We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Visits to The Gables is like returning home. All the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is outstanding, and the inn keepers very friendly. Located on a train line, it could not be more convenient to the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    32
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
61
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We loved this place. The host has a good sense of humor, makes great breakfasts, and understands the balance between being a good host and giving the guests their privacy. Our room was lovely (although if you will be needing a desk while you are there, make sure you ask for a room with one - there are several). Internet connection was good. There is a tram stop just down the street, and UPenn is a 20 minute stroll. If were to go to Philadelphia again, we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a desk or table if you are planning on working during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We recently visited our daughter in Philly and spent 3 nights at The Gables. This beautiful home is impeccably clean and maintained and offers a feast for the eyes. The innkeepers are cordial and welcoming but allow their guests privacy. We stayed in the lovely Garden Room which is a bit small but served our purpose well since we spent most of our time out and about. It was so relaxing to "come home" to The Gables after a long day exploring the city. We enjoyed the wrap-around porch in the mild fall weather. Breakfast was good and usually consisted of an egg dish such as quiche or frittata, homemade coffee cake, breakfast meats, breads, fresh fruit, and cereals.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in September and it was just wonderful, the room was great and the breakfast was awesome. Don and Warren were very helpful with directions and things to do. The trolly stopped right out front which made getting around very easy. Loved our stay at The Gables!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy75964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Gables was a very nice place. Very clean and comfy. The breakfasts were very good and the inn keepers delightful.

The trolley runs right on the corner, just be sure to catch the one going in the right direction!

GPS lead us straight to the place without any problems. Will surely stay here again if in the Philly area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,368 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4520 Chester Ave, At South 46th St., Philadelphia, PA 19143-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Victorian B&B, 10 guest rooms, free parking, full breakfast. Amazing collection of Victorian antiques with 21st century amenities such as WiFi, cable tv, phones, computer station, dvd and vcr. Easy public transit. Near universities and hospitals, 12 minutes to center city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing