We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
104
86
24
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
86
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom coffee shop street noise private bath overnight parking provide fans downtown astoria free beer third floor quaint hotel corner room hotel lobby great coffee small room other guests comfortable bed a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I needed a place to stay for 2 nights while working in Astoria. The rise in prices of hotels in Astoria has been remarkable but I found that the Commodore was still reasonable. It's in a beautifully restored building and each of the rooms is simple but very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms down the hall are super clean and easy to use, especially the showers. The clerks - very friendly and welcoming plus the location downtown is great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The Commodore Hotel was perfect for our one night stay during a road trip up the Oregon Coast. We had thankfully read the reviews before booking so we knew to book a room with a private bathroom and that we'd have to pay for parking ahead of time. Check in was simple and the parking was easy, with a reserved spot in a nearby lot where we were directed upon arrival. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate, clean and well-maintained. There was no AC but we didn't mind as it was 60 degrees outside and there was a nice breeze. From our room (309) we had a beautiful view of the Columbia river and the waterfront as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they had free beer on tap in the evening as well as free coffee in the morning. There's also a lovely little cafe on the other side of the lobby with great coffee and good breakfast. The hotel is in a great location, right downtown and walkable to many restaurants, shops and bars. Great value for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Room 309 has a nice river view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This is an old hotel that sits in the middle of downtown Astoria. We were there during Labor Day weekend so we were able to park on the road for free. The hotel chargers $10 a night if you'd rather choose that option.

Room
Our room was ok. It was very small, like we figured it would be. We shared a bathroom and shower with other people. The facilities were kept clean throughout our stay. There is no ac in the building. They provide fans in the rooms and a window that opens.

At the front desk you can borrow dvds to watch in your room. We borrowed the goonies and kindergarten cop. The tv in the rooms have DVD players. I thought that was a nice bonus.

The hotel is within walking distance to the river walk where we found sea lions and some good food to eat.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jencatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Great little hotel. Loads of charm. Lovely layout. The attached restaurant is a nice bonus, and has good food to boot. Love the DVD library. We had a suite, and the view was tremendous. Only complaint was the truck traffic. No A/C here (none needed) but that means the windows were open overnight...and the trucks can get a little noisy going by the hotel. Just the reality of the location and the configuration of the hotel. Nothing for it. But a nice stay overall, great little place, breakfast was excellent, etc. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank terrence67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoreAstoria, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback.
Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Was a nice place, quaint, in a good location, enjoyed the atmosphere. I gave a poor rating because there are 2 single bathrooms on each floor, someone threw up in the men's toilet and it wasn't cleaned or unclogged for 3 days.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoreAstoria, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks for your review.

I am dismayed to hear that we missed something for so long.

Our housekeeping staff generally cleans and stocks the shared bathrooms twice daily, and front desk staff checks and spot cleans these facilities another three times each day.
That surely should not have gone unaddressed for so long.

We did have a breakdown that required a visit from a professional contractor that took a few days before they could get on-site ... but what you are describing sounds like something different, perhaps.

Many apologies, and thanks for the feedback. I will do everything I can to make sure this sort of thing does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews