

Front Desk - attentive and friendly

Meals - breakfast - the 5th floor dining room seemed a bit unprepared for our arrival but the food was good.

Agora market and the smell of fresh bread was awesome.

Overall service was great considering the size of the hotel - I called for cream for coffee - it arrived so quickly. Door opened arriving

Bed was the greatest of all time and the spa was very great!

Only "complaint" and I use that term slightly - the geothermal heat could not get the room to the appropriate temperature - set thermoset at 80 - room was like 72 and the floor had some cold spots.

Would stay again -

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
PRFScott:

Thank you for your recent review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at The Black Olive. We are happy we were able to host your belated Valentines Day getaway and glad you enjoyed everything we have to offer.

I wanted to apologize for the mishap with your room temperature; we wish you had informed us so we could have taken care of it for you. Anytime a guest has a issue we take it extremely seriously and try to prevent the next guest from encountering the same problem. So our resolution to the thermostat/temperature issue is as follows: we are creating a small sign to put over the thermostat module saying ‘if the room temperature is not coming to a comfortable state, please call the concierge phone and it will be remotely taken care of’. We do have the ability at the front desk to log into the thermostat and change the temperature and humidity level of each suite individually. Again we do appreciate you professional constructive criticism and glad to hear you plan on returning.

We look forward to having you return and please don’t hesitate to contact me directly for assistance in accommodations or services.


Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I recently traveled to Baltimore, MD to have surgery at Johns Hopkins. This involved a seven night hotel stay. We chose The Inn at The Black Olive, where we had stayed on a two day "get acquainted" trip to the hospital. The Inn is brand new, but it had a very homelike quality. We were drawn to the hotel's "green" claims, all of which were true. The organic bed had my wife raving about the best sleep in years. Even more important was the hospitality ethic that was shared by every employee we encountered. There was nothing they wouldn't do to enhance our stay. I returned to the hotel after 36 hours in the hospital and was "Welcome Home". I never felt so glad to be in a hotel. We had a suite the allowed me to comfortably convalesce without being in bed. The staff constantly offered to bring meals etc. up to me. Before the operation my wife and I were easily able to walk all over the Fells Point district, take the water taxi around the harbor, and walk to a wide choice of great restaurants. And it was a very short ride to Johns Hopkins. I heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Baltimore. And they were very willing to meet our needs on rate.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to one of the larger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear kennethgordon:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and kind hearted review and share your home away from home experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. We are very happy we were able to make you feel so welcome at our Inn, and are excited you were able to notice our eager and enthusiastic hospitality ethics.

It was our pleasure taking care of you while you stayed here in Fells Point and also assisting you with your recovery from Johns Hopkins.

Please let me know if I can be anymore assistance to you.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Recently I took up the opportunity to stay at the newest addition to my favorite part of Baltimore - The Inn at the Black Olive in beautiful Fells Point. I am a Baltimore native and was so happy to be warmly greeted in this super clean, open, and aroma rich building that had a very Mediterranean feel permeating from the moment we walked in. The cafe allowed for a quick browsing of wines, a sample of hummus, and a nice place to get adjusted before heading to our room.

The room was very large. The open spaces, the art on the wall, the music that was playing when we entered were all chosen with taste and our comfort in mind. The bedroom was private, quiet, and had a bed that trumps all other beds! The bathroom was equally spacious with a tub that resembled a small pool and a shower that (as a guy I take shorter showers) was hard to get out of because it was so luxurious.

I have stayed in many of my hometown hotels and B&Bs, and without a doubt I will no longer be needing any of those places because I'm nominating the Inn at the Black Olive as my dream home away from home.

Room Tip: the corner suites have an awesome view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Steve C:

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extravagant review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your compassionate words about the staff, the room and the market means a lot to all of us. We take a lot of pride in our building and the luxurious amenities that are in each Spa Suite and love seeing someone boast about it and acknowledge our hard work and dedication to a perfect experience for every guest.

We are looking forward to having you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Ryan M. Salamon

Director of Customer Relations

E:Ryan@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#8 of 63 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 63 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Little Italy
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
Pier 5 Hotel
#14 of 63 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Property: Inn at The Black Olive
Address: 803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing