We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$177
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$232
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$141
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$227
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$239
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$227
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
308
246
182
118
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
246
182
118
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain linedelmonicovalet parkingvalet servicebusiness triphomewood suitesfitness centerballroombellmanuniversityconferencestarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I was in town visiting family and we stayed here because it was in the vicinity of where everyone was going to be meeting up.

Pulling up to the front I noticed the parking was going to be an issue as is common in the other reviews. I went inside to check-in and asked about parking - '$12 at the lot down the street every time you exit or $15 for valet here unlimited entry/exit,' easy decision, or so I thought. We were in town from about 5 pm Saturday until 10:30 am Sunday. Valeted the car twice. Average wait time to park/exit: 20 minutes. Average number of arguments between valets over who would either go get or go park my car: Greater than 1. On my way out the hotel attendant asked how my stay was. I said 'valet parking is pretty unorganized.' To their credit, I was not charged for valet parking due to my experience. It was not requested, and it was very appreciated.

Everything else -

Breakfast buffet: There were some good options, some not great options (Eggs were pretty meh). Only downside was the water was not left at the table or the buffet so we had to wait every time for our waiter to come back, which happened once. Overall, i'd give it a B-, if it wasn't included i'd go elsewhere.

Bed: Very nice, big comfy king bed with nice good pillows. Solid A+ here Hilton.

Shower: Waterfall shower. I know they are fancy but I want some pressure. I'll give it a B.

Staff: As mentioned with the parking, the inside staff is very nice and helpful. I would give them an A as well (only not giving the A+ as I really didn't have any issues to bring to them other than the parking).

You can definitely do worse than this Hilton. Next time I'm in the area, I'll probably try to see if I can do better though.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear J L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are very sorry for the problems encountered with our valet but are happy our staff could assist. We will address your comments with our valet team as we work to improve our guest experience. Your feedback is genuinely appreciated as it is the first step in helping us improve our services. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Very clean & nice updates, I thought parking would’ve been an issue but the valet service was superb! My only complaint is no breakfast for in the morning. Other than that hotel was great very clean rooms!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank missbergh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This is a well maintain, refreshed standard Hilton property. I've stayed in a TON of hotels in the western Philadelphia suburbs over the years and to be honest there are a lot of mediocre options out there. I think it is worth driving in toward the Hilton City Ave, even if your business takes you out further.

Parking is ok. If it is not too crowded, you can park on the street. Otherwise, i would recommend the valet because self park is a pain.

The rooms are modern and clean. Some have views of the reservoir, which is nice to see some open space and somewhat of a skyline in the distance.

The staff was professional and helpful. I didn't have much more interaction than check in and check out, but overall, they seemed to live up to the brand.

Room Tip: Get onto a higher floor with a city view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunapee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

The stay was very comfortable and the staff was very attentive. The room was clean and the hotel staff was very helpful. The security of the hotel was excellent as well . The hotel is very safe no problem with parking as well .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank mookandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel itself was nice. We got upgraded to a suite which was nice, maybe due to our late check in? Hotel was clean, employees friendly, room spacious, and security was nice as you have to have a key to even use the elevator. Down sides were that the sheets and pillows for the pullout couch were not in the closet as they should have been, the pool is small and shared with the hotel next door, and breakfast is $15/person. Worst of all is the parking!!! If you aren’t lucky enough to get a spot on the street right in front of the hotel then you have to park down the street in a lot about a 5 minute walk away.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cathyb738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue goal is to deliver memorable experiences and surpassing our guests expectations. It looks like we did during your stay.

When it condescending to the linen kept in the closets, we have found out that it does stay fresh. So we wait until the guest call down to deliver fresh linen to our suits for the pull out couch.

Next time you stay with us you should use our valet parking which is only $3 dollars more then the lot. And you will also have in and out privileges.

Thank you again for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews