We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to go”
Review of Penn Museum

Penn Museum
Ranked #37 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to find your mummy, or, for that matter, Buddha or shards of old pottery, look for this museum in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus.
Philadelphia Pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to go”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wonderful exhibits, great variety of arts and crafts shown from all over the globe. Impressive. Good cafe also.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank karenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    104
    21
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A must for history buffs!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Penn museum is one of my favorite places in Philadelphia. IT has a fantastic collection, several rotating special exhibits, and is really very well organized. Highlights include an extensive Native American collection, an impressive ancient Greek pottery collection, and zillions of other fascinating things. Admission is free for Penn students, and for non-penn affiliates, the fare is still fair. A perfect spot to stop before catching a Penn football game at historical Franklin Field, and a short walk from other entertainment and food establishments.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrVarmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I'm a big fan of the Penn Museum but...”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great museum, there are antiquities from all over the world (especially Egyptian), and every one of them is worth seeing. My one complaint about the Penn Museum was from a visit last year, when due to some sort of snafu, the much anticipated Silk Road exhibit was pulled. The museum didn't do a very good job of notifying visitors and when a group of about 8 of us showed up to see it, it had been replaced with hall full of cardboard stand-ins. We were disappointed, but the rest of the museum provided more than enough to see in a day, so much so than we delayed our visit to the Art Museum.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank DanDiggler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Penn Museum has assembled an impressive collection of antiquities. I was impressed by the opportunity to get within inches of these artifacts without a sheet of glass between me and them. The museum staff was helpful and unobtrusive. Despite the fact that we lucky enough to tour on one of their free admission days, the crowds were light.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank buckeyeflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“I could stay here all day.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I really enjoy Egyptian antiquities and culture. The Penn museum really takes pride in what they do and presentation. This is a very clean and respectable museum. I recommend it for anyone who has an interest in civilization and history or maybe just to try something different on a rainy afternoon. I'm sure there's many people who have not been to a museum in years. Do yourself a favor and visit this one!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sfmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Penn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing