We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Spectacular Romanesque Church designed by renowned architect Richard Upjohn

This church is a Baltimore "must see". Founded in 1692, its one of the oldest churches in... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2016
DevelopmentWorker
,
New York City, New York
Glass doors

I wanted to visit this church, but for some reason it was closed when I arrived. One good thing... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2014
DanielHenrysson
,
Karlskrona, Sweden
Read all 8 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Baltimore
from US$92.97
More Info
from US$15.00
More Info
from US$23.99
More Info
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I wanted to visit this church, but for some reason it was closed when I arrived.

One good thing about the church is that the doors is see through, so you can actually peek inside without being in the building.

I could even take a few good photos. Too bad I couldn't see the whole church.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank DanielHenrysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A lovely sanctuary in the heart of the city.... Love the ambience and the music. Two services on Sundays... And a great adult forum with topics that range from exploring the Gospel to exploring art and music with experts from nearby cultural institutions such as the Peabody Conservatory of Music and the Walter's Art Museum. Children welcome in services, but the is a special children's service during part of the main 9:00 service. Child care for the youngest during services and education hour.

By the way the church has a truly historic past and its old cemetery near the U Maryland hospital is like a walking who's who tour of early 19th century Baltimore... Revolutionary War figures, War of 1812 folks as well. It is not generally open to the public, but if you are interested and phone ahead, you might be able to take a look.

Do check the church website... The church building will be closed this summer (2013) to do a massive interior paint job (exciting to see how this old beauty look when it is is finished.). While the church is being painted, one service will be held at 10 am in the nearby Tremont Grand.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank xandersmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I liked everything about this church. Music wonderful; old church beautiful and fascinating; sermon interesting and short. You don't have to be Episcopalian to love this church: all welcome.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank MaggieP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stumbled on this gem last Easter. The music was amazing - and they do the sing-a-long Hallelujah Chorus to end the service.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank Jenifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had a pleasant tour through the church. If you plan a day of sight seeing, I would include this as part of the tour. I would not make a special trip alone to go see the church. It is interesting and historical.

Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews