We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
72
60
34
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
60
34
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clam chowder room was clean modern theme donuts and coffee fun retro reception room local things complimentary chips overflow parking mid century cable box hear noise wifi worked great buoy beer company free beer front desk lady paint job
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Being a local gal in Astoria, I can't tell you how fun and exciting it is, to watch the former Lamplighter turn into the cool hip Atomic Motel. The quaint 50's decor takes you back in time with Mr. Frank Sinatra, and Dean Martin ( cut outs) there to greet you! I love how friendly, caring, and welcoming the new management Barbara and Dan are. This funky motel gets better, they offer soup, chips, salsa and micro brews. I highly recommend staying here, you wont be disappointed in the Atomic's hands. Thank You Barbara and Dan for allowing me to see the transformation.
-Let the good times roll-

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid- July. Funky 50s decor. Some updates appear to be still in progress. Close to the shoreline. Surprising and delicious free breakfast pastries available in the morning!
Decent for the price :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank YogaTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This little motel has recently been revamped into a darling 50s theme
LOBBY has a beautiful wood floor and comfy chairs and table for morning coffee and donuts and huge bowl of fruit..instant oatmeal even.
Room 113 was clean, carpet looks new or recently cleaned, thick white towels in the spotless bathroom. TV, fridge, and microwave too. Bed is comfy and pillows big.
On a busy street, so keep windows closed to cut noise and listen for the fog horns off the large ships in the nearby harbor that are passing under the Columbia River Bridge.
Barbara at reception is cheerful, fun and enthusiatic...she is a keeper.
Thanks Atomic AKA Lamplighter
Susan

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srhallrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

This motel, I am told was recently known as The Lamplighter. It now has been totally renovated. This includes furniture, bed, and wall decor. It is now decorated in a wonderful 1960's theme. My first treat was to see Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin, two wonderful full size cutouts in the the lobby. While I was in the lobby having complimentary chips and beer, I got to watch old movies on their big screen TV. Their office employees were extremely helpful concerning local things to see, and I even was helped with finding out the local clam tides! Pig and Pancake, the restaurant is right next door, and the motel is very close to downtown Astoria, as well as the Oregon coast just a few miles away. If you want a fair priced motel, nice employees, and a unique nostalgic environment.....this is the place!
Thanks for great stay. Jim Mattila

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Stopped for the night in Astoria last week and usually target a motel reasonably inexpensive but not the cheapest. I am OK with older properties if well kept and can excuse some issues. The Atomic seems to have been rehabbed a bit and repainted. I informed staff that a couple of the drains were backed up as most folks probably just leave without telling anyone. Besides that the room was fine and clean. The trim in the bathroom was a little shoddy. Heating baseboards rusted. Front door cracked and old though painted. None of the above was off putting for me as a solo traveler who had been in a sleeping bag for a few nights prior and seeking a shower, some TV viewing, internet connectivity and a good night sleep. I slept well and had a nice continental breakfast in the morning. Coffee was excellent for a change.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jg001598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews