We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
105
87
24
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
87
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom coffee shop street noise private bath downtown astoria free beer provide fans third floor quaint hotel corner room hotel lobby small room great coffee older building other guests a great stay one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016

They have done a clever job of remodeling and restoring at the Commodore. It's very inviting from the very beginning with the mellow lobby with its vinyl music, fireplace and comfy seating. The rooms are super clean as are the bath/shower facilities. The service is very nice as the people at the desk know a lot about Astoria and what there is to do. The price is nice and its right downtown where all of the restaurants are as well as shops and more.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are a bit quieter than facing the street.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanW440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A welcome break from chain hotels. Excellent location, great ambiance, superb staff, fun place. The bedding is wonderful and would stay here again. On a driving trip through Oregon, The Commodore was definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Location! Wonderul bedding and so clean! I booked a room with a shared bath. The room has bath robes in it so you don't have to find clothes to go to the loo. The guy at the front desk on the morning of Friday the 14th was awesome! Sorry I didn't get his name. I will stay here again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank lUSHESPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed 3 nights in the refurbished hotel. Good downtown location to do River Walk and walk to many excellent restaurants. Views of main downtown streets but that's fine based on the price. The front staff is excellent with all sorts of knowledge on restaurants, maps, and fun site seeing spots. The restaurant connected to the hotel is excellent with a focus on fresh, local, organic food. Gladly paid extra for milk from the local pasture raised cows. The Park Ranger presentation at the Lewis and Clark State Park was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The Commodore Hotel is a stylish place, yet cozy and friendly. Staff was very welcoming and offered us a 20$ upgrade as rooms with private bathrooms were available. Still we rejected the offer. The room was very cozy and clean. It was small, so if you need more space you might ask for a bigger one or consider another place to stay. But it was perfect for the little price we paid!

There is a little sink in your room and the hotel provides morning gowns for your way to the shared showers. There are two of them on each floor. Also there are two shared restrooms on each floor, one for the ladies, the other for gentlemen. The facilities were clean.

I got a little welcome beer for free and we were offered DVDs or records we could borrow for our room. I don't remember exactly, but I think the service was free as well.

I would totally recommend this place. It's a real bargain and we felt very much at home.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews