We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travel with friendly staff and security!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Such a pleasant surprise to be welcomed by Juan and then upgraded by Mario after a long day of work and airport fun!

It's a quick 20 minutes from Newark, and a reasonable uber fare. The room is quiet, clean and comfy.

The most delightful surprise is The Primavera restaurant on the property is OVER THE TOP delicious and at 9:15pm they didn't mind that I plugged in my laptop to catch up with my work! The bar tender, America is serious and charming and Jose just kept bringing out the delicious food! Their homemade bread, house salad and bowl of soup are amazing!

HIGHLY recommend this hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Cathleen G,
Thank you so very much for posting this wonderful review of yours on TripAdvisor! I'll be sure that Mario and Juan are thanked for their hospitality as well!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

.....it is a very noisy property. We were located on the first floor, and it was very noisy. I can understand hearing the breakfast room----I can understand hearing people walking by---what I can't understand is staff members calling back and forth to one another from the lobby to the hallway after 11PM at night. There are several signs located on the first floor requesting that people be considerate and not be noisy. I didn't hear too many patrons being excessively noisy---it was staff. Otherwise, it is a beautiful, well-apportioned place to stay. It's an easy walk to several restaurants, or there is a restaurant on site. We would have eaten there but there was a function going on. The breakfast was very good---many choices, and the hot food was hot. The room was spacious and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: I don't know about the noise on other floors, but stay away from the first floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear marigail,
Thanks for posting your review. I can't believe we missed a "5" on this one! I am really sorry about the noise. Unfortunately this is a bit typical for most hotels on Saturday nights because of the weddings and parties taking place. I would suggest anyone using TripAdvisor to check the "room tips" section for hotels you may books at. This may have been prevented had you been aware and requested a different floor. I have investigated this and I really can't imagine anyone on my team yelling...we really have better etiquette
than that. If you have some specifics I would love to hear them so I might address the issue. Thanks for your comments! We ARE listening.
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

after attending a morning wedding the guests were asked to join the newlyweds back to their hotel, The Wilshire Grand Hotel. After a couple more drinks then expected we decided to stay. One of the guests had had a family emergency and needed to cancel their room, the concierge advised them the best was half a return on the $200.00 room. We then took their room to spare them the expense. The room was a king with a pull out couch, large and clean. A roomy bathroom is always a plus. Unfortunately the open breakfast was a disappointment. the area was dirty and some anemities empty. The employee seemed bothered by the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianeCT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear DianeCT17,
Thanks for posting your review. I'm sorry you felt the breakfast was a disappointment. I'm not sure what time you got there but I would love to speak with you to discuss more of the specifics. I can be reached on my direct line 862-252-8440 if you'd be kind enough to speak with me directly.
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This was my second stay at the hotel and since I was traveling alone I knew it would be a good choice due to the friendly welcoming staff in the lobby, the assistance I received on my last stay, and the clean comfortable rooms. This trip was no exception and Larry was very helpful and knowledgeable. I should mention the location of the hotel is nice and the area is quiet but you are close to many places you might want or need to go. The service really makes a lasting impression and I plan to return next time I am in New Jersey

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank julianamarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear julianamarie1,
Thank you kindly for posting your review on TripAdvisor. My team and I truly appreciate it and I will see that Larry knows he did well by you.
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I'm getting married in 2019 and although it seems far,
I felt that I needed to get a head start. I was recommended by a friend who had the pleasure of working with Nelsy Payano on her wedding day and raved about her attention to detail and outbeat personality. I stayed in the Wilshire for one night to get a feel of the hospitality and grounds of the hotel for my future special day. I dropped in to meet with Nelsy and although we didn't have an appointment she was extremely welcoming, charismatic and made my wedding plans seem like her own. The Wilshire was just what myself and fiancée were looking for classy, welcoming, charming and incredibly clean. In addition, the morning breakfast was just full of variety. I can't wait to create amazing memories in the Wilshire.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarineNYC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear MarineNYC2003,
Such a wonderful review. Thank you very much for posting this on TripAdvisor! I'll be sure Nelsy sees this as well. And thank you again for memorializing your stay with us.
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 km away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
259 reviews
7.9 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
772 reviews
2 km away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
16.2 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
850 reviews
15.2 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: €103 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 200Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing