We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Deck/Old Irish”
Review of New Deck Tavern

New Deck Tavern
Ranked #319 of 5,144 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: University City
Description: TRADITIONAL AMERICAN RESTAURANT AND IRISH PUB The New Deck offers a vast array of draft beers from around the world and one of the largest single malt scotch collections in Philadelphia. Our European draft beer system imported from County Cork, Ireland, gives us reason to boast that we pour the Best Pint in the City!
Reviewed 13 April 2015

With authentic Irish ambience, good brews, friendly service & great menu, that includes old standbys & new combos, this was a perfect choice for lunch w/ our granddaughters, who chose the usual cheeseburger & blockbuster fish & chips, while we relished a salmon BLT & chicken curry over rice.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Herstory_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Grabbed a beer and some dinner here while in the area staying at the Hilton Inn at Penn (2 blocks away). This is a fantastic neighborhood, nestled within the University of Penn and Drexel University. And this Tavern is one of the best - if not THE best - Irish tavern I've been in! The made me a proper Black and Tan and the Shepards Pie here was the closest I've ever had to that of my grandma's growing up. Took me back 25 years!

Don't miss this if you're in the areas. And it has a wonderful wold world vibe varying floor levels and wood millwork everywhere. Very warm environment.

Don't pass it up!

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justinrX466VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Went here three years ago on a suggestion from a few people on UPenn's admission's staff. Was in Philly for a conference and decided to return. Burgers were excellent and the beer selection outstanding and cold. What could be better?

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank BusyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

This place is located on a quaint street in Philadelphia at the University of Pennsylvania and has the best french fries on earth. They also have a great, unique 'Buffalo Dip' dish which is very tasty.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GlobalVilla9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014 via mobile

The food was fairly decent. They were confused on when their happy hour was actually happening. Overall the experience was a good one.

Thank sec0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Deck Tavern also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to New Deck Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing