We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in Philly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Philly!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We arrived on a late train in Philly from DC and did not want to drive home. We called up Holiday Inn and asked what was available and we ended up at this location. We have stayed at dozens of Holiday Inn Express location, but never in a big city. However, inside this is everything you expect a Holiday Inn Express to be. We asked for a high floor and received a very nice view of the city. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. As rewards members we usually take advantage of late check-out, and they were able to extend this to us with no problems. We do not stay in Philly often since we live only an hour away, however we would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear TLM2005,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad we could accommodate you during your short stay in Philly. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    469
    145
    45
    17
See reviews for
278
222
67
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I had tickets to attend the Phila. Auto Show and was looking for a hotel that wasn't too expensive and was w/in walking distance to the show and to The Reading Terminal Market. Must say, this hotel met both criteria. We arrived early and was not sure if we could secure an early check-in. Not only was that possible, but the staff was extremely gracious and very helpful with basic information and directions. Upon entering our room, we were pleasantly surprised at its size and cleanliness. The only issue we had was some noisey neighbors who were quieted quickly after a call to the front desk. There is a charge for parking since you are staying midtown. The parking lot is located right next door to the hotel & you are allowed easy in and out access. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone for its convenient location to shopping, restaurants and value. The free breakfast is also a nice perk. Will stay here again on my next visit to Phila.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscrossin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Chriscrossin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of you great comments about your recent stay. Our guest's happiness is our number one priority. We are going to pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thanks again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel just seems like it needs to be refurbished. Room was shabby and uncomfortable. Got bad advice from the front desk re: cab vs. driving and ended up taking a $40 cab ride (there and back) rather than driving and paying a $6 parking fee. The breakfast was awesome though! Business center consisted of one computer off the lobby and two computers in the breakfast room. None of the printers worked and two of the computers couldn't access the internet. I love Holiday Inns and am a Platinum Priority Club Member but won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrews_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently looking into your concerns about the computers that we have at the hotel. We use all of your thoughts and concerns to improve on our service to you and to future guests to our hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thanks again for your comments We hope that you will consider us again, when visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here New Years Eve, the city is just packed at this time, our room was a really good size with a big bathroom. Beds were pretty comfortable. We were hardly in the hotel at all.
Our shower wasn't working, but they had maintenance up to fix it very quickly. It was just very average.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass those comments on to our staff. They like to hear when they are doing a good job. We are sorry for any inconvenience that the shower may have caused you.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We used to live in Philadelphia and we love this city. We return every year with our children for a visit. We have stayed every year for the past 15 years at this property. It's always a good value with a kind, helpful staff,and family friendly environment. Our children delight in the roof top pool where they enjoy am evening swim while mom and dad watch, and enjoy pre-dinner snacks that we bring with us. The breakfast is another favorite of our family. Over the years the food choices have expanded and range from decadent donoughts to healthy cereal and yogurt. The staff is caring and kind. One year we needed to refrigerate a birthday cake and they did it for us with a smile and a " happy Birthday" upon retrieving it in perfect condition....do drop in and bring the family...but book in advance because at these rates and in this location, it fills quickly. Ask for a room with a view of the pool which also will provide a great view of the skyline towards the Delaware River.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool. The other side of the hotel is fine but the pool view afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that we could accommodate you over the years. It's guests like you that makes our hotel great. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always like to hear when they are doing a good job.

Thanks again for your comments. See you again next time that you visit Philly..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Rodeway Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing