We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$173
Hotels.comUS$173
Official HotelUS$173
Agoda.comUS$173
PricelineUS$173
HurbUS$179
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
228
89
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
89
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel front desk staff living room excellent hotel valet service room was spotless would definitely stay here again parking garage downtown philly drexel penn lobby universities skyline linens hip conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night on October 8 and things seemed sane until we discovered that the modestly occupied hotel was putting people in close, adjacent rooms. This was unnecessary and uncomfortable. Recommend you specifically ask them to restrict rooms around you. We had occupied rooms on each side and across hall, and the hotel seemed otherwise pretty empty.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N3475AFanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taisha Castillo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Study at University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Dear N3475AFanne,

We apologize we did not meet your expectations, currently we have taken measures above and beyond our normal cleaning procedures and we are frequently ensuring that all spaces are adequately cleaned and sanitized.

Each room comes equipped with its own air conditioning unit and filtration system, meaning no air is being recycled from a different room into your room. Given you were in a corner room you were still away and your room was not immediately adjacent to another room. Additionally, we are leaving rooms out of service for 72 hours after each guest stay, which then results in limited inventory. As it seems this was your encounter, we are always open to accommodating our guests as best as we can. We hope you can give us a try again next time you are around.

Safe Travels,

Tasha C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We've been staying @ The Study consistently since they opened. It is a beautiful small hotel with great amenities. The customer service is top notch and we feel at home every time we check in.
The bar & Co-op Restaurant is a great place to meet for snacks, drinks & dinner.

Room tip: Rooms are beautiful. King Suite adds an extra room for work/reading.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank genordn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

This hotel is located in University City - basically a mile or so west of downtown Philly. The theme is one of learning (study) and is carried through from the human sized spectacles that are outside the entrance, to the lobby (called the living room) with its shelves filled with books and glass topped tables with various school lab like items within and then in the rooms with study lamps at the desk and a cylinder holding 5 perfectly sharpened pencils. The rooms are small and simply laid out and clean. The bathroom has a column of glass designed to let natural light in. There is a larger than average gym as well as conference rooms. There is a restaurant- The Co-op- that can be reached through the lobby. Finally- valet or self parking is available - we parked in the Drexel lot because it’s less than a block walk. Then we took the subway at 33rd for $2.50 each into downtown. Easy!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MicheleW646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

The Study ended up exceeding my expectations. I have been at numerous hotels in the country which are university off-campus, serving the university community and guests. Very good service across the board although not spectacular variety of five star high end hotels. The lounge is good with a nice environment and attentive service. Food is also very good. It is nice they offer complimentary coffee in the lobby every morning. The hotel is in a walking distance from the train station - and hence conveniently located. Spacious and clean room with the essential amenities.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

We only stayed one night as we had a train to catch in the morning. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. The staff is very gracious to help out the lobby is breathtaking with the decor.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank milissa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews