We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Fun!”
Review of Atomic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atomic Motel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Reviewed 13 February 2018

The Atomic Motel is clean, great beds, wonderful prices and within walking distance of Three Cups for coffee, SubWay, The Pig and The Pancake! And they provide snacks and good beer! What a great place!

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

Clean, fun, friendly, affordable, great location, pet friendly and great staff! Stayed here when it was the Lamplighter and love how they remodeled it into a retro vibe with fun decor. Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I have stayed at this pet and people friendly Motel numerous times but my last visit after the renovations was beyond expectations. The lobby has been transformed into a mid century modern gem close to the heart of town! There was micro beer and small snacks and the managers are always so nice to visit with. This Motel is affordable and the rooms are very clean. I'm looking forward to summer when I come back so I can utilize the bike cruisers to ride into town.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank aratacheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We work in Astoria often and stay overnight sometimes. This time we decided to try the Atomic Motel. I'm glad we did! It was full up the night we stayed while other motels in the same vicinity were seemingly empty and for good reasons. First, the people in charge are exceptionally friendly. They have coffee cake in the snack area both in the evening and at breakfast and a nice pot of chili for diner as well. Other items are offered for breakfast as well. the rooms are super clean, cozy and nicely decorated in the "atomic" theme. It's close to restaurants and the rates very competitive. I would definitely repeat!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We like retro stuff. The Atomic Motel seemed right up our alley. If you’re looking for top of the line luxury accommodations, don’t stay here. If, however, you like a smidgeon of kitschy, great location, and easy-on-the-pocketbook, stay here! It’s clean and comfortable. It’s simple and provides the basic necessities. No coffee maker in the room (get over it!) but they do offer it in their lobby. We got great referrals for breakfast (Labor Temple) and dinner (Silver Salmon), which are much appreciated when visiting a new place. In short, we’d definitely stay here again. Give it a try.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BCGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.5 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,279 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.4 km away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
312 reviews
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.7 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atomic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atomic Motel

Address: 131 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6004 (Formerly Lamplighter Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: €50 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Atomic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun mid-century modern hotel. Step back in time with us. Hang out with Dean Martin in the lobby, enjoying micro-brews and chips and salsa. Seconds away from the Astoria river walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Atomic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing